Can't run channels from SD card

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by JordenNixNix, Jun 23, 2012.

Jun 23, 2012
  1. JordenNixNix
    OP

    Member JordenNixNix GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    142
    Country:
    Belgium
    Dear GBAtemp,

    I have a very annoying problem on my softmodded Wii!

    When I install a channel with Wad manager 1.4 and the channel is installed (IOS 236 because 249 won't work),

    I want to copy (with Wii management) the installed channel to an SD card (because my wii is running out of blocks)
    And delete the channel from the Wii.

    When I going to the channel on the SD card menu and try to open the installed channel, I get a massage "there is an error occurred" or in dutch "er is een fout opgetreden"

    I can play the installed wad games on the Wii itself but I can't launch them from my SD card. I want to play the .wad channels from an SD card en delete it from the Wii to save blocks.

    Only the following channels can I launch from the SD card:

    -pokémon rumble.wad
    -Paper Mario.wad
    -Hydroventure.wad
    Castlevania the adventure rebirth.wad

    -and all official Wii shopping channel titels



    How can I fix this?




    Here is some information from my Wii:

    - firmare Wii 4.3E (The most newest)
    - It's a PAL Wii
    - SD card 4GB is formatted as FAT 32
    - I use Wad manager 1.4 to install my wad channels (IOS236)
    - I installed Bootmii as boot 2
    - I installed bootmii and the hombrew channel with Letterbomb
    - I have the most recent hombrew channel
    - I download my wad channels from these site *snip*

    Please help. My Wii will running out of free memory.
     
  2. mightymuffy

    Member mightymuffy fatbaldpieeater

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,206
    Location:
    Wigan, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ios80 needs to be patched in order for your wads to work when transferred, use ModMii for this and you're sorted! (You may or may not need to redo the whole install to Wii/transfer to sd after this, try what doesn't work first before resorting to that though ;) )
     
  3. TwinRetro

    Global Moderator TwinRetro Don't start nothin', Won't be nothin'

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,181
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Country:
    United States
    It's kind of a grey area legally, but linking to any type of WAD file is against the rules, here. Just setting a little reminder.
     
  4. JordenNixNix
    OP

    Member JordenNixNix GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    142
    Country:
    Belgium
    Can I install IOS 80 like IOS 236 via homebrew channel. (homebrew app)

    I don't have the opportunity to use PC software because I can't instal programs withoud the admin.
    Is there no homebrew app that can do the patch?





    And is it 100% save because the system menu use also this IOS 80?
     
  5. AbdallahTerro

    Member AbdallahTerro da KiNG

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    5,974
    Location:
    Ideas factory :)
    Country:
    Lebanon
    Just use sneek2o and run all the games using neek2o channel if you don't want to patch your IOS.
    Use modmii to setup.
     
  6. JordenNixNix
    OP

    Member JordenNixNix GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    142
    Country:
    Belgium
    Thank you mightymuffy,

    your advice did very well!

    I have patched IOS 80 but on a different way. I have used the homebrew app "Simple IOS Patcher"


    Thanks!
     
  7. kirbymaster101

    Member kirbymaster101 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,048
    Country:
    Canada
    Just use emulated channels, it doesnt copy the wii and vc games to the wii memory everysingle time you run it unlike what the wii does.
     
  8. astifoman11

    Newcomer astifoman11 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Australia
    Hey, just wondering. What did you exactly do to patch ios80? Do you have to download something before patching ios80? Or once your wii is softmodded do you straight away just get simpleiospatcher and patch ios 80 without doing anything before it? Please help OP.
     

Share This Page