Bricked Wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Vampir, Mar 24, 2010.

Mar 24, 2010

Bricked Wii by Vampir at 8:19 PM (2,139 Views / 0 Likes) 20 replies

  1. Vampir
    OP

    Newcomer Vampir Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Slovenia
    I just received a Wii from a friend which was softmodded and was bricked when NeoGamma tried to run a game.

    After I received the Wii it only showed black screen. Wii had Priiloader installed and I was able to enter it by holding Reset. I run HBC from Priiloader and tried fixing the problem by updating to System Menu 4.2 (already way at 4.2). Used the files from softmod guide here.
    Unfortunately after update I didn't install either cIOS or Priiloader because I simply forgot that when updating they are erased. Basically after resetting either System Menu or Priiloader work.

    What else can I try to fix beside opening and installing a mod chip? Any idea what could have caused the brick? Softmod was working fine for a few months, Priiloader had disable updates so updating was not supposed to be possible.
     


  2. C.S.I.

    Member C.S.I. GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    410
    Location:
    Down under
    Country:
    Australia
    Dont see how a Modchip is going to help.

    Does it have bootmii installed as boot2 ??

    Otherwise I think you are in BIG trouble.
     
  3. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    How did NeoGamma brick anything? The thing doesn't touch the system menu IOS or anything particularly important.
     
  4. wes11ph

    Member wes11ph GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    455
    Location:
    basement lvl-249
    Country:
    Afghanistan

    yeah, is he really telling the truth here?
     
  5. Vampir
    OP

    Newcomer Vampir Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Slovenia
    Well I can't tell for certain, but I cam certain that he didn't put any SD card in. So basically he could have played with settings or tried updating.

    Posts merged


    Maybe by setting modchip to autoboot and running a game that would update the Wii.
     
  6. wes11ph

    Member wes11ph GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    455
    Location:
    basement lvl-249
    Country:
    Afghanistan
    or maybe if he update it over the net.
     
  7. pspmte

    Member pspmte GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    243
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    mmmmm

    Did you not fix you black screen after you installed system menu 4.2 and iso70 i take it?

    The fault sounds to me like the bluetooth is out of place, check this first and you may find the Heath screen comes back on, did you have bootmii installed?

    If you cant fix it, will have to be a nandflash betwiin job mate


    Check out my
    "How to brick a Wii 101"
     
  8. jaybee

    Member jaybee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    All in all, it's just another bricked wii in the wall! xD
     
  9. sirelboe

    Newcomer sirelboe Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    black screen when trying to load both priiloader and wii menu on startup without boot2 = brick [​IMG]

    probably nothing u can do cuz the nand is curropt and cant launch either of those, u need to get into the bootmii menu somehow with priiloader or HBC.. and since your locked out of the only 2 ways to get there theres nothing u can do..AFAIK

    only way might be to send it back to nintendo and tell them when u did an official system update it went black.. and they miiight replace or fix it.
     
  10. Jokiz

    Member Jokiz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    Norway
    Bricked my wii as well, and I don't want to make a new thread about it.
    I have the most boring brick though.. The power went out during a firmware update.. and now I get the "Corrupted files" error -.-
    I have a wiikey installed if that helps. Am i screwed?
     
  11. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    can u get to the health screen and did u previously have cios249 rev14 or higher installed?

    if so, u should be able to use the brick fixing disc from here

    I'm assuming u dont have bootmii as boot2... correct?
     
  12. Jokiz

    Member Jokiz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    Norway
    I'm pretty sure I don't have bootmii as boot2. I get the health screen and can even reach the main Wii menu if I don't have any discs inserted. I am not sure if I have cios249 rev14 installed, but it's possible. I'll try the brick fix disc.
     
  13. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    if u can reach the main wii menu without any discs, can u also get to the HBC (or if u r missing the homebrew channel, can u launch banner bomb)
     
  14. Jokiz

    Member Jokiz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    Norway
    I haven't gotten the HBC installed, because I formatted my Wii the same day it bricked on me -.-
    And I don't really know what banner bomb is :S
     
  15. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    read/download THIS, use bannerbomb to launch the hackmii installer, then use the hackmii installer to install the homebrew channel (may as well also install bootmii), if all goes well, u will then be able to use the homebrew channel to actually fix your wii
     
  16. Jokiz

    Member Jokiz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    Norway
    Okey, suddenly I could access the settings and I had to update the Wii "the nintendo way". (Tried the bannerbomb, got an error while installing homebrew channel.)
    So now that I am on the official nintendo 4.2E firmware (BUT have the wiikey installed). What do I need to do to make my Wii "fully homebrew compatable"? Just install the homebrew channel normally? Or do I have to go through some kind of downgrade?

    Please don't go mad on me and say "READ THE DAMN STICKYS" [​IMG]
     
  17. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    read the damn stickies [​IMG] (don't worry, i'm not mad [​IMG] )

    like this one

    simplistic mod
     
  18. Dakota76

    Member Dakota76 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Country:
    Canada
    I also have a bricked wii
    quite a while back
    and didnt want to start a new thread
    my situation is this
    i did some system updates the one that enabled the sd card access
    which disabled my preloader
    the wii bricked after i tried the menu theme
    the wii was softmodded
    all i get is a black screen now
    is there anyway to fix it
     
  19. Dakota76

    Member Dakota76 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Country:
    Canada
  20. kitt050383

    Member kitt050383 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    648
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    so you must of updated to 4.1 because thats the system menu that was the first enabled SDHC support and added the possibility to launch channels on an SD card!

    so that deleted your preloader and you installed a theme! which in turn bricked your wii!

    My questions are:

    What theme?
    Where did you get?
    Did you make it?
    Did you make sure it was for your system menu version?
    Did you have a cIOS of any-type installed? (waninkoko cIOS249/250, hermes 222)
    When you say it was softmodded how was your wii softmodded? (cioscorps, softmii, trb, dopios-mod)
    When you turn on your wii does it go instantly to black screen or show anything else?
    when you say you updated first how did you do so tell me if it was through nintendo or did you download the wads and do it yourself? (tell me your entire process/tools used)
    can you access the rescue menu with a svemii or svemii free? have you tride?

    when theses questions are answered I will do my best to help you if your wii can be helped!

    -kitt
     

Share This Page