Brawl+ from backup DVD - can somebody test this

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by giantpune, Oct 26, 2009.

Oct 26, 2009
  1. giantpune
    OP

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    EDIT>>>>>
    Ok, so apparently this is working for like 90% of people. What it is is a program that updates files for brawl+ NTSC and boots a modified geckkoOS that suports USB and DVDr. every revision here http://code.google.com/p/brawlplusupdatifier/ works fine for me, but others have had trouble with one while another works fine. i suggest starting with the newest and working your way down. also read the changelog there to know what to be looking for.

    requirements:
    either old IOS 36 or DOP-MODDED. needs to be able to identify to check versions of other IOSes. SD card and WiFi for updating.

    you need to start geckoOS and create a settings file with ocarina turned on and whatever video mode and crap you want before running this.
    Original disc just needs IOS36
    DVD-r needs either cIOScorped IOS36 or IOS222v4
    USB needs IOS222v4 and SSBB on a WBFS partition.



    I am messing around with the geckoOS 192 code trying to load brawl+ from USB. But the first step is getting it to load from a burned DVD. Can somebody with ios 222 and a verified working burn of SSBB try to play brawl+ from this dol?

    http://www.mediafire.com/?ytmjn51mlnn

    This is just a modified geckoOS with some stuff taken out and a call to load ios222 since DL is broken in 249.

    EDIT>>>>>>>
    well this dol is able to load brawl+ from usb assuming it likes your IOSs (36 and 222v4 are the important ones)
    http://www.mediafire.com/?n3dmnzmyqyr

    it works perfect for me, but as of right now, it has only been tested on 1 wii. after more people test it out, i will adjust stuff as needed.
     


  2. markehmus

    Member markehmus GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    in the GAME
    Country:
    Canada
    i will try it when i can get to it rite now i am trying to load brawl with codes via USBloaderGX like i always have but i cant load with codes for some reason..i am assuming its the ios 70.

    i have loaded brawl+ with 249 and GX before , i didnt know that there was a hemes when i was playing brawl+ 4.1 , now i have 5rc1 and it worked for me with GX as well..

    but i will pull out my disk and check this dol and post back if i can tonite
     
  3. giantpune
    OP

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    how are you loading brawl+ through GX? you probably are using a snapshot or something because there still is the code line limit there. What i am wanting to check here is if the new gecko cheat engine will work with the cIOS, so could you try with the huge gct file?

    What my goal is for this is to incorporate it into my brawl+ updatifier. That program already DLs all the .pac and .gct files you need to the SD card, so im hoping this will be able to boot right into the game without needing snapshots and stuff.
     
  4. markehmus

    Member markehmus GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    in the GAME
    Country:
    Canada
    actualy it may have been just the pac files and not the .gct for brawl+... humm sorry.

    but rite now i am just done installing hermes 222 38 merge 37 and internet installing, give me a few mins

    ohh fancy dol background

    Posts merged

    error too many codes and a hard to read menu with a nice background
     
  5. markehmus

    Member markehmus GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    in the GAME
    Country:
    Canada
    ohh does it have to be burned dvd .. or will original do okay? as part of your test

    merged with 60 failed to load too many codes as well

    will try hermes installed 222 with no merge then...

    nope that failed to load with codes aswell... to many lines everytime
    -==-

    okay , failed with a backup copy now as well, but the burn was to fast back when so i dont use it much...its crapy copy that will error after watching some video

    i must be having an error with my codes loadin properly then , but i will try the elf you speek of as well
     
  6. giantpune
    OP

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    i have the original dvd and i updated with the official gct and pac files and it load everything fine. hereis what i used to update all the files http://code.google.com/p/brawlplusupdatifier/downloads/list

    that updates stuff fine, but it will not boot a burned game, only the link in my first post will. and the method that you install 222 should not matter. the merge junk is not for this game, so it will not be affected at all.

    the official gct file i got earlier today is 12kb, which is 6 times bigger than GX will load. what size is the one you have that says it has too many codes?

    EDIT>>>>
    maybe you don't have the gameconfig.txt for the game on your SD
    http://brawlplus.net/downloads/gameconfig.txt
    with this, it gives you 65,500+ bytes of gct to play with. so there is no way your codelist will be too big.
     
  7. markehmus

    Member markehmus GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    in the GAME
    Country:
    Canada
    could something else be blocking me from using the code then... because it wouldnt load original or backup.

    with 3 fresh hermes 222 installs and you 1st link
    codes alway worked till now, only change was
    pimp my wii was used earlier today after downgrading back to 4.1u from 4.2u

    the 1 you posted 1st is the only 1 i tried today
     
  8. giantpune
    OP

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    no, i mean your gct file. you get that "too many codes" message if your gct file is too many bytes to fit in the space the program sets aside for it. if you put the gameconfig.txt or your sd card, then it sets aside way more room for gct file so it can be bigger.
     
