Concerning 3DS abilities

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by MikeTR, Dec 24, 2011.

Dec 24, 2011

Concerning 3DS abilities by MikeTR at 11:28 AM (1,305 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. MikeTR
    OP

    Newcomer MikeTR Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    Portugal
    Hey guys, I have a question that I would like answer please.
    So recently I bought a 3DS, and it seems that the hacking of it is still a little under construction.
    So my question is: can it run DS games using an R4?
     
  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Yes it can run DS games using a flash card that runs on it. Not all do, the original R4 does not.
    http://gbatemp.net/t290097-which-flash-cart-should-i-get
     
  3. MikeTR
    OP

    Newcomer MikeTR Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    Portugal
    There's so many choices e.e, I just want to run ds games on my 3DS, since flaschards can't run 3DS games so well atm.
    Which would you reccomend and the firmware.

    I'm kinda new in the ds thing that's why I'm asking xD
     
  4. FireGrey

    Member FireGrey Undercover Admin

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,916
    Country:
    Australia
    In my experience the R4i-SDHC is the easiest to use, especially for beginners.
    There are some better carts like Acekard 2i, Super Card DSTwo but they are more for people who have had experience with flashcarts before.
     
  5. MikeTR
    OP

    Newcomer MikeTR Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    Portugal
    I've asked a friend of mine who has a ds for some time and is hacked, and I think i'll get the EZ-Flash
     
  6. totalnoob617

    Banned totalnoob617 Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    785
    Country:
    United States
    speaking of abilities of the 3ds id like to know if we will ever know what it has in it for a processor and how powerful it is and what it would take to find out , i mean couldnt someone decap the cpu and put it in a sem(scanning electron microscope) or tem and be able to tell? or is there some way to do a speed test with some sort of semiconductor test equipment? my friend used to build those for ltx ,not sure if that would be able to test the 3ds cpu im sure these specificaaly made for 1 or only a few chips ,big huge expensive semi conductor test machines with complex liquid cooling systems
     
  7. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Wait, why?

    I don't have an SEM handy, do you?
     
  8. Luigi2012SM64DS

    Banned Luigi2012SM64DS G-old member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,060
    Location:
    Minecrapt
    Country:
    Canada
    um... cocky much?
     
  9. wchill

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    This is possible. Makes me wonder if JPL has the equipment for this... they're only 10 miles away from here, lol.

    Of course, decapping the chips and such wouldn't be helpful if you couldn't read the keys off the chip (or couldn't analyze the data properly)...
     
  10. totalnoob617

    Banned totalnoob617 Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    785
    Country:
    United States
    haha no rydian i dont either but there are people who do, someone going to a university could have access ,or someone who works with this stuff ,or a card dev team maybe,,peope were talking about contracting out a similar decap project with the ps3
    and what is this other guy talking about being cocky? i asked a question
     
  11. totalnoob617

    Banned totalnoob617 Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    785
    Country:
    United States
    no not for hacking it, but couldnt someone get a transistor count or an idea of the architecture or the chip? im guessing if its off the shelf it should not be hard to id, but if its proprietary then it would obviously be harder ,
    and you dont need jpl for a microscope like that there are other places in industry and universities that have them ,
     
  12. Memoir

    Member Memoir Undeserved

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2,939
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Country:
    United States
    The supercard, maybe.. but the AK2i is extremely easy to setup and use..

    Why are you getting the Ez-Flash?
     
  13. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Oh yeah I know some people do (like dr decapitator who got payed to help with SNES/BSNES stuff), just noting it's not really worth theory without the people/parts to accomplish it.
     

Share This Page