Custom IOS36 rev 08

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by jpref, Mar 7, 2009.

Mar 7, 2009

Custom IOS36 rev 08 by jpref at 10:54 PM (52,500 Views / 0 Likes) 226 replies

  1. jpref
    OP

    Newcomer jpref Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    Canada
    translated from http://www.teknoconsolas.es/blogs/waninkoko

    Description:


    This is a Custom IOS, an IOS modified to add new features not available in the official IOS.

    This IOS has been created to be used ONLY with homemade software.

    Custom IOS is installed and does not change as IOS249 any other IOS so it is safe to install.



    Changelog:



    - Command IOCTL_DI_OFFSET custom (to support multigame).
    - Support for custom commands DIP.
    - The read command to read D0 now 6x using original disks or modchip.
    - System transparent patching error 001/002.
    - Fixes and improvements.

    download:

    http://www.teknoconsolas.tv/wanin/cIOS36_rev8-Installer.zip
     


  2. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    No Way! new cIOS + USB 2.0 in one day...

    woot!

    but I need to install a new cIOS30 now...
     
  3. Fleeman

    Newcomer Fleeman Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Country:
    Canada
    for us noobs this is good why
     
  4. demon33

    Member demon33 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    137
    Country:
    Canada
    does this means that backups runs at 6x ??or only modchip ? 'cause it says for hembrew only so.... ?


    Posts merged

    does this means that backups runs at 6x ??or only modchip ? 'cause it says for hembrew only so.... ?
     
  5. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    NO! It means that ORIGINALS or, Backups WITH A MODCHIP, run at 6X.

    This must have been an issue with past cIOS?

    Backup on softmod are still definitely 3x.
     
  6. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    ' The read command to read D0 now 6x using original disks or modchip. '

    What's the point of that? With a modchip, you would always run backups through the disc channel, not through a loader. So it would already read at 6x
     
  7. Fleeman

    Newcomer Fleeman Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Country:
    Canada
    so if we don't have a mod chip this is useless to us
     
  8. Fulgore

    Newcomer Fulgore Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    United States
    As in "Wiiscrubber 1.40 kit with multiboot" support?
     
  9. micahkanchan

    Member micahkanchan GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    116
    Country:
    Canada
    Any major improvements that would be useful to a gamer? And im guessing they would have to re-patch CIOSCORP to use this, no?
     
  10. WiiBlaster

    Member WiiBlaster GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,189
    Country:
    United States
    Sure i can update CIOSCORP unless someone beats me to it.
    But is it really worth it, And when i do update it Fair Warning i will not be testing the New CIOS30

    So if anyone else wants to update it Let me now, or i'll go ahead and do it

    So my question is it really worth the process of updating?
     
  11. Cygoku

    Banned Cygoku Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    Canada
    The only advantage I would see to this rev8 is the 002 error fixing ... Tho softchip does it pretty good already. Beside, what's "Fixes and improvements" anyway huh ?!?! Not worth the update.

    Cygoku
     
  12. smash_brew

    Member smash_brew I may or may not have fallen

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    708
    Country:
    United States
    @ wiiblaster
    If you want to update it i'll throw it on my wii. I've got a 1:1 backup up of need for speed undercover i'd like to test out the 002 error fix on.
     
  13. rash219

    Newcomer rash219 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    Dont see the point in updating.....unless this takes care of some of those backup issues that lead to black or green screen...which is not mentioned...
     
  14. Skarface05

    Member Skarface05 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    453
    Location:
    Bath
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Damn, can none of you see the improvements from this - it's a better CIOS all round.

    Someone also stated that all people with modchips use the disc channel anyway and get 6x - wrong

    I personally do not have a chip, but - a lot of people have 1st gen chips which sill have the 001 error and 002 error and as such use Geko OS for ex.

    So, it is a better Cios all round.

    I don't know about all the new features, but it is definitely better.
     
  15. blitzer320

    Member blitzer320 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    370
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    and also if what i read is true then you will be able to run multigame wii discs from the disc channel with cioscorp
     
  16. Cygoku

    Banned Cygoku Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    Canada
    If it's not broken, don't fix it. Launchers already takes care of the 001/002 error. Again, no use of updating.

    Cygoku
     
  17. linkinworm

    Member linkinworm GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,326
    Location:
    Birmingham (England)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    it correctly patches the 001/002 errors from system menu, which loader "bypass"
     
  18. WiiShizzza

    Member WiiShizzza Graphics juggler

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Country:
    Germany
    This is definitely better then the rev7 cios. Lot of code improvements.
    I wonder if it will work with IOS50, too.

    Can you say something about that linkinworm ?
     
  19. WiiBlaster

    Member WiiBlaster GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,189
    Country:
    United States
    Well its done and uploading, Reminder though, not been tested at all, so if you want to test them make sure to test the other IOS's before testing IOS30, but still thats no guarantee the new CIOS30 wont brick you
     
  20. linkinworm

    Member linkinworm GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,326
    Location:
    Birmingham (England)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    what you mean by work with IOS50? you mean use a IOS50 wad to as the install wad?
     

Share This Page