Can this be done?

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by McPhizzle, Feb 26, 2011.

Feb 26, 2011

Can this be done? by McPhizzle at 11:14 PM (937 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. McPhizzle
    OP

    Newcomer McPhizzle Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    I have my ISO images on a 1tb HDD formated in WBFS. I created forwarder channels in WBFS manager so I can launch the games from the Wii menu, without the need for a (visible) loader. This is all perfect and exactly how I want things.

    My problem is that I would like to load WiiWare games the same way. 512mb of system storage isn't large enough to hold the WiiWare games I want. I tried using wad2iso to create iso images from the WiiWare games so I could place them on my external HDD and then create the forwarder channels, but the games won't load due to the missing loader.dol on the root of the HDD, which I can't place there due to it being formatted in WBFS.

    Is there a way around this? Will something else work? I was thinking of maybe getting a flash drive and use it for emulating my NAND, using Triforce, and somehow making a forwarder that links directly to the game on the flash drive, but I don't want to see Triforce.

    Installing to SD is out of the question since I have a moderate case of OCD, and I'd go crazy not being able to see the banners or hear the music until after I choose to play the game. I do use my SD card for VC games though, since those banners are not anything to look at.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    James
     
  2. Hells Guardian

    Member Hells Guardian GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,113
    Country:
    United States
    Use the menu 4.0 and later to have access to the SD card menu which can move the game to nand temporarily while you play.
     
  3. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,358
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
  4. Hells Guardian

    Member Hells Guardian GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,113
    Country:
    United States
    It is a better solution agreed but I just don't enjoy the whole setup seeing as I just really don't bother with VC. Most of my titles that I would bother to use from VC can already be emulated easily and N64 is so limited that I just don't care to bother. Also his question was is there a way to do it without a visible loader.
     
  5. chop

    Member chop GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    487
    Location:
    Pontefract
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Also his question was to do it without using the SD card menu
     
  6. Kalidor

    Newcomer Kalidor Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    France
  7. Hells Guardian

    Member Hells Guardian GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,113
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm that's an intresting idea. Anyone remember which app file in the system menu 4.1U was The system menu executable? I haven't been working with the system menu since the days when I created a custom patched 4.0wad with a custom sysdtem menu theme for the ease of on single istall for my sytem menu ;P.....
     
  8. McPhizzle
    OP

    Newcomer McPhizzle Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks everyone. I'm gonna try some things tonight. Using CRAP seems to be what I'm looking for, but setting up triforce might be too much, so I'll probably end up settling for installing them on the SD Menu.

    If I were to use triforce, and already having a USB HDD, could I still emulate my NAND on a separate USB flash drive? Or will it just conflict? I'm thinking it'll search the left/top (good) USB port. Hopefully I'm wrong.
     

Share This Page