Hacking Can't install Preloader - "root

djepic112

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Nov 21, 2009
Messages
4
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
United States
Sigh. I'm very new to all this and am only doing it so that I can get a copy-protected save to work. I'm running the latest version of the Wii firmware on my console (4.2). I was able to instal HBC (yay) but I'm having a problem getting the Preloader v0.30 to install. Here is the error message I keep getting: "failed to get root, aborting mission."
What am I doing wrong? I feel so dumb for having all this issue because there are probably loads of dumb questions asked here every day. I'm sorry.
 

djepic112

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Nov 21, 2009
Messages
4
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
United States
I still have that "root" problem. I'm SO CONFUSED. I just want the following save to work damn it. Can anyone remove the lock on it?
http://wiisave.com/?dlid=3425


I guess I need to install cIOS or something? Someone here said that HBC alone is not enough? Sigh.
 

djepic112

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Nov 21, 2009
Messages
4
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
United States
I don't think so.. what is that? I'm completely brand new to this so as you can imagine, any casual gamer would be so confused. Please direct me to how I can get "ios 249." Is that required for pre loader to work?

Posts merged

I don't think so.. what is that? I'm completely brand new to this so as you can imagine, any casual gamer would be so confused. Please direct me to how I can get "ios 249." Is that required for pre loader to work?
 

Sabin_Figaro

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2009
Messages
226
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
27
Country
Colombia
to install priiloader you need a pathed ios with es identify or a custom IOS.

I upgraded to 4.2 using safe updater, then ran priiloader installer. Said that could not move system ios, aborting mission.

Run this http://gwht.wikidot.com/ios249 under your own risk. IOS249 will allow the wii t5o run backuploaders and usb loaders

after installing 249, run priiloader installer and to install press B and the + button
 

The Pink Gato

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2009
Messages
181
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Candy Mountain with Mitch
Website
Visit site
XP
44
Country
United States
djepic112 said:
Sigh. I'm very new to all this and am only doing it so that I can get a copy-protected save to work. I'm running the latest version of the Wii firmware on my console (4.2). I was able to instal HBC (yay) but I'm having a problem getting the Preloader v0.30 to install. Here is the error message I keep getting: "failed to get root, aborting mission."
What am I doing wrong? I feel so dumb for having all this issue because there are probably loads of dumb questions asked here every day. I'm sorry.

You need the preloader-v0.29-jodi.dol. Google it.

Once you have the v0.29 file, go to apps, preloader, and rename "boot.dol" to boot2.dol and rename "preloader-v0.29-jodi.dol" to boot.dol.
go to hbc and install preloader v0.29.
turn off wii and take out sd card.
go to apps folder in sd card, and rename "boot.dol(v0.29)" to preloader-v0.29-jodi.dol and rename "boot2.dol(v0.30)" to boot.dol.
go to hbc and click on preloader, and load it.
install it.
you now have preloader v0.30 on your Wii!
yay.gif
 

djepic112

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Nov 21, 2009
Messages
4
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
United States
Sabin_Figaro said:
to install priiloader you need a pathed ios with es identify or a custom IOS.

I upgraded to 4.2 using safe updater, then ran priiloader installer. Said that could not move system ios, aborting mission.

Run this http://gwht.wikidot.com/ios249 under your own risk. IOS249 will allow the wii t5o run backuploaders and usb loaders

after installing 249, run priiloader installer and to install press B and the + button

I'm installing the Tracha bug right now but I can't complete the steps. I don't see "system titles" on step 13. Sigh. http://gwht.wikidot.com/ios249
I'm very confused still and frustrated. I guess it's just not worth it for this one damn save. I've already invested 2 hours into doing this hack stuff. Can any of you just edit the save file and remove the lock? I would appreciate that SO MUCH.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    sombrerosonic @ sombrerosonic: at 60 FPS