Can I convert my saves?

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by pitoui, Sep 11, 2008.

Sep 11, 2008

Can I convert my saves? by pitoui at 10:40 AM (1,285 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. pitoui
    OP

    Member pitoui GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Messages:
    538
    Country:
    Australia
    Can I convert the saves from my AK2 to play on my SCDS1? Can I just rename the save?

    AK2 has .sav and the Supercard has .SAV
     
  2. lurbi

    Member lurbi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Austria
    Country:
    Austria
    IMHO you can simply rename it.
    AKAIK AK2 uses game.nds.sav while SCDS1 uses game.SAV

    if there is a long name save, SCDS1 will use it.
    But if it has to create one, than it will create the short (game~1.SAV) version.
     
  3. pitoui
    OP

    Member pitoui GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Messages:
    538
    Country:
    Australia
    Yeah I changed my AK2 to save as just .sav.

    I tried to rename it but it didn't work.
     
  4. tKo HaXoR

    Member tKo HaXoR GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    339
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Country:
    United States
    if you encounter any problems with save conversion, just go to shunyweb.info to convert your saves the proper way [​IMG]
     
  5. pitoui
    OP

    Member pitoui GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Messages:
    538
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks, I didn't know about that site.
     
  6. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,617
    Country:
    Sweden
    No need to convert your save files, just rename them correctly. I haven't encountered a single save problem when exchanging saves between my Scds1 and Ak2 by doing so.
     
  7. pitoui
    OP

    Member pitoui GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Messages:
    538
    Country:
    Australia
    It says "error, no need to convert".

    So how do I rename the save properly?

    Edit: Got it. It sucks though.
     
  8. 9thSage

    Member 9thSage GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    I had to rename all mine with the short DOS 8 letter names. I wish they'd add support for long file names.
     
  9. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,617
    Country:
    Sweden
    You shouldn't have to do so. The following renaming scheme should work.

    Example:
    LongRomName.nds LongRomName.sav
     

Share This Page