Hacking Confused CFW Switch Lite Owner

cubes

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Germany
Hello Community (Switch Noob here),

finally I was able to buy a Switch Lite with a modchip installed so I can get into Homebrew and game modding!

And it all looks really promising, this is how it arrived:

IMG-6440.jpg

Sadly the eBay seller wasn't too talkative and his responses were very delayed so I gave up asking them any more questions.

What he did tell me is not to use the OFW (I suppose that stands for Offical Firmware) at all and simply use the emuMMC for online play. And that is what doesn't make much sense to me.

On the one hand I want to re-download my Eshop purchases and play them online, on the other hand I want to try out Homebrew Applications. Should I really do that all together on emuMMC?

Isn't it safer if I leave the emuMMC for Homebrew offline and use the OFW for Online play and purchases?

I hope that someone on here can help me to understand why the seller could have suggested me on leaving the OFW untouched and using the emuMMC for everything instead. Is there any logic that I am unable to understand behind it? Could it be that if the OFW isn't set up or used, the chance of a ban is lowered? I just really want to get behind this.

Can I safely set up the OFW and login into my Nintendo account on there if I won't use it for anything else?

Thanks for any reply!!

Last edited by cubes,

Deleted member 514389

GBA Connoisseur
Trophies
Website
f.ls
XP
Country
Germany
If you use Incognito (or perhaps 90sDNS) with the EmuNand portion, there shouldn't be a problem.

The only thing to try is to eject the microSD and try to boot the OFW.. to see if it works.

Word of warning:

SX OS is pretty much no more.
You'd have to use Atmosphere if you want to utilize the latest updates.

I'm only on a V1 myself, so perhaps others are more knowledged in the SX Trinket / Modchip.

Good Luck.

PS: