Continuous disc read errors across mulitple media

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by atomiccow, Aug 12, 2008.

Aug 12, 2008
  1. atomiccow
    OP

    Newcomer atomiccow Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United States
    First off, I have a D2B console with a Wiikey.
    I've been playing a backup of No More Heroes, and it's great.

    I played it for a few minutes initially, went to eat dinner, and left. I forgot my Wii was on. I got home hours and hours later, it was still on, on the screen saying that it can't communicate with the remote. Anyhow, that night, I played on and went to bed.

    The next day I had a disc read error maybe 30 minutes after playing. I shrugged, gave it a break, and then played again later, getting another DRE maybe 20-30 minutes in. I think I played it one more time, ending in a disc read error 20-30 minutes in again.

    Anyway, I figured it was an unlucky burn, so I put the disc away and burnt another. The other disc worked fine for maybe 40 minutes. Now, I get DRE's with both disc usually within 20 minutes of play.

    The discs are two different medias. The first disc was a TDK, the second a Memorex, both DVD-R. I haven't experienced DRE's on other backups (Mario Kart, MP3, Super Mario Sunshine, RE4) and the other backups are a mix of TDK and Memorex DVDs.

    I ask you, GBAtemp, is there a problem with my Wii? Did something happen when I left it on? Should I try and burn another backup? Is this a known problem with No More Heroes?
    Any help is appreciated.
     
  2. Hellfenix

    Member Hellfenix GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    204
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    My wii does the same thing [​IMG]
    At first I thought my laser was weakened but SSBB original works fine (and it's a dual layer disc thus requires a laser eye in good shape).
    I get DRE more on certain games, No More Heroes is one of them. I also have a wiikey.
     
  3. atomiccow
    OP

    Newcomer atomiccow Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United States
    Strange. I suppose it's common then, maybe something that needs to be fixed in a Wiikey update?

    Any more input is also appreciated.
     
  4. Livin in a box

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It usually only happens to me on Boom Blox, but booting the game through Gecko OS makes it fine. But I haven't tried on the game on 3.2E yet (i've just used the downgrader). Try loading through Gecko OS and see if that works.
     
  5. atomiccow
    OP

    Newcomer atomiccow Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United States
    Very good help.
    I'll get back with some results.

    EDIT: Nope. No success. I thought it was working well, and fought my way up to a boss. As I was walking over to save before the fight, I got a DRE.
    Unluckiest timing ever [​IMG]
     
  6. Livin in a box

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What firmware do you have?
     
  7. atomiccow
    OP

    Newcomer atomiccow Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United States
    Wii or Wiikey?
    My Wiikey is 1.9s, my Wii is 3.2U I believe. What are the differences between E and U, just regions?
     
  8. slimpyman

    Member slimpyman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    121
    Location:
    Valparaiso, IN
    Country:
    United States
    i sent my wii to nintendo to "fix" my wii cause it wouldnt read brawl (man was i pissed)

    now it seems it takes like 10 tries to load the damn game.... even so, i get read errors in the middle of a transition to a match. what a shitter.
     
  9. Livin in a box

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, just the different regions. There's no difference between them.

    Anyway...I don't know why I asked for your firmware.

    When you burnt another version of No More Heroes, was it the same download as your previous disc?
     
  10. NeSchn

    Member NeSchn GBAPimpdaddy.

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,533
    Location:
    Troy,New York PimpStatus: King
    Country:
    United States
    Ahhh, so its not only me. It happens to me on Mario Kart Wii sometimes too.
     

Share This Page