damaged 3DS won't play DS games properly

Discussion in '3DS - Games & Content' started by meliakh, Nov 25, 2011.

Nov 25, 2011
  1. meliakh
    OP

    Newcomer meliakh Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Indonesia
    I dropped my 3DS a few days ago, it wasn't that high a fall and not hard either, and also it was encased in hard plastic case.
    On the surface it didn't do much damage, everything works fine, SFIV multiplayer was good as always, but when I tried playing Pokemon White on it, sometimes the game won't load past the white start screen, and it always freezes when trying to Game Sync, and gets an error message when entering Union Room.

    I know the cart works fine, tested on my old DS lite and it works like new. I can't access the DS settings on my 3DS as well, so I'm guessing the thing that handles DS software on the 3DS got damaged.. Is there any solution to this?
     


  2. demonicstrife

    Member demonicstrife *INSERTGENERICTITLE*

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    769
    Location:
    Somewhere in the middle
    Country:
    United States
    Send it in to Nintendo to get it serviced. Not much else you can do.
     
  3. bowser

    Member bowser Mwa ha ha ha!

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,178
    Location:
    GBAtemp ↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
    Country:
    India
    But don't tell them you dropped it :P
     
  4. meliakh
    OP

    Newcomer meliakh Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Indonesia
    Sadly it's not an option, as I live in Indonesia, which according to Nintendo, does not exist. :(

    Has anyone else encountered this problem?
     
    1 person likes this.
  5. bowser

    Member bowser Mwa ha ha ha!

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,178
    Location:
    GBAtemp ↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
    Country:
    India
    Maybe you can try a system format?
     
  6. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,736
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    I don't see how dropping a system would affect DS compatibility in any way whatsoever - it's a matter of software, not hardware. If you damaged the MB, chances are the 3DS wouldn't even *boot*. As mentioned by bowser, try restoring the console to Factory Default settings and see what happens.
     
  7. meliakh
    OP

    Newcomer meliakh Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Indonesia
    One more thing, if I do that, would I lose my ambassador thing? And streetpass/mii plaza data?
     
  8. jceggbert5

    Member jceggbert5 Check out my hack, New Retro Mario Bros.

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    989
    Location:
    USA, Earth, MilkyWay
    Country:
    United States
    Sadly, yes you will.
     
  9. meliakh
    OP

    Newcomer meliakh Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Indonesia
    It didn't work, I formatted the system (ambassador status was not affected, by the way) and tried the Union Room, got in, and got booted out almost immediately :(

    I guess the hardware is screwed up somehow.
     
  10. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,736
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    I already voiced out my opinion that it's pretty much impossible, but... yeah... do try a different game. Remember that the 3DS is only "backwards-compatible", it's not exactly a "DS" so there will always be a slight mismatch compared to the original hardware the game was intended to use. It's entirely possible that it may have gone haywire after an update.

    As far as the Ambassador program is concerned, I think it "could" be restored if you e-mail Nintendo's Customer Support, afterall, they do keep records of Ambassadors.
     
  11. bowser

    Member bowser Mwa ha ha ha!

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,178
    Location:
    GBAtemp ↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
    Country:
    India
    Are you using a flashcart or a real DS game card? Did you try using another DS gamecard?
     
  12. meliakh
    OP

    Newcomer meliakh Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Indonesia
    I'm using real DS game card. I tried another DS game, Pokemon Soul Silver, this one can't even get past the Lugia screen. I guess it's conclusive that only the backward compatibility is affected.

    As for the ambassador status, turns out it's linked to the eShop account and not the system, so unless you delete the account from eShop, system format won't remove the ambassador status.
     
  13. Skelletonike

    Member Skelletonike ♂ ♥ Gallant Pervert ♥ ♀

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,844
    Location:
    Steam City
    Country:
    Portugal
    I've dropped my 3DS quite often and it has a few scratches on the corners but everything ran okay (well, even if it didnt, I still have 3 years insurance and warranty aswell =3), so I cant see how leet it fall would damage the DS compability, specially since the 3DS and DS games use the same slot... Meh... Have you tried checking inside the slot (the place where you put the games) if anything is broken/loose inside? Like a broken hinge or something...
     
  14. Janthran

    Member Janthran Solarian

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,777
    Location:
    The Pacific Northwet
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry, If I'd seen this thread I could have stopped a bit of your worries about the eShop.
     
  15. chris888222

    Member chris888222 GBAtemp's Flygon Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,532
    Country:
    Singapore
    Indonesia is in charge by Maxsoft, right?

    Probably you need to send it to Singapore for servicing if so...

    But Maxsoft is shit and they overprice. They charged me $60 for repairing my DS and it broke down shortly after.
     
  16. Thesolcity

    Member Thesolcity Wherever the light shines, it casts a shadow.

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,146
    Location:
    San Miguel
    Country:
    United States
    Are you sure its the 3DS and not the cartridge?
     
  17. chris888222

    Member chris888222 GBAtemp's Flygon Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,532
    Country:
    Singapore
    Er...

    It could be a save problem. But isn't DS mode on 3DS a software issue and not a hardware issue??
     
  18. Thesolcity

    Member Thesolcity Wherever the light shines, it casts a shadow.

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,146
    Location:
    San Miguel
    Country:
    United States
    Yea AFAIK the DS bit is emulated with bits of the original firmware coded in. Only tiny amounts, though. Also sorry, I did not look at OP's post. It sounds like it may be a connection issue though. Push it in harder? That's what I do when my DSTWO acts up on the 3DS occasionally.
     
  19. meliakh
    OP

    Newcomer meliakh Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Indonesia
    I tried inserting, ejecting, then re-inserting the cart plenty of times and, but still no dice.

    I'm not sure I can tell the difference... Looked okay to my untrained eyes though. And I only peeked into the slot with a flashlight, I don't wanna cause more harm trying to disassemble the 3DS.

    Not really, the games I get are imported independently, but no Maxsoft rep or such here.

    I guess I'll just have to live with it then... Thanks, everyone :)
     
  20. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,736
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    If you have any friends at all that have the same game that causes issues, I do suggest trying a different cartridge. It just has to be a software issue, there's no way in hell that hardware damage would cripple DS-Mode without rendering the 3DS a useless brick altogether.

    Perhaps it's the access point that's the issue? Is it DS-Compatible (WEP or lower)? Connecting to one that isn't would result in an error in Union Room.
     

Share This Page