Computer booting fucked up

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Satangel, Apr 19, 2009.

  1. Satangel
    OP

    Satangel BEAST

    Member
    10,255
    557
    Nov 27, 2006
    Belgium
    Bruges, Belgium
    I tried to partition my external harddrive with Paragon Hard Disk Manager, and it asked me to reboot my system so it could go further with partitioning my harddrive.
    I clicked Yes, and my PC booted.
    But it doesn't boot normally, it says Boot from A: or Win Vista/2008

    And on the bottom it says Insert startup disk in floppy drive and press F2 to run setup.
    But Paragon never mentioned any floppy drive, so I didn't prepare one ! And besides, my PC doesn't even have a floppy drive.

    When I pick boot form Win Vista/2008, the screen goes black and on the left top there is a flickering _, like to input something, but I can't type anything.

    I've tried Safe Mode, but then it asks me to Select a boot device. I've tried booting from CD rom station with the Vista disc in it, all leads to the same thing.
     
  2. Aurora Wright

    Aurora Wright GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Member
    1,544
    4,099
    Aug 13, 2006
    Italy
    If it still doesn't work, open the command prompt again, insert diskpart, select your HDD with "select disk 0", do "list partition" to see your Windows partition number, "select partition N" (where N is the partition number), then "active". If it's a boot problem and not a corrupted HDD one, it should work now.
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. Satangel
    OP

    Satangel BEAST

    Member
    10,255
    557
    Nov 27, 2006
    Belgium
    Bruges, Belgium
    I also tried unplugging the external HD, no succes.

    By Vista disc, do you mean the Vista Business 64bit DVD which I used to install the OS?
    Or do you mean the recovery disc from Vista 64bit?
    I haven't tried the recovery disc yet, still working on that.

    When I select boot from CD drive with teh Vista Business DVD in it, it just goes to that same black screen.
     
  4. Satangel
    OP

    Satangel BEAST

    Member
    10,255
    557
    Nov 27, 2006
    Belgium
    Bruges, Belgium
    Thanks, it worked!

    I downloaded the Vista 64bit Recovery Disc from here
    Burned it with ImgBurn on a DVD.
    Plugged it in my PC, pressed F8 while booting, selected to boot from CD station.
    Waited for 30 seconds, it said press any button to boot from CD, I pressed any button.
    Then I clicked Next and then Repair.
    And then I selected Command Prompt, and I filled in the first 3 things Davi92 mentioned. All were succesfull. I typed exit in the command prompt, clicked restart and my PC is working fine again!

    Big thanks to Davi92 for the fast help!
    Topic may be closed
     
  5. MishaPilsudski

    MishaPilsudski Newbie

    Newcomer
    5
    0
    Apr 5, 2012
    Canada
    I'm having this same problem. I tried to make a partition on my computers hard drive and this happened. Except I do not have the windows 7 disc for my computer, and the recovery discs that I originally made for my computer are not working. Does anybody know how to fix this? :/

    I also do not know how to boot my computer in safe mode.
     
  6. Originality

    Originality Chibi-neko

    Member
    5,350
    782
    Apr 21, 2008
    London, UK
    Shortcut to booting on safe mode: as soon as you see the "Windows is loading" screen with the pretty colourful animation, reset the PC. It will bring up the prompt saying "this comp didn't boot properly, go use safe mode to fix this".
     
  7. MishaPilsudski

    MishaPilsudski Newbie

    Newcomer
    5
    0
    Apr 5, 2012
    Canada
    I can't even get to that screen. When I try to boot it just goes to the screen that says "Insert startup disk in floppy drive and press F2 to run setup".
     
  8. Originality

    Originality Chibi-neko

    Member
    5,350
    782
    Apr 21, 2008
    London, UK
    Then Windows is not even loading and either BIOS or the MBR (I forget which since this is only an educated guess) is falling back on its default procedure to ask you for system files to boot with (since it doesn't know what to run). Either try a MBR recovery tool (google is your best friend) or reinstall Windows. I'm in favour of reinstalling Windows, since it's useful to do every year or so.
     
  9. Zetta_x

    Zetta_x The Insane Statistician

    Member
    1,844
    257
    Mar 4, 2010
    United States
    That's weird, I've never used to the tool but I don't think the PC would of needed to have been rebooted to partition an external HDD.

    It's not finding your boot drive, I reinstalled windows 7 on my SSD and it didn't move the boot information to the SSD, instead it kept it on the HDD I had in there. If I tried booting into the SDD I think it had something similar to what you had, when I boot into the other HDD then it gave me the option to boot into one of the operating systems (new or old).
     
  10. MishaPilsudski

    MishaPilsudski Newbie

    Newcomer
    5
    0
    Apr 5, 2012
    Canada
    I torrented windows xp sp3 and burned it to a cd and tried to load that. It wouldn't load, I just got the flashing "-" in the top left corner and four dots under it. I will try a MBR recovery tool and see what happens.
     
  11. Originality

    Originality Chibi-neko

    Member
    5,350
    782
    Apr 21, 2008
    London, UK
    Did you switch the boot device to the DVD drive in BIOS?
     
  12. Sicklyboy

    Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Global Moderator
    5,727
    4,725
    Jul 15, 2009
    United States
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    If MishaPilsudski doesn't even know how to get to safe-mode, I don't think they're gonna know how to change boot priorities or access the boot menu (by the way, the proper way of doing it is to keep tapping F8 during/after your mobo's splash screen. If you see the WIndows boot animation you've gone too far).

    For what it's worth, the easiest way of doing so is to look at the BIOS splash screen for something telling you to press a key to access "Boot Options", or "Boot Device" or something along those lines. Typically is anywhere from F8 to F12. If you don't see this, look for something on the same screen on how to enter the BIOS or Setup or something like that. Usually F1 or . From here, you're going to want to do one of two things. The easiest is going to be to go to the very right menu (you have to use your keyboard to navigate the BIOS unless you have an EUFI enabled one, but mouse support is still pretty meh in those) and see if different boot devices are listed. If not, you're going to want to look around all of the main menus in the BIOS for "Boot Order" or "Boot Priority" and set your DVD drive to number one, either through selecting the first entry and hitting enter and picking the DVD drive (and it will say the actual model number of the DVD drive, not just "DVD Drive") or using the + and - on the numpad to move it up or down.

    One thing that may make it slightly easier on you - two things NOT to pick in that menu (you still need them enabled, as the second one) are items beginning with "WD" or "ST", being a WesternDigital or SeagaTe hard drive. You still NEED those in there somewhere, but you want something else to be first.
     
  13. MishaPilsudski

    MishaPilsudski Newbie

    Newcomer
    5
    0
    Apr 5, 2012
    Canada
    I do know how to boot from the dvd in the bios actually hahah and I knew you could hold down the power button during booting to make it boot back up and ask if you want to boot in safe mode, but I wasn't sure if there was another way to do it. When I try to boot the XP disc that I burned off it doesn't load, it may just be a problem with the files on the disc that I downloaded but I have no clue


     
  14. Sicklyboy

    Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Global Moderator
    5,727
    4,725
    Jul 15, 2009
    United States
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Could be. Do you have an external DVD drive or a DVD drive you could pull out of another computer to test it with? A computer I recently built for a friend has an SATA drive, which DOES work, yet the computer refuses to boot from it. Food for thought.
     
  15. MishaPilsudski

    MishaPilsudski Newbie

    Newcomer
    5
    0
    Apr 5, 2012
    Canada
    Yeah i'll try to boot the disc from another computer and see if it works.


    I figured it out after, the disc was bad and I just reinstalled windows to fix it.