1. jeffy97

    OP jeffy97 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Myanmar (Burma)
    Someone on the other threat said you can change the region of tencent switch by modding. Is it safe to to perform ?
     
    Last edited by jeffy97, Jul 20, 2020
  2. ZachyCatGames

    ZachyCatGames GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    2,992
    Country:
    United States
    It is possible, yeah.
    If you make/have a backup the original prodinfo, yeah, it'd be fairly safe.
     
  3. jeffy97

    OP jeffy97 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Myanmar (Burma)
    is it bricksafe or.. if it bricks, i can just restore the original prodinfo?
     
  4. satanicangel

    satanicangel GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    Malaysia
    You know there is another thread for this. and you have asked the exact same question there, so why are you creating a whole new thread for the same question again??

    If you are scared, do not do it and get a Switch that is not from Tencent. Otherwise, do some homework and understand what you are doing - you will probably be more confident in case you are a little more hardworking and learn what to do in case things go wrong.
     
  5. jeffy97

    OP jeffy97 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Myanmar (Burma)
    I’m sorry. I’m new to all this. I asked there too but i thought it wouldn’t be seen but a lot of people since it was inactive, so i made a new one.
     
  6. ZachyCatGames

    ZachyCatGames GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    2,992
    Country:
    United States
    If you brick by fucking up prodinfo, you can just restore the original prodinfo, yeah.
     
  7. linuxares

    linuxares I'm not a generous god!
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    8,048
    Country:
    Sweden
    I always recommend to keep a NAND copy and a Prodinfo copy 7ziped and backed up to a cloud device.
    the Nand copy gets actually really small using the LZMA2 method och compression.
     
  8. pioneerpeter

    pioneerpeter Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Is there anyone to provide switch prodinfo file editing with either video clip or screenshots as I am not familiar with hex editor ? Thanks !
     
  9. Carltrek

    Carltrek Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2019
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    China
    That doesn't work at least on emunand. Because you cannot factory reset the emunand. If you use the factory reset function in ChoidujourNX, you will be thrown back to first time setup, but somehow, the prodinfo will be reset.

    It's too risky to do this on sysnand. Even it's possible on sysnand, I don't recommend you doing this.
     
    Last edited by Carltrek, Jul 18, 2020
  10. SuperHans111

    SuperHans111 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2019
    Messages:
    205
    Country:
    Australia
    >buying a tencent switch to begin with
    Lel
     
  11. jeffy97

    OP jeffy97 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Myanmar (Burma)
  12. goconnect

    goconnect Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2020
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    Prodinfo copy, how?
    What to know how to backup, but I need to search the old topic 1st.

    Thanks
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Changing, Tencent, region