Custom PC Build - Opinions?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by jceggbert5, Sep 18, 2011.

Sep 18, 2011

Custom PC Build - Opinions? by jceggbert5 at 8:27 AM (2,367 Views / 0 Likes) 40 replies

  1. jceggbert5
    OP

    Member jceggbert5 Check out my hack, New Retro Mario Bros.

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    989
    Location:
    USA, Earth, MilkyWay
    Country:
    United States
    A friend and I are looking at building similar gaming desktops, and I thought I'd head over here to ask for opinions on the build...

    Case: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16811322020 - $50

    MoBo: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16813128495 - $125

    PSU: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16817339025 - $50

    His CPU: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16819115072 - $320 (i7-2600k)
    My CPU: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16819115070 - $220 (i5-2500k)

    Video Card: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16814130661 - $200

    His RAM: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16820145343 - $32 (4GB)
    My RAM: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16820233180 - $53 (8GB)

    HDD: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16822148697 (I'm getting x2 for RAID1) - $55

    What are your opinions?

    Thanks,
    Your Friendly Neighborhood Egg
     


  2. marcus134

    Member marcus134 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    Québec
    Country:
    Canada
    Case : cheap but plenty of ventilation, might be a little bit noisy, according to the other newegg customers, the fans are garbage
    psu: it looks somewhat ok (kind of flaky though) but for 20$ more you can get yourself something from antec(620), corsair or silverstone.
    mobo: nice chipset, however cheap mobo compared to the build, micro-atx when you could go atx you should also take a look at the p67 mobo
    cpu: plenty of computing power
    gpu: nice! The 6870 is equal in performance but consume less power at full load but it doesn't really matter.
    ram: I personally had a lot of bad experiences with corsair's ram, you should go with kingston, crucial, ocz etc
    Hdd: get yourself at least a wd blue series (or black) or a samsung F3 (or F1)

    The difference between the p67 and the z68 is the smart response technology (ssd caching) the use of the built-in gpu (useless with your build) and overclocking of the said built-in gpu ( even more usless) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/LGA_1155
    It could be advisable to put 20 to 30$ more considering that you might want to buy new fans if you go with the sentey case case
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16811129042
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16811112238
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16811133183
     
  3. jceggbert5
    OP

    Member jceggbert5 Check out my hack, New Retro Mario Bros.

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    989
    Location:
    USA, Earth, MilkyWay
    Country:
    United States
    How's this RAM: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16820104239
    or two of these? http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16820231310

    And, here's a WD Caviar Blue HDD: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16822136767

    I found some $4 blue-LED fans at a local computer store: http://www.microcenter.com/single_product_...duct_id=0365890 - are they any good?

    Is it imperative that we switch our PSUs now, or is that something that can take place in ~6 months or so when our wallets regenerate?

    Also, I appreciate your case suggestions, but I still like the one in the OP for its design...

    Do you have any specific MoBo suggestions?

    Should I get a different cooler to overclock? (I'm not overclocking much, just from 3.8turbo to 4.2turbo for emulation...

    And, for a monitor, I have a 46" RPTV with a DVI-D port in the back, and it can do 1080p [​IMG]
     
  4. marcus134

    Member marcus134 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    Québec
    Country:
    Canada
     
  5. CCNaru

    Member CCNaru Warn-free Since 2005

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Messages:
    788
    Location:
    USA USA USA USA USA USA USA US
    Country:
    United States
    That PSU is out of stock, and it doesn't have a brand... if the PSU fries, the whole rig goes along with it so get something reliable.

    http://www.newegg.com/special/shellshocker...hellShocker-EB3
    80+ Certified is good, check how much it is and grab one of those.

    I've heard G.Skill sucks, get something else. also 8gb is overkill for now, 4gb should be good if you want to save a little bit of money.
    edit: going to take Falcon's guide on this one, apparantly I was wrong; g-skill is good.

    EVGA is overpriced. it's like the Alienware of GPUs. also if you play second life, Nvidia cards don't work unless it's ont he lowest setting, so get Radeon instead

    http://i1002.photobucket.com/albums/af150/...Guide/Guide.png

    this guide is from 4chan /g/, and I've built a flawless PC that runs new games on high settings for 500 bucks with this (600 w/ monitor but they were on sale locally)
     
  6. Waddy101

    Newcomer Waddy101 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    In my honest opinion I think it's an alright build, although if i were you i would consider getting a GTX 560ti, either the MSI Twin Frozr II/III or the MSI hawk.
     
  7. jceggbert5
    OP

    Member jceggbert5 Check out my hack, New Retro Mario Bros.

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    989
    Location:
    USA, Earth, MilkyWay
    Country:
    United States
    I am going with nVidia because I plan to get set up with a 3DVision rig within the next year. I mainly play Source games, but I want something that can also help me with emulation (Wii) and other games that I may buy in the future. I don't plan getting SL, ever.

    Did you mean to link me to a toy helicopter?

    Also, marcus, I need a MoBo with embedded graphics, to hold me over until I can afford the GPU in the spring.
     
