co-op.portal2.

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Nick Nack, Apr 23, 2011.

Apr 23, 2011

co-op.portal2. by Nick Nack at 12:38 PM (4,707 Views / 0 Likes) 34 replies

  1. Nick Nack
    OP

    Newcomer Nick Nack Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Greece,Thessaloniki
    Country:
    Greece
    when i press the cooperative gameplay button it says check your internet connection.but i am connected.whats happening?i have finished the game.also when i go to extras lab rat comic it says enable steam in-game community.but the game is not downloaded from steam.sorry one last question.the robot enrichment also says something about steam,i dont remember but i will check it.
     


  2. Wizerzak

    Member Wizerzak Because I'm a potato!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,784
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This should be in the Computer Systems Section.

    But anyway, i'm not quite sure why that's happening... you haven't disabled any steam overlays etc?
     
  3. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Game not downloaded from Steam? So you've got a physical copy then? make sure its fully updated. If you can't update it your firewall's blocking that. Also add an exception for Portal 2's hl2.exe (fish around the Steam files to find the right one) into your firewall.
    That's the most likely thing that's happening.
     
  4. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't know about 'standalone' versions of portal2 but I'm guessing that 'steam' has also been installed

    When playing do you see [​IMG] in you system tray ??

    If you have the logo - right click on it > select 'settings' > 'IN-GAME' > make sure 'Enable Steam Community In-Game' is selected - you should than be able to get the 'comic'
    If not - then I would also guess that your router/firewall is blocking internet access
     
  5. FlatFrogger

    Member FlatFrogger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    291
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    aka you pirated it? give up hope of playing coop if so.
     
  6. Wizerzak

    Member Wizerzak Because I'm a potato!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,784
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom


    Don't go presuming everyone who has a game that doesn't work pirated it. You can buy the game in a store then install it from a disc
    .
     
  7. Berthenk

    Member Berthenk Epitome of Awesomeness

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,314
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Too bad that Valve games require Steam to run. [​IMG]
     
  8. Wizerzak

    Member Wizerzak Because I'm a potato!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,784
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    But you have 2 options, 1, like the op said (and what i did) you can download the whole game through steam, or you can buy the physical copy of the game then install without downloading anything. He might have pirated it, i'm just saying don't jump to conclusions.
     
  9. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    If he pirated it then I'd hope he wouldn't have the idiocy to ask why online play doesn't work.
     
  10. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Uhm... There are 2 things I believe infinite. The Universe and human stupidity, but I'm not to sure about the Universe. Einstein sums it up.
     
  11. Berthenk

    Member Berthenk Epitome of Awesomeness

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,314
    Country:
    Netherlands
    If I recall correctly, Valve games you buy in a store come with a code you activate in Steam while the actual content is on the DVD, so you would still need Steam.
     
  12. Wizerzak

    Member Wizerzak Because I'm a potato!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,784
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yes but you do not need to download the game, you just have to install it locally with the disc. The op said he didn't download it, thus he probably bought it from a shop (or pirated it)
     
  13. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,481
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    He said he didn't download it from Steam. If he bought a retail copy he'd have to activate it with Steam and then the in-game community would be available.
     
  14. donelwero

    Member donelwero GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    352
    Location:
    León, Gto.
    Country:
    Mexico
    Some games have that kind of problem. For an example, if I leave the Steam window open I can't connect to any room in Team Fortress 2. It is said that it's a problem with Steam's web browser, so maybe you can try closing steams window while it is loading the game.
     
  15. Sonic4Ever

    Member Sonic4Ever GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    249
    Country:
    France
    Actually Wizerzack you're wrong. Even if you buy it retail you still need steam (and it's bundled with steam in fact). It will install steam first and then copy the content into steam directly instead of downloading the game.
     
  16. Diablo1123

    Member Diablo1123 Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,432
    Location:
    Underground
    Country:
    United States
    It is perfectly possible to be able to play pirated games online. That's what cracked servers are for right?
     
  17. Schlupi

    Member Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniac™

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Location:
    Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
    Country:
    United States
    Actually, there have been TWO updates. [​IMG]

    Just being an corrective ass here, don't mind me.
     
  18. FlatFrogger

    Member FlatFrogger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    291
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No sorry, you can't just crack server clients and everything will be fine, it doesn't work like that.
     
  19. Diablo1123

    Member Diablo1123 Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,432
    Location:
    Underground
    Country:
    United States
    Why not? I can play CS:S and Left4Dead perfectly fine on a cracked client for example. Portal 2 uses about the same protection.

    For the record, I do own CS:S and Left4Dead.

    On Team Fortress 2 I can even have all the items if I crack it.
     
  20. zeromac

    Member zeromac Finally reached 1000 posts EXACTLY

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,194
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    Australia
    Its funny how everyone is bickering about whether or not he pirated it or if he bought it [​IMG]

    Lets wait for him to tell us if he bought it retail or if he pirated it shall we?
     

Share This Page