Can't run custom game

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Montblanc, Feb 19, 2011.

Feb 19, 2011

Can't run custom game by Montblanc at 2:46 PM (1,680 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. Montblanc
    OP

    Newcomer Montblanc Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Italy
    Hello everyone, it's my first post so I hope I'm not doing anything wrong.

    I have a PAL Wii on 4.3b firmware and a Wode updated to the latest firmware. Wode users pointed me here, because it seems it's out of Wode competence.

    I was trying to run Mario Kart Black (NTSC), which is a custom game requiring IOS36, in .wbfs format on my EXT3 hard drive through wodeflow (a wiiflow mod). I didn't have any cIOS before, but in order to play it I installed IOS36, IOS236, Waninkoko cIOSes by Hackwii rev21d2x v2, and Hermes cIOSes v5.1. When I start it from wodeflow, no matter which settings I use, it stucks on "Please wait" and then restarts to the system menu.

    If I use Priiloader to enable region free games, Mario Kart Black shows on the disc channel, and if I start it from there I see the health screen but it freezes and I can't do anything but power off the Wii.

    What am I doing wrong? Please, if you need more info just tell me!
     
  2. ClockWorK

    Member ClockWorK GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Country:
    United States
    Try forcing the language to English in your loader. (i don't know a thing about WODEs, but from my experience with customs, choosing Force English seems to help PAL users.)
     
  3. Montblanc
    OP

    Newcomer Montblanc Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Italy
    Thank you very much ClockWorK, but I've already tried it to no avail. [​IMG] Even patching country strings, 002 fixes, video mode and everything else is not helping.
     
  4. Hells Guardian

    Member Hells Guardian GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,113
    Country:
    United States
    sounds to me like a problem with the cIOS. make sure the IOS in slot 36 is patched with the trucha bug since this is a fakesigned title I would assume it relies on that bug to work... it's doable through NUSD. it will let you restore the trucha bug to IOS and pack it into a wad to install.
     
  5. Montblanc
    OP

    Newcomer Montblanc Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Italy
    Thanks Hells Guardian, but I already installed and patched IOS36 via MMM. And I also tried reinstalling and repatching it via Dop-Mii v15 but nothing has changed. A system check confirms that IOS36 is patched.
     
  6. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    your system menu IOS refuses to read the disc since it is fakesigned. also, whatever IOS wodeflow is using is refusing to load it for the same reason.
     
  7. Montblanc
    OP

    Newcomer Montblanc Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Italy
    Thanks to you too, giantpune! My system menu IOS80 is fakesigned as well. Is there something I can do?
     
  8. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    look up which IOS wodeflow is using and patch it to ignore signature.
     
  9. Montblanc
    OP

    Newcomer Montblanc Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Italy
    Thanks! Would pimpmywii help?
     
  10. Playgame38

    Newcomer Playgame38 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    United States
  11. Montblanc
    OP

    Newcomer Montblanc Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Italy
    Thanks Playgame38, but I prefer using a complete mod than applying patches.

    EDIT: So, Wodeflow is using IOS58 with AHBPROT, but I have a problem when running the game from the disc channel as well. Also, having IOS36 already patched makes me think pimpmywii could be useless. Please, if you're running the game fine, can you tell me which cioses rev are you using?
     
  12. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    wodeflow is using IOS58.
    + IOS58 doesnt allow fakesigned discs
    = the game doesnt work.

    if you patch IOS58 to allow it to read this disc, it will cause HBC to bitch at you. your best bet is to just load the game in WODE and play it with geckoOS.
     
  13. Montblanc
    OP

    Newcomer Montblanc Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Italy
    Thanks giantpune, I will try with GeckoOS! Anyway, I found something interesting: I tried starting the game with CFG WodeLoader (Configurable USB Loader for Wode) and I got this:

    [​IMG]

    I'll tell you how it goes with gecko anyway.

    EDIT: With GeckoOS, it also freezes at the health screen...
     
  14. Montblanc
    OP

    Newcomer Montblanc Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Italy
    Sorry for double posting, but I checked the .wbfs with wit and it says this:

    Code:
    $ wit VERIFY CKBE88.wbfs
    *****ÂÂwit: Wiimms ISO Tool v1.27a r2289 i386 - Dirk Clemens - 2011-02-09ÂÂ*****
    >scanÂÂ .0ÂÂDATAÂÂÂÂCKBE88 CKBE88.wbfs
    >infoÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ TICKET is well signed. TMD is fake signed. Partition is encrypted.
    !H0-ERR .0ÂÂDATAÂÂÂÂCKBE88 CKBE88.wbfs
    EDIT: That one was a bad archive, I got the good one from Roobix's official post. Now it works on the disc channel and gecko os, but it will still reboot to system menu if run from wodeflow even forcing english and NTSC, but this time i'll ask the wode guys!

    Thank you very much for your support! [​IMG]
     

Share This Page