  8. marcus134

    Member marcus134 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    Québec
    Country:
    Canada
  9. CCNaru

    Member CCNaru Warn-free Since 2005

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Messages:
    788
    Location:
    USA USA USA USA USA USA USA US
    Country:
    United States
    A toy helicopter...? it's a 520W 80+ certified Antec PSU for 35 bucks w/ MIR.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16817371030

    also SL uses opengl 3d rendering, so photoshop 3d work will crash (4 or 8 error) and nvidia isn't thinking about fixing it at all (been having problems for a couple of months now)
     
  10. jceggbert5
    OP

    Member jceggbert5 Check out my hack, New Retro Mario Bros.

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    989
    Location:
    USA, Earth, MilkyWay
    Country:
    United States
    So, from your suggestions, I have modified the build like so:


    Case: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16811322020 - $50 (same)

    CPU: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16819115072 - $320 (i7-2600k) (same)

    HDD: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16822136767 - $60 (getting 2x for RAID1)

    RAM: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16820104239 - $60 (Kingston 2x4GB, for easy upgrade to 16GB later)

    Video Card: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16814130661 - $200 (same)

    MoBo: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16813128502 - $130 (ATX version of same (yay 3 more expansion slots))

    PSU: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16817339025 - $50 (Same, none of the ones you linked me will work, they have a fan that will be against the case)

    Total: $930

    I will get better cooling later, but this is good for a start. I have a copy of 7 Ultimate 64-Bit already (it is a legal copy and I have not used it on any other machine)
     
  11. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,176
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    I can only see 1 thing wrong with that build: with the GPU and RAM you are using, an i7 2600K just wouldn't make sense. the i5 2500K performs nearly as good, and it costs $100 less.
     
  12. marcus134

    Member marcus134 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    Québec
    Country:
    Canada
    but either this person isn't telling us everything about the purpose of this build or he really likes the idea of having high-end cpu. Cause, unless a big shift in game design, it probably won't be limiting games performance for the next 4-5 years whether he takes the 2500K or the 2600K.
     
  13. jceggbert5
    OP

    Member jceggbert5 Check out my hack, New Retro Mario Bros.

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    989
    Location:
    USA, Earth, MilkyWay
    Country:
    United States
    Another friend of mine has an i5-2500k and a very similar GPU, and it cannot emulate the Wii at 1080p with a full 60fps consistently, whereas I have (yet another) friend that has a near-identical-to-this-build computer and he has absolutely no problems. I also want it to be as 'future-proof' as possible...

    (and, on a side note, you get more ooh's and aah's if you have an i7, but that is not a motivating factor)

    Plus, hyperthreading, which the i5 does not have, is helpful with virtualization, IIRC.

    ----------

    The computer will be on thick carpet, so I don't think the vented bottom will be much help...
     
  14. jceggbert5
    OP

    Member jceggbert5 Check out my hack, New Retro Mario Bros.

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    989
    Location:
    USA, Earth, MilkyWay
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry for semi-double-post.

    Do I need a cable rated for SATA3 to take advantage of the full speed, or can I use one of my SATA1-rated cables and still get the full speed?
     
  15. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    SATA 3 cables are different, however you will get at least 2 with any SATA 3 equipped motherboard.

    Emulation for the Wii depends on the settings and the games. If you don't change the setting per game, you won't get the best performance out of your hardware. The 2500 and 2600K are more than capable of giving great performance in emulation provided you know how to tweak the settings for each game.
     
  16. jceggbert5
    OP

    Member jceggbert5 Check out my hack, New Retro Mario Bros.

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    989
    Location:
    USA, Earth, MilkyWay
    Country:
    United States
    Your statement about the SATA cables is a bit confusing, but here's what I get from it: SATA1 and 2 cables are the same, 3 are different? With that drive, should I even worry about not having SATA3?
     
  17. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Up to today, I've not been able to load newegg from France, so I've not been able to on your build. Even now its a pain to multi-tab on my phone.

    WD blue 6Gbs will not see any perceivable difference in performance no matter which cable you use. Mechanical disk drives are not able to fully saturated 3Gbs.
     
  18. marcus134

    Member marcus134 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    Québec
    Country:
    Canada
    1. they're cheaper ( on newegg at least)
    2. they're compatible with sata II controller
    3. addition of newer NCQ instruction set (iNCQ which does something similar to QoS)
     
  19. jceggbert5
    OP

    Member jceggbert5 Check out my hack, New Retro Mario Bros.

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    989
    Location:
    USA, Earth, MilkyWay
    Country:
    United States
    So does that mean I'm going to have the ~same speed if I get a SATA2 drive with my SATA1 cable and my SATA3 MoBo as I would if I had a SATA3 drive, cable, and MoBo?

    -----------------------


    Have you tried a US-based proxy?
     
  20. marcus134

    Member marcus134 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    Québec
    Country:
    Canada
    Today's HDD are getting reading speed around 120 to 150MB/s with burst that may exceed 150 MB/s,
    Considering the maximum transfer rate of 150MB/s of SATA I, there is an advantage in using SATA II over SATA I

    also
    1. there is no such thing as sata I cables
    Meaning: cheap/fake cables will fail, but we already knew that
     

Share This Page