Daikoukai Jidai 4 - Rota Nova

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by rockyspirit, Dec 25, 2010.

Dec 25, 2010
  1. rockyspirit
    OP

Newcomer rockyspirit Newbie

Brazil
    First of all, hello. This is my first time posting here and I'm already giving a try at some serious hacking.
    I'm a programmer, know some Japanese and like hacking stuff when I have the free time, so I decided to try something for the DS.

I've been trying to hack Daikoukai Jidai 4 - Rota Nova for the DS and had some success. To summarize what I have:
    • I can change most text in the game. However the strings are confined to the same size as the original Japanese one.
    • I've found the character texts. Apparently, menu and some other text are images.
    • I've figured out some of the format in the character text files.
    And this is an image, where I changed the original "???"(Clau, shorthand for Claudio) to Claudi(so as to maintain string size):
    [​IMG]

Now for the technical stuff. This is a .zip file with some information I've gathered and an application which I've written in Python and PyGTK.

If you try importing the file SC0.DK4(available after unpacking in data/data), you'll notice that a python exception is thrown. An SJIS to UTF-8 conversion wasn't possible. If a certain byte is equal to 00h, I suppose the following data is an SJIS text. Doesn't work everytime.

And, finally, this is my request for hackers alike. What am I missing about this file? Or, what is the best approach to figure out this stuff?

2. rockyspirit
    OP

Newcomer rockyspirit Newbie

Brazil
    Noone answered my request but no reason to fret. I've found (part of) the answer myself.
    I can now read and rebuild the text files. I don't expect any text to be missing, but who knows?

First, the updated informational file is this. I wonder if anyone cares to read that?