can anyone help an old member?

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by YeeHaH, Aug 26, 2008.

Aug 26, 2008

can anyone help an old member? by YeeHaH at 2:55 PM (2,429 Views / 0 Likes) 24 replies

  1. YeeHaH
    OP

    Newcomer YeeHaH Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    hi all. this is weird but i sent my sons ds to nintendo to fix as is wouldnt charge anymore. they fix it and say it needed a new fuse. ok so i get it back and am happy to see it now charges the battery again. But when try my g6 or m3real no games run they load and then i get just black screens. All of my original game carts run fine. Any help or info would be greatly appreciated.
     


  2. JKR Firefox

    Member JKR Firefox Back.

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,130
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Backup everything on your cards.

    Format the memory card and put everything back on.
     
  3. YeeHaH
    OP

    Newcomer YeeHaH Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    i tried that but still same problem. the thing is both the g6 and m3 work fine on my daughters ds but not my sons that i just got fixed.
     
  4. JKR Firefox

    Member JKR Firefox Back.

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,130
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Did they by any chance, replace the entire DS?
     
  5. budrow66

    Member budrow66 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    T.N.
    Country:
    United States
    Wow thats a tuff one. I would try 1:Backing up the info on the card 2: Reinstall firmware 3: Then putting your backed up info on the card minus the old firmware.
    Hope it helps...
     
  6. JKR Firefox

    Member JKR Firefox Back.

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,130
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
     
  7. YeeHaH
    OP

    Newcomer YeeHaH Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    nah its the same ole ds with mario sticker on the front. i thought maybe they upgraded firmware to stop flash carts from working. im thinking of flashing the ds but would rather not as i havnt done this before and not even sure if it will help.
     
  8. budrow66

    Member budrow66 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    T.N.
    Country:
    United States
    Reinstall firmware not just stick it back on ther from backup
    It worked when my M3 wouldn't work on my wifes DS.
     
  9. tKo HaXoR

    Member tKo HaXoR GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    339
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Country:
    United States
    I think flashing your ds will help unless they upgraded the firmware to block Flash Carts, then flashing your ds might brick it. IDK really..
     
  10. DarkRey

    Member DarkRey still transfoooorming.... with sum lags!

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    983
    Location:
    Rotating around Toni
    Country:
    Croatia
    just do a full format and put the latest firmware in it (sakura)
     
  11. YeeHaH
    OP

    Newcomer YeeHaH Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    well thats something i havent tried yet sakura that is. will try it now.
    Thankyou everyone for your feedback it is most appreciated. hopefully i will get it back in action soon
     
  12. YeeHaH
    OP

    Newcomer YeeHaH Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    unfortunately sakura didnt help. rom loads then screens stay black [​IMG]
     
  13. DarkRey

    Member DarkRey still transfoooorming.... with sum lags!

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    983
    Location:
    Rotating around Toni
    Country:
    Croatia
    try different microsd?
    or flashed it
     
  14. Chrono_Tata

    Member Chrono_Tata GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    851
    Country:
    Thailand
    Could be problem with the contacts, try the paper/tape trick (stick some paper on the side of the card opposite the contacts). Doubt they made a firmware that makes flashcarts useless or we'd already have caught wind of it.
     
  15. YeeHaH
    OP

    Newcomer YeeHaH Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    its definately not the flash card. i have tried 2 m3reals and a g6 all dont work. they work perfectly on another ds.
     
  16. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you tried the trick with pulling the cart out while in PictoChat, see if it gives a different colour then any previously mentioned. With Ninty having a hard-on for flashcarts at the moment it's possible they've worked on a new bios to combat them.
     
  17. Blackout

    Member Blackout GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Pulled from the GameSpot forums. See if it matches any of them

    "There are indeed slightly different firmwares. When you remove a cart while in Pictochat, a color will appear on your screen. This shows when your DS was made, and it's model.

    * v1: Pictochat freezes/no colour appears
    * v2: two grayish blue screens
    * v3: two dark green screens
    * v4: two golden yellow screens
    * v5: two magenta screens (DS lite units have this)
    * v6: two dark blue screens (The newest DSes have this)
    * iQue: two dark green screens (This is the Chinese DS)"
     
  18. VatoLoco

    Member VatoLoco Don't crush that dwarf, hand me the pliers.

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,261
    Location:
    Ya Cant Get There From Here
    Country:
    United States
    This is just a shot in the dark, but maybe try FatD's soft-flash method.

    It might get your cards to boot
     
  19. YeeHaH
    OP

    Newcomer YeeHaH Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    well my screens go magenta when i pull out the cart during pictochat. I tried FatD's soft flash method and that didnt work either. game still loads up then 2 black screens.

    i think i will have to change the firmware....
     
  20. Chrono_Tata

    Member Chrono_Tata GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    851
    Country:
    Thailand
    Erm... have you tried the paper trick I suggested yet? It's possible that when they repaired your DS and put it back together the contact pins in the DS shifted a little from where they were before, so it's not touching the flashcarts' contacts properly. Commercial game carts are built better so they are more likely to touch the contacts. That might be why your commercial games work but flashcarts don't.

    Since your screen flash magenta, doesn't that mean it's the old firmware? That means it shouldn't be a problem with the firmware and it's probably not necessary to flash it.
     

Share This Page