Clean Slate

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by dabonez, Oct 8, 2009.

Oct 8, 2009

Clean Slate by dabonez at 4:44 PM (2,176 Views / 0 Likes) 23 replies

  1. dabonez
    OP

    Newcomer dabonez Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    I have a older Wii (non LU64) that has been updated to 4.1u. It has homebrew installed and has been partially soft modded. I say partially because my friend has tried to mod it but never got it to work with his USB HD so he passed it on to me.

    Is there a way to completely wipe all installed IOS and patches that have been installed on this Wii so a fresh new softmod can be put on it?
    Or
    Is there a homebrew program out there that will show the versions and all patches that have been applied to this Wii?

    If I could see what was on it and the versions I could update them but at this point I am a bit nervous of bricking the thing.
     


  2. Det1re

    Member Det1re det1re.de

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,272
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    If you wipe out all your installed IOS your Wii says "" ... well, nothing.
     
  3. MagusDraco

    Newcomer MagusDraco Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    United States
    There are things that'll make all your Nintendo IOSes stock (and then also update the wii to 4.2).


    As for just seeing what IOSes you have on there you could use DOP IOSv8 or DOP IOS Modv6 (if you don't have cIOS on for some reason) to see what version of all the IOSes you have.


    It'd let you see if you have IOS222, 223, 249 (cIOS and what revision it was), and I guess 250 and 254 and stuff.

    As for other things like the homebrew channel and bootmii and stuff, you just have to update those with the latest hackmii installer (assuming it's on the wii and not already updated).


    Also I think he meant "wipe out all of the custiom IOSes"
     
  4. Kwartel

    Member Kwartel The fairest in all the land

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,298
    Country:
    Netherlands
    ...sigh...

    Just look if the truchabug is enabled, install cios, get wiiware custom channels dvdloaders and last but not least the USB loader. Nothing can go wrong!!!
    Oh, and a look in the wiki if his HDD is supported, and if he has a WBFS partition!

    I HELPED YOU, BUT THE NEXT TIME: ...SEARCH!!!
     
  5. dabonez
    OP

    Newcomer dabonez Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    I went to the Homebrew channel installed in his system and it said that an update was out. When I tried to install it Hackmii said it said "no vunerable IOSes" and would not update.

    I installed cIOS rev14 and had it use IOS249 to do a network installation. Then when I used DOP IOSv8 I was a bit nervous on what to update or install. I am afraid to install something in the wrong order and brick the wii.

    Would it be ok to follow one of the other guides out there on how to softmod a 4.1 wii? Without restoring everything?
     
  6. Arendo

    Member Arendo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    137
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You could simply update to 4.2 and start from scratch ... remember, an official update kind of completely whipes your wii clean [​IMG] (it updates all your IOSes to Nintendo standards)

    I'd recommend using DOP IOS MOD, since at least you can't accidentally install a stub [​IMG]

    Second, if you've installed cIOSrev14, you should be ok, don't worry about DOP IOS (it was merely suggested for you to use to check what IOSes you have installed [​IMG]) and just continue with whatever you like to do...
    I recommend using USB Loader GX. Worked straight out of the box [​IMG]
     
  7. dabonez
    OP

    Newcomer dabonez Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    OK I was not sure that updating via Nintendo would be ok or not. Did not know if it would be ok to do a 4.2 update and still be easy to mod.

    I installed cIOSrev14 but Hackmii still will not update Homebrew. Something is messed up, I just do not want to install something and brick it because I didnt know better [​IMG]
     
  8. jazvdb

    Member jazvdb GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    835
    Location:
    In front of computer...
    Country:
    United States
    signCheck?
     
  9. dabonez
    OP

    Newcomer dabonez Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Ahh damn nice, thanks I am trying it out now.
    Thanks
     
  10. dabonez
    OP

    Newcomer dabonez Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Here is what Signcheck found out. Great app.

