Completely Confused About the DSTWO?

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by Garchomp, Oct 27, 2010.

Oct 27, 2010
  1. Garchomp
    OP

    Member Garchomp GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    Isshu Region
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, im planning to get a DSTWO for xmas. I've been looking at plugins at http://gbatemp.net/t229551-supercard-dstwo-plug-ins and im really confused about how they are supposed to go on the DSTWO. You can play GBA, GBC, etc, and Games such as Plants Vs. Zombies and Tower Defense, but HOW?

    I don't even know what kind of firmware i need to even start up the DSTWO...

    Is it some specific folder or what?
     


  2. Slyakin

    Member Slyakin See ya suckers

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,450
    Location:
    Soviet Slyakin
    Country:
    United States
    Trust me, when you get it, it'll be VERY EASY. The instructions are just hard to read.

    Also, there's an FAQ about it in this very same forum. [​IMG]
     
  3. RoMee

    Member RoMee ??

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    ??
    Country:
    United States
    The latest EOS should already include the GBA and stuff
    as for the plugins, most of them contain 3 files that you put in the _dstwoplug..that's really it

    once you have the dstwo, it'll become very easy
     
  4. Garchomp
    OP

    Member Garchomp GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    Isshu Region
    Country:
    United States
    OK, i guess i gotta get it first!

    I'm just really excited about getting it so i can play all of my favorite games that R4i cant even imagine playing [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Posts merged

    ah so i see, when i get the firmware, i just put it in that one folder and thats it?
     
  5. Presto99

    Member Presto99 You slammin, bro?

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    910
    Location:
    Skyworld
    Country:
    United States
    3 files:
    .nds
    .bmp (the picture you see and click on in the DSTWO menu
    .plg (a plugin file thingy that needs to be there

    example:
    colors.nds
    colors.bmp
    colors.plg

    then Colors would be selectable in the menu.
     
  6. Garchomp
    OP

    Member Garchomp GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    Isshu Region
    Country:
    United States
    sounds easy enough. im guessing i just download the emulator, put it in the plugin file, then download any roms i want, and then just boot the emu and choose the file?
     
  7. RoMee

    Member RoMee ??

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    ??
    Country:
    United States
    that's not really it..
    it's
    .bmp
    .ini.....[configuration settings]
    .nds or .plg...[some are .nds and some are .plg]
     
  8. Presto99

    Member Presto99 You slammin, bro?

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    910
    Location:
    Skyworld
    Country:
    United States
    yep. For instance, I have a NES folder for my NES roms and can boot NESds from the menu, pick a rom from my folder, and play.
     
  9. Presto99

    Member Presto99 You slammin, bro?

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    910
    Location:
    Skyworld
    Country:
    United States
    ok. well. so I'm not perfect. [​IMG] but it's the three files the plugin download comes with in the _dstwoplug folder and it works.
     
  10. Garchomp
    OP

    Member Garchomp GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    Isshu Region
    Country:
    United States
    OK, since i have roms down easily, what do i do if i download a hombrew such as super smash bros clash and all i get is a .nds file? do i need to worry about that?

    Also, NDS and GBA games go in the folder dstwoplug?
     
  11. RoMee

    Member RoMee ??

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    ??
    Country:
    United States
    gba games goes in the _gamepack folder in the NDSGBA
    same for SNES.._gamepack folder in NDSSFC
    NDSGBA and NDSSFC goes in root of micro sd
     
  12. Garchomp
    OP

    Member Garchomp GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    Isshu Region
    Country:
    United States
    Wait a minute, you need a homebrew loader dont you to load them up right? such as DSKiosk?
     
  13. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    no

    I'd also like to add that you can start from scratch using my iMenu guide (just skipping the backup part) and you would be fine
     
  14. Garchomp
    OP

    Member Garchomp GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    Isshu Region
    Country:
    United States
    ah i see, so since GBA and NDS were designed to play on the DSTWO, they just go in the gampak folder.

    Other games go in the dstwoplug with their emulators?
     
  15. haddad

    Member haddad GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,519
    Country:
    Canada
    You cam put nds games anwhere in the micro sd card. Same for gba games, BUT it is RECOMMENDED to place gba games in NDSGBA/gamepak to make it easier to search

    And you ONLY put plugins in dstwoplug, no games
     
  16. RoMee

    Member RoMee ??

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    ??
    Country:
    United States
    you can just create a folder in root of micro sd and put the games there

    for example, if you have lameboy plugin..you can make a folder called GBC in root and put all the GBC roms in there
     
  17. Garchomp
    OP

    Member Garchomp GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    Isshu Region
    Country:
    United States
    Wow, thanks terminator!

    Ok, thanks to everyone who helped me out, i see how the DSTWO is supposed to load all of this wonderful stuff.

    THANKS EVERYONE!
     
  18. Presto99

    Member Presto99 You slammin, bro?

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    910
    Location:
    Skyworld
    Country:
    United States
    I have my DS games in a NDS folder. Anywhere you want. after picking a rom once, it will autofind that folder. So I don't have to manually select the NDS folder to see my Nds roms when I pick DS_Game from the menu. I have my GBA games in the NDSGBA/gamepak folder. (NDSGBA folder comes when you download the GBA plugin from the supercard site)
    I haven't made a custom .bmp before, but I think you could make one if you looked it up, rename it SSBC.bmp or whatever (SSBC if that's the name of the nds rom). You could also maybe do it without a .bmp. I think you would need a .ini though. You could use a different .ini from a different plugin as an example and make your own for SSBC.
    So once you put your SSBC.nds, SSBC.ini, and SSBC.bmp in the dstwoplug folder it should work.
     
  19. Garchomp
    OP

    Member Garchomp GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    Isshu Region
    Country:
    United States
    Wait....So with the hombrew games i download and mabye all other games i get, they all require a .ini, .bmp, and a .nds, and i have to make the .ini and .bmp?
     
  20. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    only homebrew require them, no games for the NDS or any emulator need .ini and .bmp files

    to get those files for homebrew see the list i linked to in my last post
     

Share This Page