Bricked PSP--Help please?

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by Leeness, Sep 4, 2010.

Sep 4, 2010

Bricked PSP--Help please? by Leeness at 9:18 AM (2,799 Views / 0 Likes) 32 replies

  1. Leeness
    OP

    Newcomer Leeness Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    Canada
    Okay, so...

    My PSP is a 2000 slim, and it was working great. I just updated it to gen-D3 and Prometheus, and it was fine. Started playing Kingdom Hearts...and it was fine.

    Then all of a sudden, it went black and shut off. Tried turning it back on, but it had bricked symptoms (green light was on, but nothing else, then it shut off again).

    I took the battery out and left it for a bit, put it back in, and it was okay again! So I went back to Kingdom Hearts and after a bit (not the same place)... it bricked again.

    Took the battery out again, and this time it wasn't okay. Went into the recovery screen, and while I was trying to find out what to do...it shut down again.

    EDIT: Okay. So...I finally got it into recovery again and ran the fix, so it's back up again.

    How do I prevent this from happening again then? It was just killing itself while playing Kingdom Hearts. Is the ISO bad maybe?
     


  2. DarkShinigami

    Member DarkShinigami #1 strongest Shinigami BANKAI

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,836
    Location:
    Soul Society
    Country:
    United States
    my best bet is you have a bad battery or a bad iso but thats all i think
     
  3. Leeness
    OP

    Newcomer Leeness Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    Canada
    That's all? Okay. I'm gonna get a different ISO and see if that helps, and if it doesn't, I guess I need to get a new battery. Thanks [​IMG]
     
  4. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No, it'll just be your battery I think.
    Try playing the game with just the AC charger in.
     
  5. Leeness
    OP

    Newcomer Leeness Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    Canada
    Hm...I let the PSP rest for the night, but turning it on this morning, it's still acting pretty bizarre. Moving through the menus is slow, sometimes it will scroll through the entire menu when I just press the button once, sometimes the buttons don't respond at all.

    And it was really slow to turn on as well.

    =/

    Edit: lol, and it's gone again, not turning on again. Lol. I'm gonna try my friend's battery and make sure that's the problem, then buy another battery.
     
  6. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    When it's working again, disable all your plugins?
     
  7. Leeness
    OP

    Newcomer Leeness Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    Canada
    How do you do such a thing? Like I said, totally dumb with this stuff. I just followed the instructions for upgrading the firmware before. Haha.
     
  8. themuddaload

    Member themuddaload Creepin' hardcore.

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    West of the equator Sex: sure
    Country:
    United States
    KingdumHartsTheHoleGame.exe ftl
     
  9. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Turn your PSP all the way off (hold the switch, don't just tap it), then hold the R trigger while turning it on to access the recovery menu.
    From there select plugins, and disable any that are enabled.
    Then exit, and the PSP should start up, see if the game runs.
     
  10. Leeness
    OP

    Newcomer Leeness Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    Canada
    Well, it's not the battery. Tried my friend's today, and that didn't help.

    And it also isn't the plugins. I tried the recovery menu and checked plugins and there was nothing there.

    =/
     
  11. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Press select on the xmb and change the cpu clock xmb/game to default
    also try reflashing the firmware.
     
  12. Leeness
    OP

    Newcomer Leeness Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    Canada
    I'll try that if I can get it to turn on again. =/

    I got recovery menu a couple of minutes ago, and was going to do the eboot option (third in the menu, I think?) and it turned off after I selected it.

    If I can ever get to XMB again, I'll try that clock thing.

    How do you reflash the firmware? I hope it's not the third eboot option in the recovery menu, haha. cause I've done that about ten times.
     
  13. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Recovery menu > CPU Speed
    Make them both default.

    I'm 50% sure it's due to your XMB speed.
    If it still doesn't work.
    Download hellcats recovery flasher, place RECOVERY in PSP/GAME, download this and place that and the 5.50 EBOOT (named 550.PBP (One you used to update to 5.50 GEN with, if you haven't got it, go here)) on the root.

    Go to recovery menu > run program...
    Agree with the warning
    Keep pressing X until target FW is "load from external FW pack"
    Then press install CFW.

    Then obviously you'll need to install Prometheus again.


    ;-; typed that all out for nothing, didn't see you already did it :U
     
  14. DarkShinigami

    Member DarkShinigami #1 strongest Shinigami BANKAI

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,836
    Location:
    Soul Society
    Country:
    United States
    if none of that work it probably is you is your cfw try reinstalling it
     
  15. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Way to not read the thread.
     
  16. Leeness
    OP

    Newcomer Leeness Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    Canada
    I haven't done that kind of reflashing yet, prowler! You can unline. Haha. [​IMG] Though, the XMB thing sounds plausible, cause it was taking FOREVER to boot up before. Like...it would be on black for 20 seconds even, before finally going to the XMB or recovery (or just turning itself off).

    However... I can't even get into recovery menu anymore. Taking out batteries and keeping them out for a bit and then putting them back in isn't getting me anything now. [​IMG]

    I think my battle is lost, unless someone knows a way to get me into recovery again? If I got myself a pandora battery, I know that goes to something else, but would it help?

    EDIT: Okay, got a recovery menu briefly and went to the CPU speed, and both were on default already. =/

    Tried to run that eboot thing twice, but it shut off before it did anything and I haven't been able to get the the PSP menu for a while.

    I'm gonna need another way to put info onto the memory stick, cause I can't get into the PSP menu... sigh. What do I need to buy? I have an ~official~ Sony memory stick.
     
  17. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  18. Leeness
    OP

    Newcomer Leeness Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    Canada
    I had to order a Pandora battery, so I did that last night. I guess I'm on hold till I get it.

    I know with a pandora battery though, you can't do normal PSP stuff with it? So I'm still not sure how to put stuff on the memory stick yet (cause the PSP won't stay on long enough). Unless with just the pandora battery, I can just wipe the firmware off of it. I guess I'll see!

    If anything, if it ends up that I can't fix it, with the battery, I think I know how to do all this now, so I can get a cheap PSP 1000 or something and mod it myself [​IMG]

    Thanks for your help prowler, and for future help. I added you on MSN, so I guess I'll see you there~
     
  19. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Depends on the battery you got. Some can swap back and forth between pandora and normal battery mode, specifically white ones with a button on them.
     
  20. Leeness
    OP

    Newcomer Leeness Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    Canada

Share This Page