Gaming Buying a new computer - are the specifications fine?

EpicJungle

stop browbeating me can't you see i'm sexy
OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
Hello!

I am in need of a new laptop and am wondering if the following is high quality, since I am a complete noob at computers.
I am planning to buy a Dell Inspiron 15.6" Laptop, for $599.

Here are the full specifications.

Here are some important specifications:
Processor Type: Intel Core i3-2310M
Processor Cores: 2
Processor Speed: 2.1 GHz
Processor Cache: 3 MB
Hard Drive Speed (Revolutions Per Minute): 5400 RPM
RAM Size: 6 GB
RAM Type: DDR3
RAM Speed: 1333 MHz
RAM Slots: 2
Optical Drive: 8X Dual Layer DVD+/-R Drive
Battery Cells: 6

What am I planning to do with this?
Internet, watch movies, work/school stuff, view pictures, online chat...
I won't do much gaming.

Thank you for your help guys!

Dingoo-fan 32

Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
Brazil
Very good!
yay.gif
I will buy the phenon ii x4
happy.gif

MegaV2

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Portugal
Pretty bad/expensive in my opinion, you could try buying a cheaper one since you won't be using for gaming.

FireEmblemGuy

Celebrating a decade of shitposting
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
It's a good computer, but 6GB of RAM is entirely too much for movies and web browsing. If you're not doing any gaming, a 4GB machine might be a better buy.

EpicJungle

stop browbeating me can't you see i'm sexy
OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
Thanks guys, but lets just say I started to do some gaming - will the laptop be worth the price?

Bently

Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
EpicJungle said:
Thanks guys, but lets just say I started to do some gaming - will the laptop be worth the price?

Light gaming, yes. Otherwise, no.

EDIT: Light as in games that don't require high-end graphics cards or processor.

Originality

Chibi-neko
Trophies
Website
metalix.deviantart.com
XP
Country