Bought R4i3DS, need help setting it up

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by xanie, Nov 5, 2012.

  1. xanie
    OP

    xanie Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Sep 6, 2010
    Canada
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Would anyone be able to give me a step-by-step guide as to what I need to do to begin using my new flashcart?

    It's an R4 3DS. I don't believe it's gold, but I could be wrong.

    I have a micro-sd card, but I'm not sure what files need to be put on it. My 3DS is version 4.4.0-10U

    Thank you!
     
  2. Ryupower

    Ryupower Brood

    Member
    2,935
    441
    Oct 8, 2007
    United States
    do you have an older system (ds or ds lite)

    the card might NOT work on the newest 3ds fw, untill you update it or it might not work at all
     
  3. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Member
    27,883
    8,113
    Feb 4, 2010
    United States
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    What's the site printed on the card?
     
  4. xanie
    OP

    xanie Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Sep 6, 2010
    Canada
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    r4ids.cn I do have access to older ds/dsi/lites
     
  5. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Member
    27,883
    8,113
    Feb 4, 2010
    United States
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Download Wood from that site and extract it onto the MicroSD, and you should be good to go (assuming the shop you bought it from updated it before sending it out).
     
  6. xanie
    OP

    xanie Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Sep 6, 2010
    Canada
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    It says an error has occured, and to turn the system off.
     
  7. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Member
    27,883
    8,113
    Feb 4, 2010
    United States
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Then they didn't update it before sending it out. Where did you get it? I'd like to warn people against buying from that shop if they're selling outdated carts.

    Anyways, you can update it yourself, but not on that 3DS (since that 3DS won't run it right now). You need to download the firmware/3DS/compatibility update from r4ids.cn and put it on the MicroSD, then put the R4 into another DS model that will run it. An original DS or DS Lite is the best bet, they don't have firmware updates that block carts. A DSi or another 3DS may work, but it's hit-or-miss depending on how updated the system is.

    Once you have the cart running, you launch the firmware update like you would a ROM (it shows up the same way), then tell it to apply the update and wait for it to finish. Once that's done you can use it in the 3DS (and avoid updating the 3DS).
     
  8. xanie
    OP

    xanie Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Sep 6, 2010
    Canada
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    gamespree.net, alright. I'll try and update it myself. Thank you!!
     
  9. xanie
    OP

    xanie Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Sep 6, 2010
    Canada
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    How long does it typically take to update the firmware on the cart?
     
  10. Bleak_Opethian

    Bleak_Opethian Member

    Newcomer
    20
    3
    Sep 15, 2012
    United States
    Not long at all, maybe 5 min.
     
  11. xanie
    OP

    xanie Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Sep 6, 2010
    Canada
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    >: This has taken over 30minutes. I'm worried it's frozen, and I don't think I can power it down.
     
  12. tranfeer

    tranfeer GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    794
    46
    May 23, 2010
    Australia
    Frozen?
    Would you please describe the procedures you have done?
    Let't check anything wrong you have done.
     
  13. xanie
    OP

    xanie Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Sep 6, 2010
    Canada
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    I worked it out, thank goodness. As it turned out, R4i had released multiple patches depending on the cart you had - but I got confused and ended up downloading the wrong one. The problem's fixed now, I managed to get the right one and update my R4i.

    Everything works fine now!!

    Thank you everyone!
     
  14. ccc123

    ccc123 Member

    Newcomer
    20
    0
    Aug 7, 2007
    United States
    I have a very similar problem.

    I bought the cart from zhuzhuchina and my 3dS is ver 3.0.0 - 6. The card does not load up with or without a microsd inserted into it. This does this mean i have a bum card or could it possilby mean my card is not updated to work on my3ds version.