Change Wii color system

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Fisher Vargas de Moraes, Dec 26, 2012.

Dec 26, 2012
  1. Fisher Vargas de Moraes
    OP

    Newcomer Fisher Vargas de Moraes Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Brazil
    Hi, is there a way I can change the wii color system?
    Here in Brazil the color system is pal-m, my wii is ntsc.
    In fact I have learned that I only need to change the color subcarrier frequency.
    Can it be done by software?
     
  2. mike333

    Member mike333 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    706
    Country:
    Poland
    push video thorough component or rgb (scart) where color system is not an issue
     
  3. Fisher Vargas de Moraes
    OP

    Newcomer Fisher Vargas de Moraes Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Brazil
    I really would like to do this.
    But I have no support on my pretty old tv :(
     
  4. mike333

    Member mike333 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    706
    Country:
    Poland
    afaik Wii was released in usa (ntsc), japan (ntsc), south korea (ntsc) , europe (pal), australia (pal)
    there was no pal-m version

    your old tv supports pal-m, but no ntsc which is very similar
    I highly doubt that it will support pal (regular one) - just check in manual of tv
    what is Your tv model btw?

    if so, softmodding from ntsc to pal might be an option but this is very dangerous and should be avoided without bootmii@boot2

    do You have VCR which can handle ntsc on video-in line? connect it to wii and use RF output to tv - worst image quality but you will get colours

    here is hardware converter:
    http://www.tenlab.com/tr7/tr7.html
     
  5. Fisher Vargas de Moraes
    OP

    Newcomer Fisher Vargas de Moraes Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Brazil
    Gotta try the vcr trick.
    I'll check my tv model, it's a Semp Toshiba bought around 94.
    The best solution should buy a new tv, but right now I can't.
    The converter seems pretty nice, where can I buy it?
    I have seem a pretty cheap one for Playstation2, maybe it can be converted to use on wii.
     
  6. Alexrose

    Member Alexrose Untitled

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    783
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's really not that dangerous to change region, you just use AnyRegionChanger.

    But besides that, if you load your games through a loader (whether that be a hdd loader, a disc backup loader or gecko os) you can force video region in the options. You don't have to change the region of your wii.
     
  7. Fisher Vargas de Moraes
    OP

    Newcomer Fisher Vargas de Moraes Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Brazil
    That's the point!
    I have tried to force all availbe video modes on usbloader gx, no one gives me color.
    I need to set the video mode to ntsc, but with a color subcarrier with a different frequency.
    I remember that this was done in sega genesis by putting a crystal with the subcarrier frequency on the analog video encoder chip.
    Maybe this can be done in software on wii.

    I took a look on the ps2 transcoder.
    It gets RGB + luminace, plus the power from the console, then encodes it with an analog encoder chip.
    I think I cannot use it on wii, since I have read that to get RGB from a ntsc wii is a pain!
     
  8. mike333

    Member mike333 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    706
    Country:
    Poland
    I have no idea, try video/audio related forums.
    In most cases video chip can work in two states, pal or ntsc nothing in between.
    http://techon.nikkeibp.co.jp/english/NEWS_EN/20061120/124053/mb3-1.jpg
    I don't see any oscillator. Do You?
    According to http://www.neogaf.com/forum/showthread.php?t=383360 and http://wiibrew.org/wiki/Video_output there are hardware differences so soldering might be required to get rgb output.
     
  9. mike333

    Member mike333 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    706
    Country:
    Poland
    http://produto.mercadolivre.com.br/...nik-cc3-_JM?redirectedFromParent=MLB441584458

    Is google blocked in Brazil?

    edit: another one
    http://produto.mercadolivre.com.br/...-para-pal-m-c-modulador-rf-novo-e-lacrado-_JM

    edit2:
    http://produto.mercadolivre.com.br/...para-tv-_JM?redirectedFromParent=MLB442136257

    edit3:
    If Your TV have s-video input then search for converter with such connectors.
    S-video gives much better image quality and converter will be simpler - it won't touch luma line, only chroma one.
     
  10. Fisher Vargas de Moraes
    OP

    Newcomer Fisher Vargas de Moraes Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Brazil
    I see a thing that looks like a xtal near the MX chip, on the left. It seems to be labelled as X2. Maybe we have something to start with...
    All the itens you indicated me are sold out :-(
    The only transcoders I could find up to now in Mercado Livre were the ps2 ones.
    Maybe mod the tv would be easier...

    Edit: Found 3 transcoders, a bit expensive.
    Right now, I'm pretty low on money...
    Soldering the wii is not a problem, I only need to get the right screwdrivers...
     
  11. Fisher Vargas de Moraes
    OP

    Newcomer Fisher Vargas de Moraes Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Brazil
  12. mike333

    Member mike333 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    706
    Country:
    Poland
    X2 "32.768" "KDS0631" (32768Hz, RTC oscilator)
    more info:
    http://kyorune.com/modding/article.php?id=76
    what is value of X1?

    try to search PDF of:
    U6: "AVE-RVL" "BU9055EKV" "629 145" (Audio/Video encoder/DAC tqfp-64 10x10mm)
    good idea

    there are over 10k results for "ntsc para pal-m" - happy digging

    edit:
    http://ftp.qrz.ru/pub/1unsorted/CD8/ba7049.pdf
    there must be something which eats ntsc and throws out pal-m

    edit2:
    some overkills:
    http://www.datasheetcatalog.org/datasheet/toshiba/2924.pdf
    http://www.nteinc.com/specs/7100to7199/pdf/nte7150.pdf
    http://pdf.dzsc.com/88889/5217.pdf

    edit3:
    more stuff:
    http://produto.mercadolivre.com.br/...pro-conversor-pal-m-ntsc-digital-pinnacle-_JM
    so all this is not an option?
    http://lista.mercadolivre.com.br/ntsc-para-pal├śm

    edit4:
    http://www.madridcenter.com/produto/transcoder-bak-bk-25tr-ntsc-p-pal-m

    edit5:
    there are much more of it:
    google for: "BK-25TR" site:.br
     
  13. Fisher Vargas de Moraes
    OP

    Newcomer Fisher Vargas de Moraes Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Brazil
    Thanks!!
    Lots of info, I'll take a look and see if I can think of something.
    If I get something promising, I'll post here so, if someday anyone with my same problem comes here...
    Many thanks for now!! :-)
     

Share This Page