Bricked PAL Wii under systemmenu 4.0

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by DSlnik, Apr 4, 2009.

Apr 4, 2009
  1. DSlnik
    OP

    Newcomer DSlnik Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Belgium
    Hi there,

    I accidentally bricked my Wii with Preloader 0.28 installed.
    (Turned of the Wii while dumping a game on my hard drive).
    what should I do?

    Thank you


    PS: I heard i should find the systemmenu wad for 4.0, but it is unfindable for the PAL version :'(
     
  2. DSlnik
    OP

    Newcomer DSlnik Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Belgium
    Please, I need help [​IMG]
     
  3. andrewhan4

    Newcomer andrewhan4 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you hold reset while booting up, do you get the preloader menu, if so from there you can boot into the homebrew channel and run a v4.0 updater which should repair it.

    Edit: If you're on 3.2 just run any region changer and reinstall the system menu

    Otherwise how far into the startup does your wii go, do you just get a black screen or do you get the health warning, if you get the health warning does it ask you to press A?
     
  4. DKAngel

    Member DKAngel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    659
    Location:
    Perth,Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    dumping a game then turning it off wont brick your wii, ive done that so many times b4 it isnt funny, check to see something else u did didnt stuff up
     
  5. DSlnik
    OP

    Newcomer DSlnik Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Belgium

    Yes, I have acces to the Homebrew channel by using Preloader.
    When I turn the Wii on normally, just a black screen with "System files corrupted". The text of the black screen isn't very "clean" (looks like some bits of the image are missing and so on)
    So I just install 4.0 again by using waninkoko's installer?
     
  6. andrewhan4

    Newcomer andrewhan4 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah using the updater should install another copy of 4.0 system menu, which will fix your problem

    Otherwise you could run IOS Downgrader (no need to do this if you have trucha signed IOS's), then run any region changer and install system menu 3.2
     
  7. DSlnik
    OP

    Newcomer DSlnik Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Belgium
    Just tried to use waninkoko's 4.0 installer, it immediately asks me to restart my Wii (after the press a to continue thingy)
     
  8. andrewhan4

    Newcomer andrewhan4 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok, this methord will work:

    Otherwise you could run IOS Downgrader (no need to do this if you have trucha signed IOS's), then run any region changer and install system menu 3.2

    When you run any region changer in 4.0 you get an error on startup but it does work, I found it gave me the mismatching region error too as it couldn't read the system menu I was using, but after installing 3.2E it was fine

    you'll just have to update to 4.0 afterwards
     
  9. Taik

    Member Taik GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    555
    Country:
    France
    I have the same problem and in fact we don't internet connection -__-"
     
  10. DSlnik
    OP

    Newcomer DSlnik Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Belgium
    Do I install the hacks with anyregionchanger?
     
  11. andrewhan4

    Newcomer andrewhan4 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yep, they are starfall type hacks so they'll give you recovery type functions. If your going to stright upgrade to 4.0 afterwards tho it doesn't matter as they'll get overwritten
     
  12. DSlnik
    OP

    Newcomer DSlnik Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Belgium
    Ok, it's downloading the files for system menu 3.2E [​IMG]
     
  13. andrewhan4

    Newcomer andrewhan4 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    One thing to remember, once your done preloader will be gone, if you reinstall it run the hacks remover program first.
     
  14. DSlnik
    OP

    Newcomer DSlnik Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Belgium
    Thank you so much! [​IMG]
     
  15. sparky28000

    Member sparky28000 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    244
    Country:
    Netherlands
    hope it works for you [​IMG]
     
  16. DSlnik
    OP

    Newcomer DSlnik Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Belgium
    Worked!
    You saved my Wii [​IMG]
     
  17. andrewhan4

    Newcomer andrewhan4 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Great, now don't break it again! [​IMG]
     
  18. FGOD

    Member FGOD Wii gaming bitch

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Netherlands, Den Helder
    Country:
    Netherlands
    hack remover doesn't work on 4.0 yet...

    but why don't you just install preloader 0.29 and try with booting from another ios... if ios30 works you could downgrade to 3.2 and remove ios 60 reinstall ios 60 and reinstall 4.0...
     

Share This Page