Gaming Connection lost on PC, suspected virus

RupeeClock

Colors 3D Snivy!
OP
Member
Joined
May 15, 2008
Messages
6,463
Trophies
1
Age
33
Website
Visit site
XP
2,512
Country
I think my PC has caught a virus, and it had to happen whilst my Norton subscription had expired too.
unsure.gif


Here's a breakdown:
Google.co.uk return fake results
Security software cannot connect to update servers
After a system restore point, PC can no longer connect to Router, so no internet.
Certain websites seem to be blocked (like www.safer-networking.org )

Here's a bit more detail about the google thing.
The results page for a google web search (not an image search) brings up a similar looking page, but all links open in new windows/tabs.
On occasion, these links will lead to random crap, it's even taken me to a pointless youtube video.
But after that, most of the time it will lead to real results.
Fake page does not remember google account settings, and cannot log in.
The sign in link looks unusually small, and it has an out-dated layout.

Right now I'm on my laptop on the same wireless router, and I don't have this google problem.

Does anyone know what's going on with my system? Has anyone encountered anything like this before?
This is pretty bad, my system appears to be fine, but I have no net access now.
 

UltraMagnus

hic sunt dracones
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2007
Messages
1,964
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Portsmouth
Website
Visit site
XP
200
Country
delete norton, install avast (avast.com) free anti virus. run a scan

if that doesn't work, reinstall windows and immediately install an anti virus like avast that is worth shit
 

RupeeClock

Colors 3D Snivy!
OP
Member
Joined
May 15, 2008
Messages
6,463
Trophies
1
Age
33
Website
Visit site
XP
2,512
Country
Agreed, I've already got Avast running and it's detecting shit that Norton failed to detect in a whole year.

Still, does anyone have any experiences they can share?
 

RupeeClock

Colors 3D Snivy!
OP
Member
Joined
May 15, 2008
Messages
6,463
Trophies
1
Age
33
Website
Visit site
XP
2,512
Country
It performed a full scan, and detected a couple of viruses successfully, but I still have no internet access.

Does anyone have any clue about this problem?
 

Athlon-pv

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2005
Messages
717
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
340
Country
United States
Remove everything that is a 3rd party program from your startup (some people use msconfig for that)
reinstall network drivers ?

before you do type netstat -a in a dos window
*** typo
and after you installed them do it again.
 

RupeeClock

Colors 3D Snivy!
OP
Member
Joined
May 15, 2008
Messages
6,463
Trophies
1
Age
33
Website
Visit site
XP
2,512
Country
Athlon-pv said:
Remove everything that is a 3rd party program from your startup (some people use msconfig for that)
reinstall network drivers ?

before you do type nestat -a in a dos window

and after you installed them do it again.
So what will nestat -a do exactly?
And what do you mean in a dos window? In CMD?
 

da_head

A dying dream..
Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2008
Messages
2,944
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Toronto, Canader!
Website
Visit site
XP
343
Country
Canada
RupeeClock said:
Athlon-pv said:
Remove everything that is a 3rd party program from your startup (some people use msconfig for that)
reinstall network drivers ?

before you do type nestat -a in a dos window

and after you installed them do it again.
So what will nestat -a do exactly?
And what do you mean in a dos window? In CMD?
yep. go to run type in command or cmd
 

RupeeClock

Colors 3D Snivy!
OP
Member
Joined
May 15, 2008
Messages
6,463
Trophies
1
Age
33
Website
Visit site
XP
2,512
Country
Tried it, all TCP sockets are listening, nothing says established.

Edit: Well I undid my system restore and got my internet back, but my google still seems infected...

I'm just gonna leave this for a little while so I can backup all my files.
 

Athlon-pv

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2005
Messages
717
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
340
Country
United States
You can do a before and after and see which ip's it connects with after you used google and quit the brwoser
Now that you can download get malwarebytes.

http://www.malwarebytes.org/

http://www.download.com/Malwarebytes-Anti-...&tag=button

There some topics on gbatemp which explain how to keep your computer free of the stuff you dont want. Be sure that programs which sounds handy and are installed in a few minute's which seem cool because they are free are most of the time not without hazzards!!!.

With netstat you can check how many ip addresses are opened upon startup , you can check that if you only launched one program and it connects to several ip's or strange ip's you didnt use in your browser which usually means another program is doing something which it isnt supposed to do , this sounds tedious but sometimes the only way to check what is going on. Some of the programs can be hard to track down ....
 

mrfatso

That guy!!
Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2008
Messages
4,932
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
@Your Home,behind the sofa
Website
Visit site
XP
241
Country
Senegal
ya, malware is pretty good, it has help save my ass especially since my backup disk is unfortunately packaged with a malware so reformating my computer is something that i prefer not to do, since spybot is able to detect the virus but unable to removed it,
frown.gif


o, eset nod32 is pretty good as well, and u might want to get zone alarm(strictly for anti-spyware, anti virus just takes too long) as well
 

RupeeClock

Colors 3D Snivy!
OP
Member
Joined
May 15, 2008
Messages
6,463
Trophies
1
Age
33
Website
Visit site
XP
2,512
Country
Here's a big problem with using any security software, this virus is intentionally blocking any websites that provide security, meaning I cannot update them, sometimes I can't even install them.

I'll try the malwarebytes scanner, and I'll try booting in safemode to see if that prevents the problems I have.
Edit: Wow, it already found a lot of shit on a quick scan, shit that Norton never found.
malwareew4.jpg
 

RupeeClock

Colors 3D Snivy!
OP
Member
Joined
May 15, 2008
Messages
6,463
Trophies
1
Age
33
Website
Visit site
XP
2,512
Country
That Malware Bytes program really did the trick! And so did Avast!

My google is back to normal, I can get all my necessary updates, and I feel safe again.
Thank you! I'm never using that piece of shit Norton again!
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    K3N1 @ K3N1: https://youtube.com/shorts/5_yMwLMHhjc?feature=share