Can't Backup DS Games

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by Knoll318, Oct 31, 2010.

Oct 31, 2010

Can't Backup DS Games by Knoll318 at 11:36 PM (1,530 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. Knoll318
    OP

    Newcomer Knoll318 Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    I just bought my AceKard2 and EZ 3-in-1 so I could play my games on my DS Phat. I downloaded NDS Backup Tool but it refuses to connect to the FTP server, even though I tried it multiple times. I tried to use Wood Dumper, but I get a message of "card init fail. EXTRACT card." So I don't know how I would go about backing up my DS games. I'd prefer to do it with the Slot-2 card, because I've heard it's faster. Can anyone help this newbie?
     
  2. Gariscus

    Member Gariscus Former Team Cyclops Mod

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Country:
    Australia
  3. Knoll318
    OP

    Newcomer Knoll318 Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, so thanks to your post, I managed to create a rip of my Pokemon Pearl game and the savefile. But, when I go to try and play the game, it doesn't recognize that save file as even existing and just goes trying to start a new game. It also did that with Castlevania Dawn of Sorrow. Any explanation?
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Can you get any ripped saves working at all?
     
  5. Knoll318
    OP

    Newcomer Knoll318 Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    I've only tried using ripped saves that I ripped myself, and the answer to that is no.

    EDIT: Weird, but I got my Pearl save to work. All I did was move them into a new folder from the NDS_Backup folder and it worked. Wonder why? Well, whatever, it works!
     
  6. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Are you sure you're naming them correctly?
     
  7. Knoll318
    OP

    Newcomer Knoll318 Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, they were named exactly the same thing, and only started working after I moved them.

    EDIT: Also, does anyone know where do download a tool for backing up GBA games and saves?

    DOUBLE EDIT: Nevermind, I found it.

    TRIPLE EDIT: Once again, a save problem. Rip it, rip game, game works fine. Try using my save file, and the game won't load it. Download a sav off the internet and it won't work as well.
     
  8. Rascal

    Member Rascal GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    429
    Country:
    United States
    One or more of these may help:
    1. Make sure the .SAV is in the same folder as the .NDS
    2. Make sure it is the same name as the .NDS, except replace .NDS with .SAV
    3. Make sure it is .SAV and not .NDS.SAV
    4. Confirm that your Acekard is using .SAV in System Preferences (.NDS.SAV is old extension)
    5. I assume you're using AKAIO 1.8.1, if not, you should be
     

Share This Page