CFG Loader + Samurai Warriors 3 (US version)

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by Coronach, Sep 25, 2012.

Sep 25, 2012
  1. Coronach
    OP

    Newcomer Coronach Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    So...had a longer post. Clicked to post it, and I get a page error from a timeout or some crap. So I'm not retyping it all.


    1) Got Samurai Warriors 3 disc.
    2) Attempt to use Install to copy it to a 500gb USB drive. (Note: Used install for 20 other games, some of them dual layer that created wbf1 files, never any problems with those.)
    3) At 40-50%, error occurs.
    4) Attempt to play SW3 from the disc via the Wii System Menu, it comes up on the screen to select a save file (the first screen), then locks up before it can play the video intro that comes after that.

    I should be able to make another attempt by Friday or Saturday. I will have an unmodified Wii to see whether it's a disc error or a Wii error.

    I'm posting here for some advice from people who know more about this than I do, about whether SW3 might need special settings in CFG Loader in order to be copied.

    (Note: Forget the "List of Problematic Games" compatibility link. That seems to be what everyone falls back on, and to be honest it is badly out of date. The MHT fix on there isn't even required for MHT anymore, and the SW3 stuff is for the PAL version.)
     
  2. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,911
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    It's likely a problem with the disc or a problem with missing or outdated IOS files on your Wii. Run a sysCheck and paste the results here. If you have missing or outdated IOS files, I recommend you use ModMii to install/update your IOS and cIOS files. You might also try using the latest version of Configurable USB Loader Mod. If it's a retail disc and you're not blocking updates with something like Priiloader, then it's likely a problem with the disc since it would just install the needed IOS files if you didn't have them.
     
  3. Coronach
    OP

    Newcomer Coronach Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, just did the System Check.

    Code:
    sysCheck v2.1.0b14 by Double_A and R2-D2199
    ...runs on IOS58 (rev 6176).
    
    Region: NTSC-U
    System Menu 4.3U (v513)
    Priilaoder installed
    The drive supports DVDs
    Homebrew Channel 1.0.8 running on IOS58
    Hollywood v0x11
    Console ID: 40108607
    Boot2 v4
    Found 198 titles.
    Found 51 IOS on this console. 12 of them are stub.
    
    IOS4 (rev 65280): Stub
    IOS9 (rev 1034): No Patches
    IOS10 (rev 768): Stub
    IOS11 (rev 256): Stub
    IOS12 (rev 526): No Patches
    IOS13 (rev 1032): No Patches
    IOS14 (rev 1032): No Patches
    IOS15 (rev 1032): No Patches
    IOS16 (rev 512): Stub
    IOS17 (rev 1032): No Patches
    IOS20 (rev 256): Stub
    IOS21 (rev 1039): No Patches
    IOS22 (rev 1294): No Patches
    IOS28 (rev 1807): No Patches
    IOS30 (rev 2816): Stub
    IOS31 (rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS33 (rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS34 (rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS35 (rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS36 (rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS37 (rev 5663): No Patches
    IOS38 (rev 4124): No Patches
    IOS40 (rev 3072): Stub
    IOS41 (rev 3607): No Patches
    IOS43 (rev 3607): No Patches
    IOS45 (rev 3607): No Patches
    IOS46 (rev 3607): No Patches
    IOS48 (rev 4124): No Patches
    IOS50 (rev 5120): Stub
    IOS51 (rev 4864): Stub
    IOS52 (rev 5888): Stub
    IOS53 (rev 5663): No Patches
    IOS55 (rev 5663): No Patches
    IOS56 (rev 5662): No Patches
    IOS57 (rev 5919): No Patches
    IOS58 (rev 6176): USB 2.0
    IOS60 (rev 6400): Stub
    IOS61 (rev 5662): No Patches
    IOS70 (rev 6912): Stub
    IOS80 (rev 6944): No Patches
    IOS202[60] (rev 65535, Info: hermes-v5.0): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS222[38] (rev 4, Info: hermes-v4): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS223[75] (rev 4, Info: hermes-v4): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS224[37] (rev 65535, Info: hermes-v5): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS236[36] (rev 65535, Info: rev 3351): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access
    IOS246[58] (rev 21008, Info: d2x-v8final): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS247[37] (rev 21, Info: d2x-v8final): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS248[58] (rev 21, Info: d2x-v8final): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS249[56] (rev 21, Info: d2x-v8final): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS250[57] (rev 21, Info: d2x-v8final): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS254 (rev 65281): BootMii
    BC v6
    MIOS v10
    
    Report generated on 2012/09/25.
    And I checked in PriiLoader's System Menu Hacks. It said the Disc Update block was Enabled. If the IOS setup is fine, I'll see what happens by disabling that when I attempt to copy again.
     
  4. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,911
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    Based on your sysCheck, I don't expect disabling the Block Disc Updates hack to solve your issue. The problem is most likely the disc itself.
     
