Buying a new computer - are the specifications fine?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by EpicJungle, Sep 5, 2011.

1. EpicJungle
    OP

Member EpicJungle stop browbeating me can't you see i'm sexy

Canada
    Hello!

I am in need of a new laptop and am wondering if the following is high quality, since I am a complete noob at computers.
    I am planning to buy a Dell Inspiron 15.6" Laptop, for $599.

Here are the full specifications.

Here are some important specifications:
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

What am I planning to do with this?
    Internet, watch movies, work/school stuff, view pictures, online chat...
    I won't do much gaming.

Thank you for your help guys!

2. Originality

Member Originality Chibi-neko

United Kingdom
    Sounds perfect for you. It even has a 7 hour battery life. Enjoy.
    Edit: @dingoo......... What phenom II X4?

3. Dingoo-fan 32

Member Dingoo-fan 32 GBAtemp Fan

Brazil
    Very good! [​IMG] I will buy the phenon ii x4 [​IMG]

4. MegaV2

Newcomer MegaV2 Advanced Member

Portugal
    Pretty bad/expensive in my opinion, you could try buying a cheaper one since you won't be using for gaming.

5. FireEmblemGuy

Member FireEmblemGuy Finally hit 1000 posts

United States
    It's a good computer, but 6GB of RAM is entirely too much for movies and web browsing. If you're not doing any gaming, a 4GB machine might be a better buy.

6. EpicJungle
    OP

Member EpicJungle stop browbeating me can't you see i'm sexy

Canada
    Thanks guys, but lets just say I started to do some gaming - will the laptop be worth the price?

7. Bently

Member Bently GBAtemp Fan

Canada
    Light gaming, yes. Otherwise, no.

EDIT: Light as in games that don't require high-end graphics cards or processor.

8. Originality

United Kingdom