Broken DSi

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by machomuu, Feb 6, 2011.

Feb 6, 2011

Broken DSi by machomuu at 4:46 AM (1,150 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. machomuu
    OP

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    How would I go about fixing my DSi (regular not XL)? It broke last year. When I try to turn it on, the top screen just flashes and then turns off. I sent it to Nintendo, but they didn't want to fix it because I opened it.
     
  2. Schizoanalysis

    Member Schizoanalysis From somewhere inside the rabbit hole...

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,782
    Location:
    ...
    Country:
    Australia
    Another broken one?


    You've been through quite a few it seems..
     
  3. machomuu
    OP

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, my XL is my replacement for my replacement. My DSi is somewhat valuable, though. DSiWare wise (that isn't free at this point in time) it has WarioWare (Ughh...), Photo Dojo (Ugh...), UNO, Art Style Digidrive, Art Style Box Life, Dragon Quest Wars, and Aura Aura Climber...so yeah.
     
  4. neotank19

    Member neotank19 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Country:
    United States
    I thought they would still fix it with a voided warentee but you had to pay for it yourself.
     
  5. DigitalDeviant

    Member DigitalDeviant GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,002
    Location:
    Solar Federation
    Country:
    United States
    why would you think that?
     
  6. moodswinger

    Member moodswinger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    Philippines
    Cause that's what they usually do. They fix it for free if it's still under warranty and still intact ie. unopened, if not you have to pay for them to fix it.

    Anyways, you should have made single thread entitled: "Broken DS's"
     
  7. m3rox

    Member m3rox GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,673
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    And how did they know you opened it? You told them, didn't you? That voids the warranty. Find a local shop that fixes and sells old systems and games. The one near me, the guy is always fixing old NES consoles.
     
  8. Hatashi

    Member Hatashi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I'm pretty sure the manufacturers have some nasty tricks to see what and when something is done to the DSi.

    I had this once with my PSP, my screen was defect, but I opened it, I didn't tell Sony, and just sent it, they sent it back and told me opening the device voided my warranty :S.
     
  9. spinal_cord

    Member spinal_cord Knows his stuff

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,871
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Most of the dslites that I have ever opened had a dollop of glue attaching the main board to the plastic, if that glue is no longer jioning the two together, then its been opened.
     
  10. nico445

    Member nico445 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    579
    Location:
    my house.
    Country:
    Netherlands
    you had to peel off the warranty sticker didn't you? that's why they could see it. [​IMG]
     
  11. machomuu
    OP

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    I didn't because the two DS threads are completely unrelated.
     
  12. Snailface

    Member Snailface My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,324
    Location:
    Engine Room with Cyan, watching him learn.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Wait till the 3DS comes out and then transfer* the dsiWarez over to it. If you're not getting a 3DS then nevermind.

    *it's an announced feature of the 3DS, I have no details on how it works
     
  13. machomuu
    OP

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    I am getting one and I do know about the transfer feature, but the problem is they haven't announced how it will work.
    I'm hoping they'll allow club nintendo users to transfer the DSiware via Club Nintendo. As long as I can transfer the tickets without using the system they're on, I'll be fine.
     

Share This Page