  5. Coronach
    OP

    Newcomer Coronach Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    So I tried again with mixed results. And some help on the issue would be appreciated.

    1) Installing with CFG
    I got the disc, which is very much pristinely free of scratches. Put it in and start the Install process.
    At about 45% or so, again I get the error messages:

    WARNING: read (##########) error (-2)

    There were 15 of those, and these were the numbers to replace ###

    1094967296
    1095065600
    1095294976
    1095385098
    1095393280
    1095581696
    1095647232
    1095745536
    1095942144
    1096007680
    1096040448
    1096073216
    1096138752
    1096204288
    1096523776

    After that, at about 52% it splits off into creating a .wbf1 file. However no more errors come up and it finishes. After this I attempt to play it with CFG and I have a success here.

    I tested various modes. Story Mode and Murasame Castle work fine, unlike in my previous copy. Free Mode still works, so do many of the other features. I haven't tested Wi-Fi, but I don't use that, so I'm really hoping the errors took place in that area of the game's programming.

    After this, I decided to test it playing from the Disc menu. Here comes the snag.

    2) The Disc Menu
    I had Disc Update allowed in Priiloader, to see if any IOS things would be necessary.
    Upon reaching the System Menu, Disc Menu is stranger than usual, and this message was relayed to me.

    In order to use this software, you must perform a Wii system update. Select OK to begin the update.

    And there is where my Wii is currently sitting. Because I am unsure whether it means it is going to install an IOS from the SW3 disc, because the one present isn't fully up to date or compatible.

    Or if it means it's going to try to install some other update, which I am unsure exactly why it would be doing this. My Wii is System Menu 4.3U (v513), and SW3 is an older game, so it should be accepting of that. Unless it's mistakenly trying to roll that back to an older version?

    I am hesitant to click OK, until I know for sure. I have a NAND backup, so my friend tells me if it bricks the Wii I can always restore the NAND and it'll be fine.

    Any help here would be appreciated.
     
  6. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,911
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    It's more likely that your disc update wants to stub your cIOS files. Based on your sysCheck, you have everything you need to play the game through the Disc Channel with Priiloader update-blocking hacks enabled. Assuming this is a retail disc and the correct region, I have no idea why it's locking up before the video intro. The only thing I can think of is that there's a problem with the disc or disc drive. The best way to troubleshoot this would be to try another retail disc.
     
  7. Coronach
    OP

    Newcomer Coronach Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Well, the disc is different from the original one.

    Using the block disc update, I can load SW3, and the video works this time.
    And it works okay with the piece I copied.

    I'm only concerned now that those error lines might be somewhere critical in the game.
     
  8. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,911
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    Have you tried making the backup multiple times? Do you consistently receive those errors? This sounds like a problem with the disc being read and could be due to numerous things, such as scratches or it being a backup disc that contains errors. If I were you, I would just re-download a clean backup from the internet and transfer it over to my USB hard drive that way.
     
  9. Coronach
    OP

    Newcomer Coronach Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Working on the second attempt now. It takes about 40 minutes each time to rip the retail disc.

    This time I'm using 1:1 in CFG loader, instead of "only game".

    There were no errors on the WBFS file, where with only game, that is where I got the errors. There are only 11 errors, with some numbers the same as those I listed earlier, but some different ones now.

    I can't download a clean copy. I've only seen one torrent with a supposedly clean one, but I'm using dialup and my dl speed is 2kbps. Which fluctuates with torrents, and it'd take me forever.

    I'm going to test this one and see what happens when I try to play. I'm almost tempted to take the WBFS from this install and put it with the WBF1 from the first install, since neither had any error reports on them.

    Is there any way I can clean the dvd to make sure there isn't anything on it? Anything I can use? Usually I don't mess with them to avoid scratching.

    (Update: The install finished, but when I went to play I got an error that said something about HD nun sector and claimed SW3 was 0.00gb in size. But when I checked the HDD it says that the wbfs is 3.99gb and the wbf1 is 3.92, but it would not play. So I'm erasing this install and changing it to "all" in the options, to see if this will work. I'll post again once I get that done.)
     
  10. Coronach
    OP

    Newcomer Coronach Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, third attempt with the "All Game" setting was a disaster. There were at least 19 errors with that one, so I aborted that one.

    Fourth attempt is running now, back on "only game", so far there are 14 errors, some similar numbers as the list I gave, but there are differences.

    As far as I can tell, every time I try, there are different error numbers present. So maybe it's something like a dirty lens or the disc. But the thing is, I've done about 20 installs with CFG in the past 2 months, and they all worked perfectly fine with no errors. And some of those discs had more scratches than this one does by a long shot.

    I think it has something to do with it being a dual-layer game. At this point I'm resigned to not being able to have a functional copy of SW3. With my stupid dialup, I can't download it from a torrent, that claims to be working 100%. And I can't affort to buy a copy. I suppose I need to make a friend with a high speed connection and a dvd burner.
     

Share This Page