Confirmed: the Nintendo 3DS blocks DS flashcarts

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Costello, Feb 25, 2011.

Feb 25, 2011
  1. Costello
    OP

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,031
    As we had imagined, original Nintendo DS and DSi flashcarts are not functioning at all on the Nintendo 3DS. Members of our forums have tested compatibility with multiple cards, and results are 100% negative. Tested flashcarts so far:
    • Supercard DSTWO
    • Supercard DSONE
    • R4 DS
    • EZ-Flash Vi
    • Acekard 2i
    From the first reports we've received, the flashcart icons show up normally in the 3DS menu but refuse to launch. Will flashcart manufacturers release firmware updates to bypass the new protection of the 3DS? Hard to say, but they are probably at work already. The first team to break the 3DS protections will certainly receive great praise from the community.

    [tvwide]255-186[/tvwide]
    DS Flashcarts on Nintendo 3DS
    An attempt to run DS flashcarts on the Nintendo 3DS (video by ahtin)

    Translation

    Credit for testing goes to trusted forum members ahtin and ManFranceGermany
     


  2. Qtis

    Member Qtis Grey Knight Inquisitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3,762
    Location:
    The Forge
    Country:
    Antarctica
    We did see that one coming. Now to wait and see for the iEvo with the DSi exploit. If only there was a Japanese loader available [​IMG]


    -Qtis
     
  3. HaniKazmi

    Member HaniKazmi GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,657
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm sure ds/dsi mode will be cracked relativly easily. 3DS mode is whole different ball game though [​IMG].
     
  4. corenting

    Member corenting Insert random cool title here

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    288
    Location:
    Paris
    Country:
    France
    This was expected... I hope it will be "cracked" soon !
    3DS homebrews will be great !
     
  5. NamoNakamura

    Member NamoNakamura GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    167
    Country:
    United States
    Probably means we can count out the Acekard 2i as well.

    EDIT: Well, actually, I'm not sure. My Acekard 2i is flashed to show up as "Danny Phantom: Urban Jungle", but sometimes displays as "Acekard". When I run it when it displays as Acekard, it gives a generic "Please turn off and resort to manual" message. Just gotta wait, I guess.
     
  6. xaeroak15

    Newcomer xaeroak15 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe you can try this:
    Code:
    http://www.acekard3.com/
    kakashi~
     
  7. CookiesMilk

    Member CookiesMilk GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    253
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Wish those flash cartridges developer won't be success in cracking it. Forever not.
     
  8. indask8

    Member indask8 New Member Forever

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    Look at the Flag...
    Country:
    France
    That was expected.

    Now the countdown has started, let's see how many time the 3DS will resist.

    (I would laugh very hard if by saturday night, yasu post a video of him playing pop'n music on his brand new 3DS) [​IMG] .
     
  9. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    FAKE ! like every other website opened by the same guy hidden behind an anonymous dns company.
    Please people, stop posting those dirty links. [​IMG]

    Proof :

    http://whois.domaintools.com/3dschip.com
    http://whois.domaintools.com/cyclo3ds.com
    http://whois.domaintools.com/acekard3.com
    http://whois.domaintools.com/ezflash3ds.com
    http://whois.domaintools.com/sc3ds.com

    @ahtin and ManFranceGermany : thanks for the heads up. Was to expect indeed. [​IMG]
     
  10. Raika

    Member Raika uguu

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,864
    Location:
    uguu
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I sure hope that a firmware update would allow current flashcarts to work on the 3DS... Saves us from having to buy a new flashcart for the 3DS (if one is ever made... haha). [​IMG]
     
  11. Isaac_GS

    Newcomer Isaac_GS Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    United States
    My AK2i shows as Alex Rider (formerly Danny Phantom before the 1.41 update) in my DSi, but has the AK2 Icon in my DS Phat. I think something is wrong with your Acekard if it's showing up as AK2 in your DSi.
     
  12. Nope, nothing's wrong. It happens to me too. It's really random though.
     
  13. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well - that's it.... I'M not buying a 3DS EVER !!!!! ............









    .................................................Until there's a flashcard that'll work on it !! - I'll miss my Homebrew !!!!
     
  14. Nujui

    Member Nujui I need something to do.

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,933
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks to the people for the heads up, but I can probably say we all saw this coming.
     
  15. indask8

    Member indask8 New Member Forever

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    Look at the Flag...
    Country:
    France
    Since most flashcart teams are located in HK and that they already have some stocks of 3DS, I think they'll start working on the issue very fast (Supercard/AK... team probably already have one 3DS in hand).
     
  16. deathking

    Member deathking GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    647
    Country:
    United States
    ok at least we know that the 3ds isnt being bricked by flash carts [​IMG]
     
  17. Yuan

    Member Yuan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,271
    Country:
    Brazil
  18. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    The current carts not working was obvious. But I wonder why they didn't update the DSi to block them if they knew how to. Maybe the blocking of the carts in the 3DS is implemented in hardware...
     
  19. Qtis

    Member Qtis Grey Knight Inquisitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3,762
    Location:
    The Forge
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Thus if this is the case, flashcarts would show up on the boot, but will not work :I


    -Qtis
     
  20. zombymario

    Member zombymario GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    171
    Location:
    Habitable zone
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Good to hear that the flashcard is 'recognized' by the 3DS. Hope a firmware update will make them work.
     

Share This Page