Hacking Homebrew Can't install cias, tried FBI and GogMode9

pxnk

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 2, 2021
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
12
Country
Brazil
Hi everyone

I installed some CFW on my 3DS today (Luma, DS version 11.15) and everything went smoothly. I managed to install a couple of cias without issue but then one of my installations failed and since then I've had not luck with any cias. The error message I get on FBI is this one:

Failed to install CIA file
Result code: 0xC8644CD
Level: status (25)
Summary: Out of resource (3)
Module: FS (17)
Desc: <Unknown> (205)

After that, in the Home screen, I get the "new software" message and giftbox, but when I open it, it's black. Data management tells me it occupies 0 blocks and can't be deleted. I checked through GodMode9's file explorer and found a file with the cia game's ID, which I managed to clean (tried installing again after that, but got the same results).

I looked around and initially I thought it might be a size issue since I'm getting "out of resource", but I still have 3 GB left on the card (checked on the PC) and I'm trying to install a small cia (88 Mb) with no other cias lingering in the card.

I tried doing it through GodMod9's install image option, but it just gives me "install failed" after going through the entire progress bar.

I've tried removing the files from the SD card, formatting it, and putting them back in, and it didn't work.

I'm really stumped, since I did manage to install two cias before this started happening. I'd really appreciate it if someone could lend a noob a hand haha. Thank you to anyone who reads through all this!
 
Last edited by pxnk,

CoolMe

...
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
1,116
Trophies
1
Age
26
XP
1,652
Country
United States
I've tried removing the files from the SD card, formatting it, and putting them back in, and it didn't work.
That wouldn't help if the sdcard is not at fault. Did you try deleting the game (if it shows up) in fbi and its ticket? Try with faketik too.
 

pxnk

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 2, 2021
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
12
Country
Brazil
That wouldn't help if the sdcard is not at fault. Did you try deleting the game (if it shows up) in fbi and its ticket? Try with faketik too.
Thanks for the reply! The game wasn't in FBI, I deleted all unused tickets, and faketik said nothing was missing :/
 

pxnk

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 2, 2021
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
12
Country
Brazil
I decided to restore my NAND through GodMod to see if it would help and two things happened:

- my previously-installed CIAs stopped being recognized by the system (I painfully deleted them then. Gladly, I hadn't played them yet)

- I managed to install the new CIA through GodMode!

Go figure.

Gonna try to install the other ones now, will report back later in case it keeps working
 

pxnk

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 2, 2021
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
12
Country
Brazil
I put some more cias on the card and now every CFW icon is black and when I open one of them, I get an error message saying the card was removed. I can still access the card through GodMode though.

I'm starting to suspect the issue might be in the way my computer leaves the card after transfering files... But I have no idea
 

KleinesSinchen

GBAtemp's Backup Reminder + Fearless Testing Sina
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 28, 2018
Messages
2,700
Trophies
2
XP
6,299
Country
Germany
Please run a full SD check with h2testw or F3 on the empty SD.

According to https://www.3dbrew.org/wiki/Error_codes, 205 is an "Not enough space" error (though I get "210 partition full" instead of "205 unknown" on trying to install a CIA that will not fit).

Make sure there is sufficient space. Try another SD.

Good luck!
 

CoolMe

...
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
1,116
Trophies
1
Age
26
XP
1,652
Country
United States
Yeah, i would suggest checking the card with h2testw first like @KleinesSinchen said above, copy everything to your pc first (or just the stuff that you care about), the Nintendo 3DS folder and Luma3DS/GodMode9 files specially.
If the sdcard's faulty it'll tell you.
 

pxnk

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 2, 2021
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
12
Country
Brazil
I tried that and it told me the card was fine, so I decided to give up on it and just replace all of the files in it with a backup I'd made at some point when CIAs started giving me issue. That got me my apps back, but I still couldn't install CIAs. Did get a new error message though:

Failed to install CIA file.
Result code: 0xD9004588
Level: Permanent (27)
Summary: Wrong argument (8)
Module: FS (17)
Desc: RSA/Hash verification failure (392)

This brought me to an issue report on FBI's GitHub (which I can't link since I'm a new user I guess). I followed the instructions there and renamed the Nintendo 3DS folder and that did the trick. I injected FBI into H&S using GodMode9 and managed to install CIAs with no problem.

What I think might have happened is that I was copying CIAs to the SD card straight from a zipped file using 7zip's "copy to" option. I think that might have bugged the CIA, which led to a bad install, which led to broken data being left on the directories, messing the installation process. Recreating the folder solved that (I might be wrong tho, no idea haha). This second time around I extracted everything and copy pasted the CIAs into the card straight through Windows to be safe.

Thank you both for trying to help!
 

CoolMe

...
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
1,116
Trophies
1
Age
26
XP
1,652
Country
United States
You were extracting the zip files with fbi or within the 3DS? I was going to suggest trying different cias whatever you were using could be corrupted. I would format the system, format the sd card and let it create a new Nintendo 3DS folder, then copy & install everything back (use different cias this time) just to be on the clear. But it's up to you!
 

pxnk

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 2, 2021
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
12
Country
Brazil
You were extracting the zip files with fbi or within the 3DS? I was going to suggest trying different cias whatever you were using could be corrupted. I would format the system, format the sd card and let it create a new Nintendo 3DS folder, then copy & install everything back (use different cias this time) just to be on the clear. But it's up to you!

I was extracting them in Windows and transferring them to the SD card, FBI only interacted with the raw CIA files
 
  • Like
Reactions: CoolMe
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: https://piunikaweb.com/2022/01/15/nvidia-shield-tv-plex-and-other-apps-not-working-after-android-...