Cant Play new games

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by jchiesa, Jun 17, 2009.

Jun 17, 2009

Cant Play new games by jchiesa at 7:26 PM (1,290 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. jchiesa
    OP

    Newcomer jchiesa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    I have a ModChip WiiKey V2 and my current FW 3.4U. I have been backing up my games using IMGBurn for a year now. Every of my games that I have backed up had worked fine until this week. I tried to back up MySims Racing, Ghostbusters and GPA Tour 2010. My wii has problems reading the disc. If I burn on of my old games they work fine (I burned another image to make sure my software and media were not the issue). My question is: Do I have to update my wii key v2 or do i have to install some other stuff in order to play these games? [​IMG] Thanks
     
  2. cozy

    Newcomer cozy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I had the same problem but my modchip is an aregon chip i had to update my wii to 4.0e ghostbusters works now
     
  3. supermodchips

    Member supermodchips GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Country:
    Australia
    Just update to 4.0 firmware. Considering that you are playing game using a modhip, there is no loss in functionality.
     
  4. jchiesa
    OP

    Newcomer jchiesa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Yes that fixed it. Thanks
     
  5. joinx

    Newcomer joinx Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Mauritius
    Is it really safe to update firmware when having modchip and usung gecko os to load games?

    I'm actually using 3.2u...and i was told not to update firmware....but rite now indiana jones and ghostbuster loads in green screen...
     
  6. Golfman560

    Member Golfman560 TheRapist.com

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Living with seals
    Country:
    Antarctica
    If you have a modchip and haven't softmodded your Wii then you can update like crazy. Theres no possible way for a modchip and a firmware update to brick you Wii (Yet)
     
  7. UnFallen

    Member UnFallen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Location:
    ^^LOLZLAND^^
    Country:
    United States
    Thats not what I heard but I could be wrong... [​IMG]
     
  8. Hooya

    Member Hooya GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,878
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    A modchip in no way interacts with the Wii System Software, it simply interrupts a part of the DVD drive itself forcing the drive to send disk data to the Wii. The Wii Software itself doesn't even know you're playing on a burned disk.
     
  9. supermodchips

    Member supermodchips GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Country:
    Australia
    Most people with modchips end up using the hombrew so that is probably why you have heard people advising against updating.
     

Share This Page