Chrono Cross on PSP go

Discussion in 'PSP - Hacking & Homebrew' started by FlameTakuya, Aug 13, 2012.

Aug 13, 2012

Chrono Cross on PSP go by FlameTakuya at 5:33 PM (4,909 Views / 0 Likes) 23 replies

  1. FlameTakuya
    OP

    Member FlameTakuya GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    845
    Location:
    Republic of Borginia
    Country:
    Singapore
    hi guys, spent about a day searching up on the net and trying out firmwares and popsloaders, but still stuck. blah. :(

    first, i only had 6.35 PRO-B5 on my PSP GO, and no popsloader. i got the multidisk eboot off torrents, and unlike the others, this one didn't hang at mama komodo! so yay, i started playing it. only problem was that it seemed to hang when i start up the first disk, so i went around it by resetting from disk 2, then starting a new game, then switching back to disk 1 when prompted. worked fantastically.

    but. later on, after defeating lynx at dragonian fort, it freezes on a black screen right after the cutscene with the panther. i did a search around and many seemed to have this problem but not with a psp go and not with pro-b5.

    so i searched further and found out that pro-b10 exists, and upgraded it, and installed popsloader too while i was at it (with the help of the nice instructional topic right here on this forum)

    so now i'm running 6.35 PRO-B10 fix1 on my psp go, with popsloader all installed. try to boot it normally likei did previously on PRO-B5 without popsloader, gives me an error message, won't even start up. error 800000004 or something like that.

    tried booting with popsloader. most of the versions don't work (tried 3.52, 3.71, 6.35 etc all give me the same error). then tried booting with "original from flash", works fine, same thing, can't load from disk 1 so i load from disk 2, rebattle viper and lynx, freezes at the same spot after the same cutscene. oh man

    oh and i checked the game id of the eboot, it's SCUS-94640, which is apparently the recommended working game id. hmmm...

    so... help please? if anyone knows how i can fix this, please tell me! i'm running a softmod so it should be alright if i need to change to another CFW, no prob
     


  2. Guild McCommunist

    Member Guild McCommunist (not on boat)

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,151
    Location:
    The Danger Zone
    Country:
    United States
    I thought that the PSN version was released and should work fine on any firmware.
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. FlameTakuya
    OP

    Member FlameTakuya GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    845
    Location:
    Republic of Borginia
    Country:
    Singapore
    hmm read around that the PSN version also apparently has plenty of freezes at the same places, but i'll give it a shot
     
  4. realveemon

    Member realveemon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    United States
    PSN version on 6.60 ME I can confirm works fine. No mama freezes and have played 8hrs so far...
     
  5. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's also not the hardest game to get working....many people (including myself) have made eboots from disc and finished it. It's harder on a Go because the Go is less suitable for playing PSX games.
     
  6. FlameTakuya
    OP

    Member FlameTakuya GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    845
    Location:
    Republic of Borginia
    Country:
    Singapore
    yeah, hardest game to get working on a go ever.

    firmware upped to PRO-C 6.35 and popsloader to the latest one that supports 6.60. still no go


    i'm having difficulty finding the PSN version... and i'm freezing at 15 hours in.

    mama freeze was easy to get past, but....
     
  7. JinTrigger

    Member JinTrigger Asentrix Studios

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,550
    Location:
    Lunesta/Mysteria
    Country:
    United States
    I heard there was a way to change the SLUS code thing on the eboot to avoid freezes at certain areas. There was a guide as to which SLUS code did what to the game itself. Imma see if I can find it and I'll edit my post
     
  8. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's SCUS94640 for optimal compatibility.
     
  9. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Also PSX compatibility issues are often due to the EBOOT, not the CFW. If the EBOOT you have was not made for proper compatibility (clean disc rip, right game code, etc.) then firmware updates will not fix it.
     
  10. chicodiesel
    This message by chicodiesel has been removed from public view by a moderator, Dec 5, 2016.
    Aug 14, 2012
  11. FlameTakuya
    OP

    Member FlameTakuya GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    845
    Location:
    Republic of Borginia
    Country:
    Singapore
    I GOT PAST IT

    alrighhhttttt!! and the eboot i already had was apparently listed as the cleanest one around, already patched and game id changed to SCUS94640, as i said in the first post.

    so, with the previous settings i had (6.35 PRO-C1 fix3 and popsloader v3), i managed to boot the game in popsloader 3.52 without the non-loading disk 1 thing, and loaded my game and managed to get past the freezing part! looks like i know what to do if i ever encounter freezes with this again. i hope i don't need to come back to this topic any more. :(

     
  12. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You will when you get to disc two.
     
  13. FlameTakuya
    OP

    Member FlameTakuya GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    845
    Location:
    Republic of Borginia
    Country:
    Singapore
    ahh yeah i heard about that. it should be going to disc 2 in a couple of hours, let's see.....
     
  14. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    What makes the Go less compatible with this game?
     
  15. FlameTakuya
    OP

    Member FlameTakuya GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    845
    Location:
    Republic of Borginia
    Country:
    Singapore
    many many popsloader versions don't work with it, that's one of the points. not sure about others....
     
  16. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The Go is less compatible with PSX games in general, not just Chrono Cross, because it has limited support with popsloader - not all different pops versions will run on a Go.
     
  17. kristianity77

    Member kristianity77 GBATemp old fogey

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,380
    Location:
    Bewdley, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i can confirm the PSN release of this is flawless from start to finish without any crashes as I've just completed it. This is running 6.60 PRO C, didnt need to mess with POPS at all
     
  18. The Composer

    Member The Composer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Location:
    Chile
    Country:
    Chile
    Props on solving the issue.

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  19. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's because you can't use popsloader on PSN games...
     
  20. realveemon

    Member realveemon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    United States
    Not completely true. Over a year ago I asked if PSN Grandia (Officially owned, like all my other games) would work on 6.20PRO, someone posted that where some is fine, others are not. After decrypting the keys for the game and trying it on 6.20PRO and 6.60PRO, i found no difference (maybe a sound sync problem, not noticible). When i tried the game mentioned by the poster, rayman 2, It stuttered like crazy on 6.20 but had zero problems on 6.60.

    It is to my belief. If you want CFW, play psx and have/own a PSN/SEN version of the game then you shouldn't have any problems with gameplay. You will have to sacrifice your perma patch but you won't have to play around with any POPSLoader on a PSP GO.
     
  21. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Rayman 2 is a particularly bad example - it lagged because the original version that was on the PSN caused slowdowns. (see here).
     

Share This Page