1. punpin_04

    OP punpin_04 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Turkey
    Can softmodded pal gamecube display 480p with NTSC region games?

    If it is not possible, is there any way to pal gamecube display 480p?

    I'm currently using RGB scart.
     
  2. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,672
    Country:
    United States
    No 480P is NTSC your looking at 576i
     
    punpin_04 likes this.
  3. Tumoche

    Tumoche GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    187
    Country:
    Spain
    You can force 480p with swiss if you have a rgb cable.
     
    punpin_04 likes this.
  4. punpin_04

    OP punpin_04 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Turkey
    Do I need to buy an action replay disc? Because I'm currently using Super Smash Bros Melee exploit to play backup games.
     
  5. Dogson

    Dogson Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Sweden
    RGB through scart is a regionfree signal in either 50Hz or 60Hz depending on how the software was coded (US releases or European releases with a 50/60Hz select screen), not the Gamecube. As long as the system and TV supports RGB you can run games in 60Hz, however you'll get 240p or an interlaced signal unless you force 480p which is possible with some games. But whether you can force 480p or not for a game doesn't have anything to do with region coding at all.

    You can only get 480p on newer CRT sets (usually the widescreen ones from the mid 2000s) or on modern LCD's etc. With older CRT's you're stuck with 480i/576i, but if it's a good CRT with RGB scart it'll look really good still and produce an image with minimal aliasing. (according to many including myself 480i RGB on a CRT looks better than 480p on an LCD, aliasing gets too noticable)
     
    Last edited by Dogson, Sep 7, 2019
    punpin_04 likes this.
  6. Tumoche

    Tumoche GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    187
    Country:
    Spain
    Nope, any kind of exploit works. You need to burn a swiss disk I through think
     
    punpin_04 likes this.
  7. Harsky

    Harsky Madmin
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,512
    Country:
    Pretty sure you need to buy one of those expensive official GameCube component cable or the third party HDMI adapter (still expensive) to get 480p display.
     
    Ryccardo and punpin_04 like this.
  8. punpin_04

    OP punpin_04 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Turkey
    My gamecube is not chipped to run burned discs. Will I be able to run burned swiss disc?
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  9. Dogson

    Dogson Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Sweden
    Sca
    Yeah, for the gamecube specifically you can't do 480p through Scart (even if the standard supports it)

    if you want proper 480p RGB on a CRT you'll either have to get the GC component cable, or just play on a Wii where component cables are dirt cheap.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    If your GC isn't chipped you can't run burned ISO's
     
    punpin_04 likes this.
  10. Harsky

    Harsky Madmin
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,512
    Country:
    You are really better off buying a Wii with the Gamecube controller ports, a cheap external HDD, Wii component cable and spending an afternoon learning to softmod and install Nintendont to get 480p on the NTSC games or even force 480p on PAL games (results are hit and miss but it's worth a try if PAL ISOs are all you have on your computer).
     
    punpin_04 likes this.
  11. alexander1970

    alexander1970 Sometime it gets better..
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Messages:
    12,496
    Country:
    Austria
    Hello.:)

    In this case you will need the Gamecube SD Media Launcher includes the Action Replay with included Codes,FREELOADER and an SD Gecko.

    index.jpg
    With that you can load SWISS from SD Card and then backup Games.:)

    Thank you.:)
     
    punpin_04 likes this.
  12. Tumoche

    Tumoche GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    187
    Country:
    Spain
    Ok, so I throught that a PAL gamecube, with an rgb cable (scart), could run ntsc games at forced 480p with swiss. Is that right?
     
  13. punpin_04

    OP punpin_04 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Turkey
    Yeah. Actually, I asked for ntsc games because some people were saying it's impossible to run pal games in 480p.
     
  14. Lumstar

    Lumstar Princess
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,948
    Country:
    United States
    gamecube won't output rgb at 480p. A technical issue.

    pal games removed 480p in software.
    The digital AV port will work on a pal gamecube, but I don't think the component cable was sold in pal markets.
     
    Ryccardo and alexander1970 like this.
  15. alexander1970

    alexander1970 Sometime it gets better..
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Messages:
    12,496
    Country:
    Austria
    And also the price is insane.:angry:
    ....collector's item...:rolleyes:
     
  16. Ryccardo

    Ryccardo watching Thames TV from London
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    7,380
    Country:
    Italy
    @Lumstar is right, the gamecube's DAC only supports the standard TV resolutions (and only NTSC or PAL+RGB color depending on model), which is why the component (or rgb with a simple mod) cable has to provide one itself!
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  17. Lumstar

    Lumstar Princess
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,948
    Country:
    United States
    Well hardly anybody cares the DAC isn't completely understood. I've tried several times to ask for technical information about modding the gamecube's composite video color encoding between NTSC and PAL, most responses dismiss the idea as pointless.
     
  18. Ryccardo

    Ryccardo watching Thames TV from London
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    7,380
    Country:
    Italy
    The problem is that Nintendo consoles don't really have service manuals (unlike for example Sony's) so it's hard to give an educated guess to what custom chips do - but after having given it a look, I believe there's no way to change the color encoding in software (no obvious external colorburst oscillator to at least turn a console from standard NTSC to NTSC 4.43, the fact that there are separate DACs for PAL and NTSC...)
     
    punpin_04 likes this.
  19. Megadaeth

    Megadaeth Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Sri Lanka
    No, you can't get 480p through the "Analog AV" port with scart or any other cable, you need to use the "Digital AV" port with a GCVideo hdmi device like a GC Video Plug n Play/Carby/GCHD or a Component cable to get 480p from a PAL Gamecube, if you have that you dont need a NTSC game to get 480p you can force your PAL games to run in 480p.
    If you not have cash to spend on a GCVideo hdmi device like GC Video Plug n Play/Carby/GCHD/Component you can now buy a clone/copy of the GC Video Plug n Play for $40

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    And CARBY have released a Component cable to.
     
    punpin_04 likes this.
  20. GodofLoot427

    GodofLoot427 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Germany
    Hello there i've got major problems with my GC Setup and i hope you guys know better than me or can help me ..

    I'm using a Swiss- and also Xeno- modded PAL - GC with the carby V2 HDMI Adapter and my Standart 1080p HD TV .
    Most of the Games are booting in 480i NTSC , and they dont look nice at all.
    Very very blurry, not like it should be especially with the carby Adapter.
    However if i force the game via swiss to any higher res, there is a error saying" File too fragmented ?" OR the Game wont even get displayed.

    PLEASE help, i cant get it.
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Gamecube, display, region