    SignCheck 0.3 aka /dev/nintystuff build report

    IOS number "Trucha bug" "Flash access" "Boot2 access" "Usb2.0 IOS tree"
    IOS250 (ver 65535) Enabled Disabled Disabled Enabled
    IOS249 (ver 14) Enabled Disabled Disabled Enabled
    IOS201 (ver 3094) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS61 (ver 4890) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS60 (ver 65535) Disabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS57 (ver 5661) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS55 (ver 65535) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS53 (ver 65535) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS50 (ver 65535) Disabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS38 (ver 65535) Enabled Disabled Disabled Enabled
    IOS37 (ver 65535) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS36 (ver 65535) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS35 (ver 65535) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS34 (ver 65535) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS33 (ver 65535) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS31 (ver 65535) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS30 (ver 65535) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS28 (ver 65535) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS22 (ver 65535) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS21 (ver 65535) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS20 (ver 65535) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS17 (ver 65535) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS15 (ver 65535) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS14 (ver 65535) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS13 (ver 65535) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS12 (ver 65535) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS11 (ver 65535) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
     
  11. MagusDraco

    Newcomer MagusDraco Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    United States
    dude...that's a lot of "highest version ever" IOSes.
     
  12. dabonez
    OP

    Newcomer dabonez Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Is that bad [​IMG] No clue whats up with this thing, except is not working (modded that is)

    Wonder if I should just update to 4.2? Would it be easier to just re-softmod it after 4.2 update?
     
  13. 0M39A

    Member 0M39A GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    374
    Country:
    Australia
    cioscrap
     
  14. dabonez
    OP

    Newcomer dabonez Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Whats the best thing to do then? cioscrap caused it?
     
  15. dabonez
    OP

    Newcomer dabonez Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Using DopIOS to update....well at least put different version besides 65535. Going to try it and see if maybe I can use another method to mod it.
     
  16. dabonez
    OP

    Newcomer dabonez Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Well at least I was able to update Homebrew after DopIOS replaced all those version 65535 cIOSCORP ios's
     
  17. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    what can he do about IOS250 (ver 65535) Enabled Disabled Disabled Enabled dop-ios won't touch that??
     
  18. assassda

    Member assassda GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    283
    Country:
    United States
    the program is probably using that IOS to run... try AnyTitleDeleter and be careful
     
  19. dabonez
    OP

    Newcomer dabonez Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    After using DopIOS to restore all the IOS's it could the wii rebooted to Bootmii and I can't get anything to load ;( No homebrew or wii. Just gives me the broken fonts saying the system is corrupted. The same error you get that can be fixed by reinstalling preloader. The problem is without homebrew I cant ;(

    So the only thing to do is restore the NAND. The downside to this is the NAND was backed up before I got started with the system already partailly modded. So I am back to square 1.

    I have read that allowing the Wii to upgrade to 4.2 will fix this and I have read it will not. Any ideas? I know DopIOS isnt the fix I hope for.

    I have read about a cIOSCORP uninstaller but can only find "cIOSCORP v3 4 Uninstaller LU64" and this wii had 3.3 installed and its not LU64. Think it is ok or will it brick it?
     
  20. dabonez
    OP

    Newcomer dabonez Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    After I restored the NAND I ran SignCheck again to see how the versions were of the IOS and I got this.
    IOS249 (ver 4)
    IOS61 (ver 4890)
    IOS60 (ver 65535)
    IOS55 (ver 65535)
    IOS53 (ver 65535)
    IOS50 (ver 65535)
    IOS38 (ver 65535)
    IOS37 (ver 65535)
    IOS36 (ver 1042)
    IOS35 (ver 1040)
    IOS34 (ver 1039)
    IOS33 (ver 1040)
    IOS31 (ver 1040)
    IOS30 (ver 1040)
    IOS28 (ver 65535)
    IOS22 (ver 65535)
    IOS21 (ver 514)
    IOS20 (ver 12)
    IOS17 (ver 512)
    IOS15 (ver 257)
    IOS14 (ver 65535)
    IOS13 (ver 10)
    IOS12 (ver 6)
    IOS11 (ver 10)

    Not all them are as screwed up as before. Just need to find away to restore them so I can update via nintendo or totally remove this cIOSCORP crapp.
     

Share This Page