Chip?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by Barbie, May 14, 2010.

May 14, 2010

Chip? by Barbie at 1:44 AM (1,061 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. Barbie
    OP

    Newcomer Barbie Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    Country:
    Venezuela
    Can anyone give me any feedback on this chip? Does anyone else's chip look like this?
    I opened the R4 I had received to compare it to everyone else's. Any thoughts are welcomed.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    It's definitely not an original R4, or one of those clones that's identical to it. It's an R4 SDHC, judging by the writing on the bottom.
     
  3. Pliskron

    Banned Pliskron Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,276
    Country:
    United States
    It should play 4000 games. I wouldn't think too much about it.
     
  4. Barbie
    OP

    Newcomer Barbie Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    Country:
    Venezuela
    My only concern is... I tried everything possible to try and get it to work...
    I don't know what I could be missing or if it just simply doesn't work...
    Some people have said it's a fake... But when I turn on the DS it shows
    "Star Wars Lethal Alliance" as the game inserted... I thought I had all the correct files
    on the Micro SD but now I'm questioning myself... I have read through so many threads
    on this site but I can't seem to figure anything out...

    I even tried the WooD R4 from this site, and nothing happened...
    but I could have done something wrong... I have been trying all day...
    If the chip looks fine, then it should work, shouldn't it? =/
    Do any of you have some advice for me? I'm new to all this and I thought
    I just drag and drop the said files onto the SD and it would work...
    But it doesn't...
     
  5. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Did you get a box with it or have you still got the case? It'd be easier to help you if you had both or at least one.
     
  6. Barbie
    OP

    Newcomer Barbie Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    Country:
    Venezuela
    Yes I do. I had posted about it in another thread and they told me it was a fake but I didn't want to stop trying...

    [​IMG]
    The box and front of the chip. This is their site: http://www.r4sdhc.com/index.asp

    After putting the Kernel's on, just to try. This is what I got on my screen. Someone said I was missing files or something...
    But then I was told it was a fake because I get a black screen... -__-
    [​IMG]

    Then I decided to take the thing apart to take a picture of the chip, and that's why I posted that.
    Just for more information. I already purchased another from ShopTemp just to be safe...
    But I would still like to know about this one...

    Back to the original question though... If the chip looks fine, then it should work?
    Perhaps it's I who could be doing something wrong? Although... I could have sworn I did everything.
     
  7. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The chip looking ok is no guarantee that it actually is. Have you downloaded and installed the kernal/firmware from the website?
     
  8. Barbie
    OP

    Newcomer Barbie Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    Country:
    Venezuela
    Yes I have. I have done it twice to make sure I had done nothing wrong...
    But when I run it I get nothing... And so then I try to run the said "Star Wars" game..
    And that is when I get a black screen on bottom and white screen on top...
    The only file missing from the download was "_DS_MSHL.NDS" and I searched the web
    to find one, and then I tried it... and it didn't work either. I had, the six files in the SD
    and nothing happened... -__- I would assume since the Star Wars thing shows up that it
    is legit? Or perhaps it's just to throw people like me off...?
     
  9. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    The only R4 that is legit is the original; anything that has a box not colored black or mentions SDHC is a fake.
     
  10. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can you take a screenshot of the files on the root of your microsd card for me?
     
  11. Barbie
    OP

    Newcomer Barbie Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    Country:
    Venezuela
    Yes I can.
    These are the files inside the Micro SD card which I use in the R4.
    [​IMG]








    [[[ I have gotten the answers I need. Thank you to all who replied. ]]]
     

Share This Page