Cant seem to install Pro B4 6.20?

Discussion in 'PSP - Hacking & Homebrew' started by kiafazool, Apr 11, 2011.

Apr 11, 2011
  1. kiafazool
    OP

    Member kiafazool GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,221
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    hey guys
    so i updated to 6.20 from 5.00 m33-6
    and then ran the prob4 update and then the permanent patch and it was working
    so then i shut my psp down the whole way to check if it was working or not
    so i turned it on and i went back to 6.20 ofw
    and now when ever i run the prob4 update/fastrecovery it gives me a black screen for about 10 seconds and shuts down on its own
    then i use my pandora battery to go back to 5.00 ofw
    then updated to 6.20 and tried prob4update/fastrecovery and still gives me a black screen and shuts down

    whats wrong?
     
  2. kupo3000

    Member kupo3000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    What model is your PSP and system info after installing 6.20 Pro B4?
     
  3. kiafazool
    OP

    Member kiafazool GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,221
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    how could i forget that

    i have slim 2000 daxter model
    and it says version 6.20 in the system information

    the problem is that i cant install pro b4
    everytime it gives me a black screen and shuts down
    this is after i installing the permanent patch and shut it down completely to check the 'permanence' of the patch
     
  4. kupo3000

    Member kupo3000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    Before installing the permanent patch, can your PSP be temporary on 6.20 Pro B4?
    If possible what is your MAC Address changed to?
    My says [Model: 01g]
    The permanent patch only works on Models 01g to 05g.
     
  5. kiafazool
    OP

    Member kiafazool GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,221
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    i did have temporary 6.20 pro b4 before install perma patch
    but now i cant get either one to run
    so i have 6.20 ofw and i run the prob4 installer it gives me a black screen and shuts down

    mac address didn't change because i cant install prob4
    i have a 02g model

    what do i do?
     
  6. kupo3000

    Member kupo3000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    Well you could try upgrading to 6.35 OFW then downgrade again to 6.20 OFW and try the 6.20 PRO B4 patch again.
    No Pandora is necessary
     
  7. realveemon

    Member realveemon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    United States
    IDEA- Apply the 6.20 PRO B4 patch... Let it load in... Then apply the Perma patch that comes with it.... Once you've clicked on the icon whilst in the PRO B4, Press X then O.... All Done

    If you press X both times then its only temp. The fact it "worked" may be you pressing X twice. Seeing you came from M33, you can always keep a pandora on the ready (although you won't need it)

    I've updated my PSPgo to the perma version.. No probs except from ISO tool crashing each time on exit..

    Hope it goes well
     
  8. kiafazool
    OP

    Member kiafazool GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,221
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    the bolded part is where the problem is

    i cant do the prob4 patch
    it gives a black screen and shuts down
     
  9. kupo3000

    Member kupo3000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    Make sure all plugins (if you have that is) are disabled in the recovery menu.
     
  10. kiafazool
    OP

    Member kiafazool GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,221
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    didn't work

    why is acting like that?
    i cant seem to think of a logical reason for it

    i just put 5.00 m33 back on and updated to 6.20 and started the prob4 update and gave me a black screen and it shut down automatically




    let me go try that
     
  11. kupo3000

    Member kupo3000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    Backup your produo card, format it and set your psp to default settings. Maybe it will work after doing that.
     
  12. kiafazool
    OP

    Member kiafazool GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,221
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    thank you so much
    i got it to work after i disabled all plugins

    i could never figure out how this thing works
    psp works by doing the weirdest things [​IMG]


    EDIT:
    how do you know that the permanent test patch is running?
    i installed permanent patch by doing X then O and its giving me a black screen when turning it on meaning its bricked so im going to go press X + O + Start + Select to do an uninstall

    so how do you make the perma patch work?
    i have a 02G model psp
     
  13. kupo3000

    Member kupo3000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    It's great it finally worked for you [​IMG]
    Certain Plug-ins tend to affect recent CFW installation.

    Edit:
    No, It's X then X for the permanent patch.
    The X then O is to test it. If it doesn't crash then permanent is possible.
     
  14. kiafazool
    OP

    Member kiafazool GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,221
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    let me try that

    and is there a game_categories that works with 6.20 pro b4


    EDIT
    X and X doesn't work. i think that is the test run
    X and O gives me black screen when turning it on meaning bricked



    GOT IT
    its working and permanent patch is working too [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    now all i need is game_categories for 6.20 pro b4
     
  15. kupo3000

    Member kupo3000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    Yea I think I confused the X and O. Kinda ironic since I did this earlier today [​IMG]
    As in a GAME folder for PSN & PS1 eboots?
     
  16. kiafazool
    OP

    Member kiafazool GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,221
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    nvm

    got it to work
    turns out you have to restart/reset the vsh for it to show up
    like i said i never understood psp and its hacks
     
  17. kupo3000

    Member kupo3000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    In my case I didn't have to reset the vsh, anyway it's good that it worked out. [​IMG]
     
  18. kiafazool
    OP

    Member kiafazool GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,221
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    how to you use game_categories to put iso's in a folder like you do with homebrew in the GAME folder?

    nvm
    got it to work
     
  19. kupo3000

    Member kupo3000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    Make an ISO folder in root of the produo card and put whatever game iso or cso in there.
    Is that it or I'm thinking something else?

    Edit: Ok then.
     

Share This Page