Can't Install & Patch IOS36

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by overslept, Aug 23, 2010.

Aug 23, 2010

Can't Install & Patch IOS36 by overslept at 1:32 AM (15,403 Views / 0 Likes) 39 replies

  1. overslept
    OP

    Member overslept WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WORLD

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    This is my last thread for today, I promise [​IMG]

    Anyways, I'm following this guide and I'm stuck at this part.
    I can't Install & Patch IOS36. It gives me an error, saying that it couldn't find the files. The files were something like root/IOS36-64-552.wad and root/wad/IOS36-64-552.wad.

    It couldn't patch IOS36, and it stops the installation and asks me to press any button to return to main menu. Please help me! I'm so frustrated with my Wii right now (have a look at my other two threads.) Thanks!
     


  2. burritoboy9984

    Member burritoboy9984 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    845
    Country:
    United States
    Without knowing the exact error it gave, no one can help... So let us know and we can go from there...

    -Erik
     
  3. burritoboy9984

    Member burritoboy9984 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    845
    Country:
    United States
    Also, was your wii ever modded? Was it updated to 4.2 through the guide or through nintendo?

    -Erik
     
  4. overslept
    OP

    Member overslept WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WORLD

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Sure thing, BRB.
    [​IMG]
     
  5. HiBit

    Member HiBit GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    Germany
    Download IOS36-64-552.wad again with nusd and put it in the root of your sd card(replace the old IOS36-64-552.wad).
     
  6. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    There is no ios36-64-v552

    put ios15-v257, ios15-v552, and ios36-v3351 on the root of your sd-card.

    edit- ios15-v523
     
  7. overslept
    OP

    Member overslept WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WORLD

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    No, my Wii is (was) a virgin up until now. I decided to mod my Wii yesterday, so I checked my system menu version and it was already on 4.2

    and sorry for the large and uncalled for picture... but notice how it says "Could not open file:SD:/IOS15"

    shouldn't it be IOS36? And what is this about downgrading, is that normal?
     
  8. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    It's IOS15 v523. As mauifrog said, IOS36 v552 does not exist.

    If you have wifi on your wii, you can just tell MMM to load the IOSes from NUS, and it will get them for you.

    EDIT: Saw Arwing789's new post. It needs to downgrade IOS15 to a buggy version first. Once it downgrades IOS15, it will install a patched IOS36.
     
  9. overslept
    OP

    Member overslept WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WORLD

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    That's the problem. I have all those, but MMM isn't looking for them. It's looking for IOS15-v23 [​IMG]

    EDIT: ooo, yeah! I do have wifi on my Wii! How do I tell MMM to get the right IOS' for me?
     
  10. burritoboy9984

    Member burritoboy9984 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    845
    Country:
    United States
    Try downloading the 42mod file and not the 42mod-fix file as stated in the guide... [​IMG] Would probably help...

    -Erik
     
  11. overslept
    OP

    Member overslept WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WORLD

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    I am using the 42mod, not 42mod-fixed.
     
  12. burritoboy9984

    Member burritoboy9984 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    845
    Country:
    United States
    Well then you copied the files incorrectly, because that file is where it is supposed to be... It isn't in the 42mod-fix however...

    -Erik
     
  13. overslept
    OP

    Member overslept WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WORLD

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Why can't I just get the right IOS' via Wifi? techboy, where'd you go [​IMG]
     
  14. burritoboy9984

    Member burritoboy9984 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    845
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, I will let the person who didn't write the guide help you... Have fun...

    -Erik
     
  15. overslept
    OP

    Member overslept WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WORLD

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    but... I did everything you said I should! I got the CORRECT 42mod.zip, I transferred them correctly to my SD, but IOS files packed in the zip aren't the ones that MMM is looking for! HOW DO I UPDATE IOS VIA WIFI?!
    [​IMG]
     
  16. burritoboy9984

    Member burritoboy9984 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    845
    Country:
    United States
    The ios is already on the sd card... what part of that do you not understand? Place the sd card in your computer, and open it. Do you not see an IOS15-64-v523?

    -Erik
     
  17. overslept
    OP

    Member overslept WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WORLD

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    See picture in previous post.
     
  18. burritoboy9984

    Member burritoboy9984 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    845
    Country:
    United States
    download syscheck, run it and post the results here before we go further, something isn't right...

    -Erik
     
  19. overslept
    OP

    Member overslept WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WORLD

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Downloaded syscheck, brb with the results.

    Got 'em.
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  20. burritoboy9984

    Member burritoboy9984 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    845
    Country:
    United States
    you mean a .csv file? Open it using wordpad and copy and paste...

    -Erik
     

Share This Page