  9. markehmus

    Member markehmus GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    in the GAME
    Country:
    Canada
    okay i will try this game config text now then with your 1st post on the retail 1st, then try again with a backup , i found a few more backups i made in my tikle trunk
    -=-=-=-=-
    haha now i see where you got the background for gecko
     
  10. markehmus

    Member markehmus GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    in the GAME
    Country:
    Canada
    okay i just finished the full download with the elf and all loads well with the original disk .....to try the back up

    wow brawl+ changed alot in the last few weeks , new css even, i saw the strap loader and made a few but this is a big step up since the last time a tried it.
     
  11. markehmus

    Member markehmus GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    in the GAME
    Country:
    Canada
    WOW nice work i have success fully loaded SSBB+ from dvd-r

    started as zero suit samus...thanx for this very much ...now to try it from usb...where is the link to that???

    PLEASE
     
  12. giantpune
    OP

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    i havent added USB yet. but it shouldn't be hard. you are already playing from a IOS that supports USB. i just have to toss in some a little bit of code. ill try to do that in the next couple days.

    and the beauty of the updater is that you will not be out of date again, unless you just choose not to update.
     
  13. markehmus

    Member markehmus GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    in the GAME
    Country:
    Canada
  14. giantpune
    OP

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    i have no idea what those are. i actually have never even played brawl+. i didn't like mêlée at all, i still play the n64 version and regular brawl
     
  15. GolfDude

    Member GolfDude GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    788
    Country:
    United States
    just to let you know pune, i have tried a few channels that were created by others that was brawl+ with gecko included, so it would load up brawl plus without going through all the side steps, and i could never get the channel to actually load via USB, it would black screen when you treid to use the channel.. so it could be a bit more difficult to do..
     
  16. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    How do you get IOS222 to read DVD-Rs? I thougt it does not do that.

    Anyways, aren't you one of the usb loader GX guys? Why don't you include support for Brawl+ into that?(or some other usb loader) Puttin an usb loader into Gecko OS again is a pure provocation to the Gecko OS coders.

    Oh and don't compile it with the new libogc, it has some bug i haven't identifeid yet, but causes severe trouble with Gecko OS, some games just don't work when compiled with the new libogc. And brkirch said there's some sd card issue with it, and i'm about to bevlieve him, i got a weird file i can't read at my pc with the new libogc.

    NeoGamma(R8 beta 3) has the new Ocarina engine included, working, just the .txt parsing code is missing to get Brawl+ to work.
     
  17. markehmus

    Member markehmus GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    in the GAME
    Country:
    Canada
    yes wiipower, he already stated it was a test so he could add it to usbloader, i am thankful and cant wait!
     
  18. giantpune
    OP

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    ok, ive done it... http://www.mediafire.com/?n3dmnzmyqyr

    This dol will boot brawl+ from USB if you have ios 222 rev 4. there is still a little idiot checking to be added though. for right now, it relies on being able to identify_su() through ios36 before loading 222v4. this is jut a temporary workaround to try to keep it from loading a stubbed 222. i have specifically coded the ID for SSBB in here, so if that game is not on your hdd, it will load from disc. again, its still just for testing shit out. it has successfully worked for me, but you can test and see if the IOS and identify_su() shit works for you as well.
     
  19. markehmus

    Member markehmus GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    in the GAME
    Country:
    Canada
    awesome ...so xcited! thanx, thats was very quick
    -=-=-=-=-edit-=-=-=-=-

    well i had alotfun, tonite, with this!

    -i love the updatifier

    -i made for myself the HBC meta.file and icon.png for each of the 3 great apps you have built
    (wanna see them... http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?mzzdymn4m2t )

    -my favorite app is the brawl+ from USB version , thanx its great!

    the usb version only loads from USB for me, not from disk ....when the USB HardDrive is off
    -i tried the USB version with the original brawl disc (smashstack fixed version, bought a few weeks ago)
    -and i tried a DVD-DL backup (from friends smashstack enabled 1st version of the disk) i made this backup with friidump4 last year
    (i never tried a downloaded copy, or DVD-5 version of SSBB)


    i couldn't care much if 1 app loads DVD and USB , since there is two apps 1 can load with which-ever i need at the time
    (i have 45GB of fat32 on my 1tb HardDrive to load these apps from, a 2gb sd and a 16sd sdhc and these apps are tiny)

    but if your going to continue to make the Brawl+USBloader that will load from either sd/usb ..i will love to put it on my sd as well

    if you need more tests done please remember me, i a very grateful for these and that you allowed me to test and notified me of your work

    [​IMG]

    -=-=-=-=-another edit-=-=-=-=-
    i sat online fighting a punching bag waiting to join a game but have no friends... just letting you know the online works too...hahaha
    also
    i would love to see this USB dol injected into the brawl+channel.wad
    from this post:
    http://www.smashboards.com/showpost.php?p=...amp;postcount=1
     
  20. SanzioSan

    Newcomer SanzioSan Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    the last boot.dol didnt work for me. i have a sdhc 16 gb but using a usb card reader (works the same as a usb drive im guessing) and it just gives me a black screen.
    I disconnected the usb with brawl in it and the gui popped up i reconnected my usb and tried to boot the game but it just gave me a black screen.

    No idea what i did wrong but ima try to boot it with a legit brawl. Btw do i need to put a gct file anywhere? and also does it matter if im booting the boot.dol from a
    usb drive rather than an sd card?
     

Share This Page