Cioscorp 3.5 and Bricking Question

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Mossat, Nov 5, 2009.

Nov 5, 2009
  1. Mossat
    OP

    Newcomer Mossat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Canada
    When I first softmodded my wii I followed the step by step instructions installing HBC and then all that ios stuff. Ok well now I'm upgraded to CIOScorp 3.5. I keep reading all this stuff about bricking from power outages to scratched dvd's. My question is this....... how do I know that I can recover from a brick? All I know is that at power up if I keep the reset button pushed then the preloader menu comes up and it's preloader 0.29 but it says there is an update and when I try to update it locks up. I don't have a nand backup because I don't have a big enough sd card and I forgot but there was something about boot2 and if won't work then you have to install something else. Anyways I just want to make sure that I'm safe in case my son does something because it is his wii but like all 8 year olds who knows what he's capable of? Thanks.
     
  2. SherlockHolmeboy

    Member SherlockHolmeboy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    Country:
    Australia
    I don't know where you've read that scratched DVDs cause bricks. The worst it could possibly do is screw up the save for the game, or a bad update through a damaged DVD (though you can block this through preloader), but that's about it.

    So yeah, to block updates, you can just use preloader or Startpatch to 'skip disc updates'.

    As for brick protection, do you have BootMii/boot2 installed, or just preloader? If you have BootMii, you should invest in a bigger SD card and make yourself a NAND backup, it will really help you if something happens to go horribly wrong. If you only have preloader, that's fine too, but if something happens to the System Menu (or its IOS) you could be in trouble.

    EDIT: Looks like you can't install BootMii/boot2. See if you can install BootMii/IOS, that should help you if you can still access HBC.
     
  3. Am0s

    Member Am0s Mojo Risin

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    741
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    or if your updating an IOS or somthing and then the power goes out then you might have a brick on your hands
     
  4. Gino_Drago

    Newcomer Gino_Drago Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    Hi,
    do not try to update Preloader 0.29 by means of itself.
    It is better to get Preloader 030 r4 and install it right away be means of running it from HBC.
    I recommend you to disable all hacks before doing so in order to avoid them to get mess up.
    and get the latest Hacks.ini for the corresponding Region you have.

    This 030 Preloader will let you jump to BOOTMI/IOs or Homebrew Channel in case you have a brick in the System Menu.
     
  5. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    only when messing with the system menu IOS or system menu itself.
     

Share This Page