Bricked my wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by felixdaman18, Oct 30, 2009.

Oct 30, 2009

Bricked my wii by felixdaman18 at 1:57 PM (4,245 Views / 0 Likes) 20 replies

  1. felixdaman18
    OP

    Newcomer felixdaman18 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Canada
    Stats:cios 249 latest rev (i think it's 14
    cios 222 hermes
    boot mii ios
    4.1 firmware

    I bricked my wii while trying to instal a ios 60 patch so i could install preloader, but it bricked my wii, i can hear sounds of the disc being read when i turn it on(when i have a disc in it obviously) The screen is black
    Help please?
     


  2. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    Did the patch install successfully? Did you use BootMii IOS to make a backup? Do you have a modchip?

    If the answer to all of those is no, then you have a shiny white doorstop
     
  3. david432111

    Member david432111 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    859
    Location:
    Denmark
    Country:
    Denmark
    Turn on the wii and hold Reset, if you can get in to preloader run the hombrew channel and install a clean ios60 using dop-ios. If you can't get in to preloader than there's nothing more we can do.
     
  4. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    He said he was trying to patch IOS60 so he could install Preloader, so it doesn't seem like he actually installed Preloader
     
  5. felixdaman18
    OP

    Newcomer felixdaman18 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Canada
    The patch installed successfully, then I used the HBC to shutdown my wii. I have a bootmii ios backup. I don't have a modchip.
     
  6. Pakatus

    Member Pakatus GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    777
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    If no Preloader is booting and no Bootmii as boot2...time to pick up the phone and say nintendo you bricked your wii while downloading your 4.2 and you had a power loss.
     
  7. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    if u dont have bootmii as boot2, or any version of preloader installed, and u r on system menu 4.0 and 4.1 YOU WILL BRICK IF you install IOS60 stub (latest version of the ios). The only way to fix this (that i know of), is to get a drivekey mod chip (around $80), boot from a boot disc to wad manager (or another app to solve your problem... u can also use dopios, dopios mod or wiiscu 0.22 or above), then reinstall an non-stubbed IOS60
     
  8. felixdaman18
    OP

    Newcomer felixdaman18 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Canada
    The ios 60 i installed was a hbc application thing.
    How can I make a boot disc with one of those apps?
     
  9. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    you can download a wad manager bootdisc from dogegg's media fire page, but like i said, u need to have a drive key for it to work. Seems you're a fellow Canadian, check out this site. I had the same problem when the IOS was first stubbed, contact some1 below, and they can install the chip, and attempt to boot with one of their discs to fix the problem. After that, u can continue to softmod your wii (the mod chip doesn't stop the soft mods from working).

    http://www.canadamods.ca/store/index.php?a...Cat&catId=1
     
  10. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    That won't fix your WII!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Stop throwing out Savmiifrii everywhere.

    You need a fucking functioning system menu IOS, which you do not have.

    Call Nintendo.
     
  11. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Ya man. SaveMii only has so much use. If the System Menu or its IOS is toast, you can't to jack with it.
     
  12. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    the following is a direct quote from Canada Mods in an email I sent them (I had the exact same problem as the guy above, ie. stubbed system menu IOS60 on 4.0 firmware). Can someone tell me if his proposed solution makes sense and would work, or if he doesn't know what he's talking about. THANK!

    "My extent of the softmods fixes are putting the drivekey in autoboot
    mode, in conjuction with a savemii and the universal unbricker discs.
    Then if all goes well we can delete (edit, lets assume he meant reinstall) the IOS that messed it up. Load a disc with a newer firmware and have it 'reflash' the system. That has
    fixed a good majority of wii's but not all. All the drivekey really
    does is make it so that it can autoboot a disc, but depending on the
    severity of how it is bricked sometimes its beyond what we can do.

    If you want to do it yourself you can buy a drivekey with autoboot
    enabled ( I can enable it for you). Then if you have a gamecube
    controller you can create a 'savefree, or savefrii" by holding down
    all directions of the gc controller on boot up.
    The discs are also widely available for downloading."
     
  13. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    Can we sticky this? Seriously.

    Oh and for the other person.

    Your system menu IOS is gone, your done. Infectus chip I heard can fix it but its more experimental right now, honestly, there are no conventional methods to fix your Wii.

    Send it in.
     
  14. sasho123

    Newcomer sasho123 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    Bulgaria
    Yeah I heard this somewhere, about the gamecube controller thingy, it's supposed to work, althought there aren't many instructions out there, so I gues for around 120$ they can fix your wii (althought if it's an old model it would be cheaper to buy a second hand wii which can cost you around 80$, if it's an old model of course)
     
  15. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    OMFG, if you dont know what you are saying don't say it.

    That is SavemiiFrii, ask FenrirWolf for information on it because he knows how absolutely worthless it is.

    I have saved 2 people's Wii using the method but they had very specific issues:

    A bricked theme install on 3.2U. I got them to run Animal Crossing from it and it updated them to 3.3U which fixed the system menu.

    Other than that, there is almost no use for it. Seriously. The autoboot with Brawl stuff is in progress but atm, its not in full effect.

    YOU NEED:

    A system menu
    A system menu IOS (not stub).

    He does not have the IOS. His wii is bricked.
     
  16. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    long story short, i bricked my aunts wii, it was under warranty, nintendo sent a new wii (without inspecting the bricked wii) and said we can keep the old wii. So returning the bricked wii is not an option... now when u think about it i got this bricked wii for free, so frankly if I cant fix it, i dont care too much. But can some1 just tell me in plain english that a drivekey wont fix this type of brick?

    EDIT: ok ok, i think i get u now, maybe i'll practice taking apart my bricked wii if that's all its good for, lol
     
  17. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    It wont, an infectus chip might from what I hear, there is a method using infectus to do it, but no, it won't work for the drivekey.
     
  18. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    The SaveMii method is generally most useful for consoles on earlier firmwares that got region bricked. The thing is, nobody on these boards ever has that problem. Instead they've done things like upgraded/downgraded the wrong IOS to the point where the system menu loading chain is busted. And SaveMii won't help you out of that since it depends on the system menu being able to at least boot up.

    There's a link in my sig that tells you the prerequisites to using it to any real degree.
     
  19. jkaero

    Newcomer jkaero Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Has anyone identified a fix or progress for this? I was unfortunately following old instructions trying to get a USB loader to work. I have a v1 WiiKey but I have been unsuccessful so far getting any autoboots to work
     
  20. bjorno

    Member bjorno GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    428
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Here comes my personally expierience:
    A. You CANT fix a wii with drivekey because you cant run in recovery mode with 4th GC controller ( the drivekey lets you play burned dvds and let them read trough recovery mode, but if you cant enter, your done for)
    B. Bootmii as ios, if you got that you could use some tut in the forum (use search button) and prepare to reflash the NAND of your wii (this will unbrick your wii, but if you cant solder/unsolder, this is probably useless). BUT ONLY INSTALLED BOOTMII AS IOS WITHOUT A NAND BACKUP WONT HELP AT ALL!!!, if you have a nand backup, you could use this method, dont got it? FORGET IT!!.
    C. Bootmii as Boot2 (i dont think i have to tell this but if you had this, you had already fixed your wii)
    D. NINTENDO.
    E. Lesson learned?
     

Share This Page