Hacking Can't make up my mind...

ShadowSoldier

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2009
Messages
9,382
Trophies
0
XP
3,878
Country
Canada
So this isn't exactly "what should I get" in the truest sense.. I just can't make up my mind. And I've only had experience with R4's [SDHC and all the clones] and my Acekard 2i.

I have my DSi XL that has the Acekard 2i in it. But I also have a DS lite that needs a flashcard. Should I get an R4 [Wood compatible off of Shoptemp], or should I save up and get a DSTT?

Like I said, haven't had any experience with these two cards. I know the original R4 has a limit of 2gb Micro SD's right? So I was thinking of instead of getting a 2gb with it on Shoptemp, I'll just go to my local store and find one there but one that has a good class number. Or I'll just take my 2gb MicroSD from my acekard that came from shoptemp [Kingston no class number], and stick that in the R4 if that makes it better, and I'll grab a good class number for my Acekard..

Any input would help.
 

PLonKeR

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Oct 28, 2010
Messages
2
Trophies
0
XP
27
Country
Hi there, just to let you know that 2gb micro sd cards and lower do not have class rating as they are not sdhc.
 

dilav

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2006
Messages
1,248
Trophies
1
XP
410
Country
United States
A acekard is only 14$ at shoptemp...

Anyway. MicroSD does not have a class number, however Kingston Made in Japan were ones are recommended for their speed. I think they were the same as PNY Made in Japan, im not sure but they were rebranded.

Edit: This is a good link
http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/Memory_Speed_Tests

And I would not get DSTT
 

ecko

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2009
Messages
292
Trophies
1
XP
336
Country
United Kingdom
ShadowSoldier said:
Is there anything I NEED to know about the R4 aside from the 2gb limit? Never dealt with an "original" before.
just that it's easy to use
and the 2 gb limit(but you already knew that
closedeyes.gif
)
 

ShadowSoldier

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2009
Messages
9,382
Trophies
0
XP
3,878
Country
Canada
I assume it's easy to install Wood, just like it is AKAIO?

But I guess you guys are just saying "just buy the R4".

I mean, it's a DS lite, don't exactly need a DSTWO for it..
 

shamiko_

~
Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
1,757
Trophies
1
Age
28
Website
gbatemp.net
XP
318
Country
Infinite Zero said:
It's very simple to install any software once you read the READMEs.

Don't buy DSTT(not that it's bad) Go for the R4 original
accutally it is awful
frown.gif
no support just random update the only fixes (J) games and the firmwares UI
doesn't look nice.(I actually regret getting a dstti for my sister now)
the dstt forum is bad as well,( loads of threads about "new firmware update" later the support drops) hackers come and go (Ashley)
you will be better off with a r4
when you get it, download from filetrip (search wood r4) and then place the _rpg and dsmenu.dat on root of microsd card
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty: @Psionic Roshambo, does the lego Star wars game count?