BRICKED

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by nintendolinky, Apr 1, 2009.

Apr 1, 2009

BRICKED by nintendolinky at 1:20 AM (4,720 Views / 0 Likes) 33 replies

  1. nintendolinky
    OP

    Member nintendolinky GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    513
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So i removed the patched iso60 wad from my system becasue i thought thats what was making my preloder msee, up and now it wont boot to the menu and it wont load preloader what do i do. I have a wiikey so im hard modded.
     


  2. feidhlim1986

    Member feidhlim1986 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    Ireland
    How many times has it be said to NEVER EVER REMOVE AN IOS!!
     
  3. nintendolinky
    OP

    Member nintendolinky GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    513
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I know but that stupid april fools joke, really has ripped my to shreads. Only got the wii today after my daughter spilt stuff over the other one.
     
  4. feidhlim1986

    Member feidhlim1986 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    Ireland
    No matter whats the problem, you still never remove an IOS, I dont know what you can do now. Maybe once April 1st has passed, PreLoader might work for you and you might be able to recover
     
  5. fiveighteen

    Member fiveighteen High Hopes and Low Expectations

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,750
    Country:
    United States
    Find a Wad Manger 1.3 ISO and burn it, then autoboot it with SaveMiiFrii.

    SaveMiiFrii:
    Using the Triwing screwdriver, take apart a GC controller. With the cover off, plug it into port 1 of the Wii. Turn on the Wii and hold all four directions of the control pad at the same time. It should autoboot the Wad Manager disc. Then reinstall that system menu.
     
  6. icefireicefire

    Member icefireicefire GBATemp Fails.

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    961
    Country:
    United States
    If you killed IOS60, your wii is as good (or better than, even) dead.
     
  7. danash

    Newcomer danash Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    Canada
    whats the stupid april fools joke?
     
  8. ArchangelX

    Banned ArchangelX Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    The pits of hell.
    Country:
    United States
    Bwahahaha, you got owned!
    Go here for some instructions: Link
     
  9. Screemer

    Member Screemer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,248
    Country:
    Germany
    oh mother christ. no chance to do anything. send it in or take it back to your dealer.
     
  10. nintendolinky
    OP

    Member nintendolinky GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    513
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wont savemiifree work
     
  11. noobwarrior7

    Member noobwarrior7 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,594
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    so one of your first ideas was to remove the IOS that both preloader and the system menu were running off of?

    do you often remove all your sysfiles to your computer and find that it solves problems?

    swap it at the store, claiming defective.
     
  12. feidhlim1986

    Member feidhlim1986 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    Ireland
    Apparently, if you have PreLoader .29 (i think its .29) installed, it pranks you on April 1st with some PreLoader repairing message.
     
  13. Golfman560

    Member Golfman560 TheRapist.com

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Living with seals
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I'm going to laugh my ass off when I get home tomorrow and see all the posts about that and how many people unistalled IOS's to try and fix it.
     
  14. feidhlim1986

    Member feidhlim1986 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    Ireland
    LOL, I had never heard of SaveMiiFrii, so when I saw your post I thought you were taking the piss [​IMG] Whats SaveMiiFrii used for?
     
  15. noobwarrior7

    Member noobwarrior7 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,594
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    the worst part is, the message doesn't tell YOU to DO anything.....it's not like it said, "go muck about with the sysfiles and try to fix this"

    allow me to explain more in-depth.

    you set up preloader to run off of IOS60 (because it was there, it does)
    your menu runs off of IOS60

    savemii uses the menu
    savemiifree uses the menu
    starfall, fyi, uses the menu
    everything you have uses the menu, because the menu loads first

    except on your wii, where it doesn't load at all.

    you removed the only IOS that everything wants to try first when it boots, so, no booting.

    preloader relies on 60, 60 is not there
    menu relies on 60, 60 is not there
    all the things that rely on the menu also rely on 60, which is not there.

    return to store, seem extra confused.
     
  16. funnystory

    Banned funnystory Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,472
    Country:
    United States
    lol this is the funniest thing ive ever heard lol.Thats like getting a virus on windows and deleting the os lmao
     
  17. Screemer

    Member Screemer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,248
    Country:
    Germany
    savemiifrii is working the same way as savemii-dongle does. it brings you to the rescue menu. savemiifrii is simply a gc-controller and you have to press the d-pad in all directions at the same time. that's it.
     
  18. 9th_Sage

    Member 9th_Sage GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481
    Country:
    United States

    Is Savemii even going to work without the system menu's IOS?
     
  19. Screemer

    Member Screemer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,248
    Country:
    Germany
    no it won't work. absolutely full brick.
     
  20. paul3100

    Member paul3100 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    510
    Location:
    scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    haha

    No but seriously just return the wii as you said its new!

    Not glad that its happened to you but its good to see for all us other noobs to take note from.

    paul
     

Share This Page