Bricked my Acekard 2i after using Moonshell 2.10 stable

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by 25FF, Mar 28, 2010.

  1. 25FF
    OP

    Newcomer 25FF Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Innanets, Indonesia
    Country:
    Indonesia
    Just bought an Acekard yesterday, and just started setting things up.
    AKAIO was installed and used to be fully working. (The help menu says it's HW 81)
    The AKAIO wiki page on WikiTemp says that you can use AkMenu4.nds file (the firmware menu file), copy it to /moonshl2/resetmse/ and rename it to RPGS.nds to enable soft-reset from Moonshell, so I've done that, too.
    Launched Moonshell, tried the 'Exit to Firmware' menu. It worked. Launched Moonshell again, used it to read some eBooks, left my DSL on standby, opened it, then tried to exit to firmware again.
    Strange. It just showed two black screens while the power LED is on. Left it for 5 minutes, finally turned it off. Turned on my DSL.
    It doesn't shows up on my DS.
    I've tried various things, for example:

    - Formatting the microSD card with Panasonic Formatter, and then copied the same version of AKAIO as it was before (1.6 RC2)
    - Cleaned the slot-1 and the Acekard using a q-tip
    - Loading another flashcart on it (R4 Plus) using the same microSD card and it worked (R4 launches as usual)

    ...and it still doesn't show up on my DSL menu.

    Any help on how to fix my flashcart will be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
     
  2. Sinistral89

    Member Sinistral89 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    Try using the paper trick (putting a piece of paper between the acekard and slot-1 or doing the same thing in the microSD slot).

    Other than that I have no idea.
     
  3. 25FF
    OP

    Newcomer 25FF Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Innanets, Indonesia
    Country:
    Indonesia
    Tried that, doesn't work. The cart still looks solid, through. Any other ideas, anyone?
     
  4. BoxShot

    Member BoxShot Chiyo-chan :3

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,447
    Location:
    Middle of the ocean.
    Country:
    United States
    If it is really actually bricked. Use the acekard 1.4 bypass dsl version on the r4 and swap the acekard in and flash it.
     
  5. penthaler

    Member penthaler GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    mystique
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    Maybe the one little thing will help...
    Reinserting msd and ak2i...

    Just unplug them, plug them back and put it into slot...
    Do it more times, the card should get back...
     
  6. 25FF
    OP

    Newcomer 25FF Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Innanets, Indonesia
    Country:
    Indonesia
    Done ~4 times, even tried holding the microSD card while booting the DSLite. Doesn't work! The microSD card is readable on computer, CHKDSK /F /X'd it and it said no problems found.

    Thanks everyone!

    EDIT: Tried flashing it with this file: http://www.mediafire.com/?n4nm0i5dmtm . Copied it to my R4, and followed the instructions. Guess what, it worked! Thanks BoxShot and anyone who helped and answered my post.

    I have a question, through: Why the icon doesn't change to 'Danny Phantom'?
     
  7. penthaler

    Member penthaler GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    mystique
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    You got DS LITE... so that is the reason the card still appears as AK2i...
    NO CHANGE of icon FOR OLD DS/DS LITE... Only for DSi
     
  8. 25FF
    OP

    Newcomer 25FF Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Innanets, Indonesia
    Country:
    Indonesia
    Oh, I see. Thanks for answering.

    EDIT:Help! It stopped working again. After I'm happy because of it working, I turned off my DSLite using the power button in the help menu. Turned it on again, and my flashcart is undetected by my DSLite again. Tried to flash it again using the R4, the flasher detected my flashcart, but it won't finish loading. (Progress stuck at 0%.)
    Is my flashcart is really bricked this time?
     
  9. penthaler

    Member penthaler GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    mystique
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    This time is really really bricked, if it starts the update...

    Try to reupdate it again, and if the card will work, then use paper trick, or as I wrote before - reinserting (dont touch the msd when starting ds)
     
  10. 25FF
    OP

    Newcomer 25FF Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Innanets, Indonesia
    Country:
    Indonesia
    Flashing still doesn't work, AND the chip ID changes! (from 4 characters to b8cd16be)
    Will report back if it works.
    EDIT: Finally gave up. I returned my flashcart to the place I've bought it and got a replacement for free. The new card has the same HWID as before and it have been working fine so far.

    'Exit to firmware' on Moonshell works.
     

Share This Page