Hacking Clonezilla for PS3 Internal HD

democracy

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2009
Messages
910
Trophies
0
XP
730
Country
United States
Can you use clonezilla to create an image and restore said image on a larger disk? What files would need to be edited after restoration? I guess the trick would be to fool the ps3 into thinking it was still talking to the old hdd? What files need to be edited?
 
Last edited by democracy,

Wuigi

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2012
Messages
728
Trophies
1
XP
1,803
Country
United States
I don't think the PS3 can partially format/encrypt just the additional part of the HDD that was added in comparison to the old one.
But I don't have CFW (yet hopefully) so I don't know for sure, but also Wii U doesn't support this officially and there are also no hacks that could allow this.
The problem is that backing up the HDD via the official utility and then restoring it can be a bit risky, I lost my installed data because some part of the many 4GB files created by the backup tool were damaged, so maybe back your install data and saves up via FTP and then copy them over after formatting your new HDD?
 

Lumince

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2015
Messages
2,343
Trophies
1
XP
3,773
Country
United States
afaik, as soon as you switch hdd's it will want to wipe it. Youre best bet is to back up your data and restore it.
You would need a external hdd to back it up and then just go to Navigate to Settings > System Settings > Backup Utility.
Any other way will result in the ps3 wanting to wipe it.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I don't think the PS3 can partially format/encrypt just the additional part of the HDD that was added in comparison to the old one.
But I don't have CFW (yet hopefully) so I don't know for sure, but also Wii U doesn't support this officially and there are also no hacks that could allow this.
The problem is that backing up the HDD via the official utility and then restoring it can be a bit risky, I lost my installed data because some part of the many 4GB files created by the backup tool were damaged, so maybe back your install data and saves up via FTP and then copy them over after formatting your new HDD?
It can be risky? I haven't messed with my ps3 in a long time and I never heard of that issue. Ive only backed up my data once and that was to move to a 1tb hdd from the 250 gb one that game with my slim. Maybe it would be a good idea for him to back up everything multiple times just to make sure?
 
  • Like
Reactions: democracy

mikey420

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2015
Messages
911
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
493
Country
United States
Well you can always backup everything from the old drive to an external source. Wouldn't recommend using an imaging tool.

For the most basic backup use the XMB to backup all game saves and virtual memory cards etc. Don't use it to backup your games and apps do so manually by using multiman to dump your game folder. Just copy all of the hdd0/game/ folder and any folders containing .ISO or folder rips of games or any roms you installed to your external USB Device or FTP (ftp will take longer but won't run into any issues with split files so you won't have to use multiman to restore the games. Though multiman will absolutely split and rejoin said files automatically.) Once you've backed up all your games you need to dump your game licenses. Once this has been done you can simply install the new drive. Once the drive is installed you should reinstall and reconfigure your CFW though the system will probably make you do so during the format of the new drive anyways.... once done install multiman through the package installer (or enable webman with FTP) and copy your files back using the same method you dumped them. Once the game folder is restored reboot your system into recovery and choose rebuild database. Once done activate your games using reactPSN and restore all your game saves through the XMB. This is the method I've always used for backup purposes as it gives you a deserted dump of your PSN games and apps to hold onto as well as a copy of all the game licenses so they can be reactivated (if need be) at anytime.
 
  • Like
Reactions: democracy

linuxares

The inadequate, autocratic beast!
Global Moderator
Joined
Aug 5, 2007
Messages
13,379
Trophies
2
XP
18,299
Country
Sweden
In theory yes, you can do that. You can use "dd" in Clonezilla, or hell any Linux would do it too. It might work, it might not since I don't now if the PS3 got any checks in place.
Clonezilla will choose the best option mostly by itself.

But there are better ways if I remember correctly to do a HDD upgrade.
 
  • Like
Reactions: democracy

mikey420

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2015
Messages
911
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
493
Country
United States
The best way to upgrade us the method I mentioned above. Clean easy and simple. (With rebugs save data owner patch this backup method will also work to transfer from one PS3 to another)


BTW I use this method as I always tend to have trouble with the official backup methods (trouble that this easily gets around.) And like I said there are some benefits to this backup method. It can be restored even on a different PS3 and you won't loose any games or saves.
 
Last edited by mikey420,
  • Like
Reactions: democracy

DMCbr

New Member
Newbie
Joined
May 3, 2019
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
44
Location
São Carlos - SP - Brasil
XP
42
Country
Brazil
The best way to upgrade us the method I mentioned above. Clean easy and simple. (With rebugs save data owner patch this backup method will also work to transfer from one PS3 to another)


BTW I use this method as I always tend to have trouble with the official backup methods (trouble that this easily gets around.) And like I said there are some benefits to this backup method. It can be restored even on a different PS3 and you won't loose any games or saves.

I dont know anything about this software you are talking about. is there any tutorial for this?
I want to upgrade my 500GB disc to a 1TB disc. But i have some accounts on my PS3 that allow me to play certain games, and i dont have the passwords for that accounts, so i cant lose the access these accounts give me to the games.
Once i updated my 120GB to this current 500GB disc using the PS3 backup tool, but i lost all this access of this accounts (and i paid money for this access). I dont want to lose again because it is a lot of games that i bought this way. People sell this "shared" accounts for cheap, but you can only use the password for a few hours.
Will this method of yours, works for my case?
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I thought I saw a puttie snatch...
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I'm so pumped, NCAA football video game is back after a 10 year hiatus, coming to SeriesS/X, PS5 in July.
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Wish they would let us play the NCAA football 14 on newer xbox, its one of the only games I love and own on disc still, that is not back compatible, bs.
  • AdenTheThird @ AdenTheThird:
    @BigOnYa My dad recently bought a spare Series X off of me, got game pass, and saw Madden '24 on Game Pass, decided to try it out.

    ...He was a bit taken aback by the 60GB download size. Poor guy's still living in the 90s!
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @AdenTheThird, Bro's still in the PS2 age.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Lol charging your dad's classic unless he's the type that doesn't like taking things like that
  • AdenTheThird @ AdenTheThird:
    @K3Nv2 He was looking into consoles for his house anyway (for my younger siblings and himself) and I had a spare XSX and Switch I ended up selling him at pretty steep cuts. I would just give them to him, but I did buy them with the intent to sell them... and college is super expensive.
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    A little yeah...
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @BigOnYa, [insert wut here]
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I'm a little hi, but bout to fix that.
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Now I'm low, i was upstairs in my wifeys kitchen, now I'm downstairs in my dungeon.(My basement)
    +1
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    do you mind? i snuck in with amiibo and jars, and am trying to do my thing brony style
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    have you ever regretted saying something immediately after saying it?
    +1
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    nah what i was doing was trying to cure my ever-so-apparent crabs
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @SylverReZ,
    my younger brother is forcing me to play with him and my cousins are here *sigh*
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    @SylverReZ that Hack a hacked 360 vid was neat, never knew it existed.
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @BigOnYa, I thought it was interesting.
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    nvm this video is clickbait
    Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty: nvm this video is clickbait