Buying a new computer (Please help)

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by chocaboi, Dec 10, 2009.

Dec 10, 2009
  1. chocaboi
    OP

    Newcomer chocaboi Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    Canada
    Well for (insert dec 25 holiday here) / my birthday (10 days after (insert dec 25 holiday here)), my mom sais i can buy a new computer to uprgrade my laptop from like 7 years ago !

    So far i found these 2

    http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/sea...p?EdpNo=5325263
    and
    http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/Sea...&CatId=4928

    considering that im mostly getting it for World of warcraft and i dont know that much about computers, i was wondering if you could help me decide wich on to get. Or if you have any better deals u can find, that would be great too im from canada btw so try to use canada sites. Thanks!
     


  2. Sephi

    Member Sephi fool

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,850
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    404's on the links, need to fix that.
     
  3. chocaboi
    OP

    Newcomer chocaboi Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    Canada
    Srri [​IMG], fixed
     
  4. RiotShooter

    Member RiotShooter GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    200
    Country:
    United States
    well more information on how much you can spend would be helpful
     
  5. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    Don't get a shitty iBuyPower PC, they honestly suck, here's why.

    The HP isn't bad, and yeah, we need to find out how much your willing to spend, if you plan on doing any gaming, etc
     
  6. chocaboi
    OP

    Newcomer chocaboi Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    Canada
    $1000 CAD max :/ maybe $100 more but thats all. Lol@ the horror stories xD, the computer sounds so good tho! =P the only gaming i plan on doing is WoW but nothin to far from that
     
  7. GentleFist

    GentleFist Newbie

    why dont you look for one with a good graphics card, at least 240gt or get one with a hd radeon 5xxx since the new radeon support dx11 and blabla new shader it should be okay for awhile
     
  8. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    Both of those have pretty crappy graphic cards. Though I guess for WoW it shouldn't really matter too much, it isn't exactly a demanding game hardware wise.

    Out of those two the HP seems better. Again if it's just for WoW you could probably get a cheaper system.
     
  9. chocaboi
    OP

    Newcomer chocaboi Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    Canada
    Lost me at 240gt. im not too knowledgeable when it comes to building computers / things inside computers >.> honestly i have no idea what radeon is, but if you had any suggested computers from canadian sites under $1000, id greatly appreciate it [​IMG]

    @Edhel, do you think the hp one could run WoW at full settings? other then full shadows of course
     
  10. Cermage

    Member Cermage GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,702
    Country:
    Australia
    $1000 CAD? thats plenty.

    Since you've said you don't know much about computers I'd get

    http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/Sea...&CatId=4910
    and then throw this in there (Video card install aren't that hard, that barebones kit doesnt come with one, so just loook for the big blue slot.)
    http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/Sea...&CatId=3670

    this is optional, but i'd throw out the psu (tbh, i've never heard of the brand ) and get
    http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/Sea...&CatId=1483
    there are some pretty bad stories with generic psu's, and after a bit of research, the Ultra brand is just a rebadge of Wintech, which are known to be pretty bad. and bad psu = explosions/fire. explosions/fire in your computer isnt a good thing. Though, this should only happen if you want to draw past a certain amount, i highly doubt 750w is its true rating, probably around 600w~ With that psu, you SHOULD be fine but i'd be careful just in case.

    Well with this, you should be able to play most games that come out now on High-max at a respectable Resolution (obviously not crysis but thats an exception) and should last you a good 4-5 years.
     
  11. chocaboi
    OP

    Newcomer chocaboi Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    Canada
    Just thought i should point this out, that one costs $666 xD, Anyways, if i do buy that one, does it come with everything a pre-built computer would come with, other then the graphics card, mouse, keyboard, monitor. like will it have usb slots and such? cause i dont think i know how to put together a computer from scratch =/
     
  12. Cermage

    Member Cermage GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,702
    Country:
    Australia
    yep that all up that barebones comes with 10 usb ports, 8 on the back, 2 on the gront.
     
  13. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    It is a much better spec computer. It doesn't come with an operating system however and requires some assembly. A problem if you're not too familiar with computers. It would be ideal if you knew someone who could help you.
     
  14. chocaboi
    OP

    Newcomer chocaboi Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    Canada
    ok thanks, and one more thing. if i did end up buying the hp one from the first post, would i be able to upgrade the graphics card on that if i needed too?

    Edit: i have a friend who knows alot about computers, and theres a fix & repair shop a couple blocks away from my house. and i guess i could buy windows 7 with all that, but that barbones, grahpics card, psu, and windows 7 would be like 1.3k with shipping and all :/
     
  15. GentleFist

    GentleFist Newbie

  16. chocaboi
    OP

    Newcomer chocaboi Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks, but unless i cant upgrade the graphics card on the hp one in the first post, i think im gonna stick with it.
    does anyone know if i can upgrade it? or is it gonna be stuck there forever
     
  17. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes, you should be able to upgrade it with a different pci express graphics card, provided the psu is good enough.

    Edit: I would advise you to buy the parts separately if you know someone who can build it for you. It should work out better and more performance for what you spend.
     
  18. chocaboi
    OP

    Newcomer chocaboi Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks, btw i found these other 2, i think this one is pretty good too!
    http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/Sea...=H25-10028%20CA
    http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/Sea...;sku=S445-10030

    So now its down to these 3 =P
    http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/Sea...u=H50-7103%20CA
    http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/Sea...;sku=S445-10030
    http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/Sea...=H25-10028%20CA
    What do you guys think?

    @edhel: i know someone who know alot about computers but i highly doubt he would even consider come to my house to build it, that lazy #$%@, anything else, i would have to pay for them to build so yea =/
     
  19. chocaboi
    OP

    Newcomer chocaboi Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    Canada
    Sorry for the double post, but any idea of those 3 guys?
     
  20. Raki

    Member Raki GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    554
    Country:
    Germany
    I wouldn't be to sure about that. the 9100 is afaik a integrated GPU and some manufacturers don't build a PCI-E slot into their Computers, better ask the manufacturer before buying
     

Share This Page