BSoD on Laptop- Help?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by firecrotch219, Sep 8, 2012.

Sep 8, 2012
  1. firecrotch219
    OP

    Newcomer firecrotch219 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    Hey, I have Blue Screen of Death, and I dont know what to do. I know a little about computers so if you say go to your BIOS, I will know what you mean. I took a picture of the BSOD. Anyways, help is Appreciated.


    EDIT: Here's the Pic http://www.mediafire.com/?8ar1cc51985858e
     
  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    C:\Windows\Minidump\

    Find the latest file, copy it onto your desktop.

    Then upload that copy to mediafire.com and give us the link.
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. firecrotch219
    OP

    Newcomer firecrotch219 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Not the picture, the actual dump file.
     
    1 person likes this.
  5. firecrotch219
    OP

    Newcomer firecrotch219 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    I think I know you are talking about, but I am not sure if I could be able to get to it because the BSOD pops up after about 15-30 seconds the desktop pops up. But I'll try. One second :D


    EDIT: ohhhh. I didnt see that you showed me the route to find it lol. Thanks.
     
  6. firecrotch219
    OP

    Newcomer firecrotch219 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    My laptop shut off as I was trying to locate the file. I'll keep trying though. It shouldnt take too long.

    And, I cant open In safe Mode or anything. It just lists stuff and I guess freezes.

    EDIT: I got safe mode to work, so It will be posted soon
     
  7. firecrotch219
    OP

    Newcomer firecrotch219 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
  8. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Unfortunately in this situation the error's not telling us much other than "something seriously wrong", as the OS's kernel is crashing.

    I'd recommend a repair install.
    http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/3413-repair-install.html

    That keeps all of your personal data while replacing the core parts of windows.
     
  9. firecrotch219
    OP

    Newcomer firecrotch219 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    I dont know how much different a Repair install is froma regular install, but I installed Windows 7 Professional over it hoping it would fix the problem. Obviously, It did NOT. I thought it was something wrong with windows, my BIOS, or a part in the computer (mostly Hard drive).

    EDIT: I don't know how I am going to be able to use a Repair install if my laptop won't stay on for longer than 10 seconds after Desktop/ taskbar pops up.
     
  10. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I linked to the wrong guide, by bad. You can boot off the Windows 7 disc and choose to do an "upgrade" install of the current one, if it'll let you. That's how you can start it outside of the main OS.
     
    1 person likes this.
  11. firecrotch219
    OP

    Newcomer firecrotch219 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, I'll try it. If it doesn't work, I'll just message you or something. I will definitely post back here, though
     
  12. firecrotch219
    OP

    Newcomer firecrotch219 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    I think that worked, although it has only been about 5 minutes. Anyways, thanks for all of your help. I am really glad I have my laptop functioning correctly :)
     
  13. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    You're welcome.

    Keep hoping that it works, because if not it could be hardware failure, or some sort of software conflict and those can be annoying to troubleshoot.

    Since the core of windows has been reset, make sure you reactivate properly (if needed) and catch back up on the system updates.
     

Share This Page