1. jeffy97

    OP jeffy97 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Myanmar (Burma)
    Someone on the other threat said you can change the region of tencent switch by modding. Is it safe to to perform ?
     
    Last edited by jeffy97, Jul 20, 2020
  2. ZachyCatGames

    ZachyCatGames GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    3,086
    Country:
    United States
    It is possible, yeah.
    If you make/have a backup the original prodinfo, yeah, it'd be fairly safe.
     
  3. jeffy97

    OP jeffy97 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Myanmar (Burma)
    is it bricksafe or.. if it bricks, i can just restore the original prodinfo?
     
  4. satanicangel

    satanicangel GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    158
    Country:
    Malaysia
    You know there is another thread for this. and you have asked the exact same question there, so why are you creating a whole new thread for the same question again??

    If you are scared, do not do it and get a Switch that is not from Tencent. Otherwise, do some homework and understand what you are doing - you will probably be more confident in case you are a little more hardworking and learn what to do in case things go wrong.
     
  5. jeffy97

    OP jeffy97 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Myanmar (Burma)
    I’m sorry. I’m new to all this. I asked there too but i thought it wouldn’t be seen but a lot of people since it was inactive, so i made a new one.
     
  6. ZachyCatGames

    ZachyCatGames GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    3,086
    Country:
    United States
    If you brick by fucking up prodinfo, you can just restore the original prodinfo, yeah.
     
  7. linuxares

    linuxares I'm not a generous god!
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    8,363
    Country:
    Sweden
    I always recommend to keep a NAND copy and a Prodinfo copy 7ziped and backed up to a cloud device.
    the Nand copy gets actually really small using the LZMA2 method och compression.
     
  8. pioneerpeter

    pioneerpeter Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Is there anyone to provide switch prodinfo file editing with either video clip or screenshots as I am not familiar with hex editor ? Thanks !
     
  9. Carltrek

    Carltrek Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2019
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    China
    That doesn't work at least on emunand. Because you cannot factory reset the emunand. If you use the factory reset function in ChoidujourNX, you will be thrown back to first time setup, but somehow, the prodinfo will be reset.

    It's too risky to do this on sysnand. Even it's possible on sysnand, I don't recommend you doing this.

    Edit: No, it works. It's just Incognito refuse to modify the region part in the prodinfo. Use NxNandManager and it would get the job done.
     
    Last edited by Carltrek, Dec 1, 2020
  10. SuperHans111

    SuperHans111 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2019
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    Australia
    >buying a tencent switch to begin with
    Lel
     
  11. jeffy97

    OP jeffy97 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Myanmar (Burma)
  12. goconnect

    goconnect Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2020
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    Prodinfo copy, how?
    What to know how to backup, but I need to search the old topic 1st.

    Thanks
     
  13. jrequejo

    jrequejo Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    Can't i just backup my sysnand, modify it, and if case of brixing restore the sysnand? Why is it so dangerous?
     
  14. Carltrek

    Carltrek Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2019
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    China
    You can, it's just time consuming.
    If Prodinfo got damaged, basically you got a brick.
     
  15. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    13,961
    Country:
    United States
  16. Carltrek

    Carltrek Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2019
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    China
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Changing, Tencent, region