Computer does not boot up at all

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by ProtoKun7, Aug 20, 2010.

  1. ProtoKun7
    OP

    ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Global Moderator
    7,511
    1,553
    Jan 3, 2009
    Gallifrey
    So...yeah. Earlier my computer froze and there was nothing I could do to wake it up again, so I had to turn it off. Now, when I try turning it back on, it refuses. The power button and the power indicator both light up, and I hear the whiring of the fan, but after that there's no other sign; the screen stays blank, with no backlight and not even a command line; totally blank, and it eventually goes silent again.

    I've tried putting the recovery disc in, both leaving it alone and pressing F11, that doesn't work either.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Javier78

    Javier78 Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    64
    0
    Nov 23, 2008
    United States
    When it goes silent, does that mean the computer turns off, or just the fan?

    Sounds like a power supply problem, something a recovery disc won't fix. Try getting rid of all the dust and foreign material from your computer.

    Worst case would be that something is wrong with your CPU. Try cleaning your fans.
     
  3. giratina16

    giratina16 Born This Way

    Member
    928
    1
    Apr 10, 2010
    G.O.A.T.
    Yeah my friends computer had this problem, it turned out he had too much dust in the fan which eventually blew up and killed the hard drive. Try vacuuming the back of the tower.
     
  4. ProtoKun7
    OP

    ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Global Moderator
    7,511
    1,553
    Jan 3, 2009
    Gallifrey
    I should've mentioned, it's a notebook, so it doesn't have a tower. [​IMG]
     
  5. I2aven's_Sag

    I2aven's_Sag GBATemp Otaku

    Member
    726
    6
    Sep 13, 2009
    United States
    Northern Virginia
    This actually happened to me last week, had to send it back to dell who basically (I believe) triggered a start-up-repair somehow...Other than that, about the fans, yeah, even if you have a notebook, you should make sure to keep the fans pretty clean; if you're afraid to open up the notebook, then (in the future) to keep it clean you can always spray some compressed air at the vents.

    They had also wanted me to reseat the CMOS battery (which was a total failure on my part)(couldn't get it reseated(big hands)) and an unwillingness to take the whole thing apart!
     
  6. Jiggah

    Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    1,223
    1
    Nov 9, 2002
    United States
    Usually, when this happens, it has to do with some weird electricity hiccup in the laptop. You can try removing the battery and unplugging the laptop from the wall then pushing the power button to make sure that all the electricity is out of the system. Let it sit awhile and put everything back and power it up.
     
  7. ProtoKun7
    OP

    ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Global Moderator
    7,511
    1,553
    Jan 3, 2009
    Gallifrey
    I did try removing any static last night - no help, it still won't load...as for the CMOS, we haven't tried anything with that yet. I think it is hardware though, because if there was some issue with the C:\ drive then it would get further than it is.
     
  8. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Member
    27,883
    8,105
    Feb 4, 2010
    United States
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    No clue.







    No, really. My only suggestion would have been a PCI diagnostics card, but it's a laptop.
     
  9. murkurie

    murkurie GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    316
    1
    Feb 16, 2010
    United States
    California, Redlands
    sounds more like a fried mobo, I got a laptop here, compaq, that does the exact same thing, the Nvidia GPU is too blame
     
  10. ProtoKun7
    OP

    ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Global Moderator
    7,511
    1,553
    Jan 3, 2009
    Gallifrey
    If Rydian's stumped then all is lost.


    [​IMG]
    We've already sent off a message to MEDION, so we'll see what that results in. I believe it still has a warranty though.

    This does of course mean I may be quiet for a bit, though I'll still be in the shoutbox at least.
     
  11. jonesman99

    jonesman99 GBAtemp's Official ArchAndroid

    Member
    1,112
    77
    Nov 10, 2008
    United States
    A Star Called Metropolis
    something like this happened to me. so im guessing its a hard drive malfunction. Like how a virus goes through your system undetected and causes damages to your registry and processes. It probably deleted the svchost.exe that were on it, making it inoperable. So just take it to a comp repair shop and have them fix it. And after that just run daily tests on it for anything weird.
     
  12. zeromac

    zeromac Finally reached 1000 posts EXACTLY

    Member
    2,194
    7
    Mar 7, 2009
    Earth
    Take out the battery and leave it in a cool room for abit, then place it back into the laptop and start charging it.

    Then try turn it on.

    Reason for this is that someitmes laptop batterys overheat and shut off to avoid blowing up or melting
     
  13. Dter ic

    Dter ic ~

    Member
    1,757
    45
    Feb 19, 2009
    check your screens brightness setting
     
  14. seahorsepip

    seahorsepip GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    158
    0
    Feb 18, 2009
    Netherlands
    Netherlands
    simple: I have same it's something in vista and 7 and maybe xp but then in sp3 =P
    its hibernation...
    ^can be turnd off in power settings

    to get pc/laptop on: turn it on when you hear something turn it off by removing the power do this again and again and it will start normal!

    Posts merged

    P.S.
    I got a medion too with same problem the support for hibernation just sucks =P
     
  15. ProtoKun7
    OP

    ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Global Moderator
    7,511
    1,553
    Jan 3, 2009
    Gallifrey
    Tried that a few times; I don't think it's related to hibernation. Sending another email to them now...
     
  16. tigris

    tigris Sentient Existential Anthropomorphic Sweet Potato

    Member
    2,689
    239
    Jun 19, 2010
    The Tibetan Himalayas
    No BIOS whines? No clicks?
     
  17. raulpica

    raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Supervisor
    11,003
    7,243
    Oct 23, 2007
    Italy
    PowerLevel: 9001
    BGA soldering failure, most probably the chipset (especially if it's a NVIDIA chipset). You have to send it back.

    Mini PCI-e diagnostic cards are teh awzum (that reminds me that I need to get one).
     
  18. Skyline969

    Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Member
    2,206
    8
    Nov 18, 2008
    Canada
    Saskatchewan
    Yup, sounds like the motherboard's fried. Sadly, the only way to make your computer work again is to replace it.
     
  19. nico445

    nico445 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    579
    9
    Apr 27, 2008
    Netherlands
    my house.
    i have a Medion pc too and when it's really dusty i get the same. first time it locks up then after that no signal on my screen and only the fans work.. so maybe you just could clean it
     
  20. ProtoKun7
    OP

    ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Global Moderator
    7,511
    1,553
    Jan 3, 2009
    Gallifrey