BSOD (ntfs.sys)

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by LocoRoco, Oct 2, 2010.

Oct 2, 2010

BSOD (ntfs.sys) by LocoRoco at 7:55 PM (1,316 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. LocoRoco
    OP

    Member LocoRoco GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    320
    Country:
    Australia
    The stupid computer keeps crashing and cant see to find a solution to the issue

    always give BSOD and ntfs.sys as the cause


    also i have a laptop it compatible with both x32 & x64 and it also crashes all the time giving nvidia stopped working (blah blah)

    IntelCore i5 520m processor
    Nvidia Geforce GT330m
    Windows 7 - 32bit

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    C:\Windows\Minidump\

    Find the latest file there, copy it onto your desktop, then upload the copy to mediafire.com and show us.
     
  3. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    For the nVidia problem, you could either try updating to the latest drivers or checking online for which are the most stable drivers (both ATI and nVidia have a bad habbit of intruducing small instabilities in their drivers every now and again). Sometimes for a laptop, that means going to the laptop manufacturer and looking for the latest drivers there rather than the generic drivers provided on the nVidia website.
     
  4. LocoRoco
    OP

    Member LocoRoco GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    320
    Country:
    Australia

    http://www.mediafire.com/?w7ciza26stw2alf
     
  5. LocoRoco
    OP

    Member LocoRoco GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    320
    Country:
    Australia

    tried that didnt help..
     
  6. TwinRetro

    Global Moderator TwinRetro Don't start nothin', Won't be nothin'

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,181
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Country:
    United States
    Back up everything and reinstall Windows. That always seems to fix my problems.
     
  7. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA
    0x00000050
    0xb45e5d30
    0x00000000
    0x8ae249a2
    0x00000001

    Caused by...
    fltmgr.sys+1ccc6

    Other files involved...
    ntkrnlpa.exe+118800
    Ntfs.sys+1a9a2

    Something hooking into I/O is causing a problem. Do you have more than one virus scanner installed or something? List all "security" software on your computer.
     
  8. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,668
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Can also be a bad RAM (better do some memtest) or a driver issue.
     
  9. LocoRoco
    OP

    Member LocoRoco GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    320
    Country:
    Australia
    AVG Internet Security 2010

    memtest86+=no issue with ram

    how would i check if its driver issue

    also you think AVG might be causing it
     
  10. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,668
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    AVG might be causing it. There's no other way to say so if not to uninstall it and see if it still does that.

    As for the drivers, go get updated versions of your motherboard's drivers and update them all.
     
  11. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,278
    Country:
    Chile
    Just a while ago, a user said newer nvidia products have issues.


    And, you should do a low level format to your hard disk.

    Cheers
     
  12. LocoRoco
    OP

    Member LocoRoco GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    320
    Country:
    Australia
    AVG gone ,went with ESET

    updated them twice no change...

    hasn't blue screened since i uninstalled avg

    also since i am asking should i be changing anything on this computer

    HP a6660a

    Thanks for the help:D
     
  13. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,668
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    It's a fine PC. No need to tinker with it unless you feel the need for it.
     

Share This Page