BootMii Question

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by MarioMan181, Jun 8, 2010.

Jun 8, 2010

BootMii Question by MarioMan181 at 12:54 AM (842 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. MarioMan181
    OP

    Newcomer MarioMan181 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    United States
    So I was wondering if anything happens to my wii that may relate towards bricking. If I use BootMii to restore my wii. Will it erase every known memory I had. Even my super mario galaxy 2 file on my wii. Is there a way to fix this so that it doesn't erase it. (Note: I am new to these stuff so please do not criticize me).
     
  2. MarioMan181
    OP

    Newcomer MarioMan181 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    United States
    So doing a backup won't affect my wii or my games in any way. I mean it won't harm the wii with an already backuped file on the wii.
     
  3. calthephenom

    Member calthephenom GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    United States
    nooo, bootmii can, for the most part, only do good.
    i never bothered too, i figure if i brick it, ill just boot into cBoot2, and use wad manager
     
  4. George Dawes

    Member George Dawes Wanker

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    688
    Location:
    your wife's corpus uteri
    Country:
    Trinidad and Tobago
    The backup goes to your SD card. Back it up to PC, archive it with RAR.
     
  5. MarioMan181
    OP

    Newcomer MarioMan181 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    United States
    I understand Bootmii can restore everything back to normal. Now (final question and I am sorry for asking again). Will making another backup to my wii that already has a backup of bootmii in my sd card harm my wii in any way? I mean does it overide the old backup and replaces with the new one.(Note: sorry for asking again I just need one simple answer).
     
  6. George Dawes

    Member George Dawes Wanker

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    688
    Location:
    your wife's corpus uteri
    Country:
    Trinidad and Tobago
    Backing up your NAND to SD when one already exists will overwrite the file, I imagine (never actually tested that so couldn't say for sure).

    If you are worried about overwriting then just move the nand.bin and keys.bin from your SD card to your PC. Put it in a folder with the date it was made, and if you want to save some space rar/zip it up.
     
  7. MarioMan181
    OP

    Newcomer MarioMan181 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    United States


    Hey thanks, I will try to backup later.
     
  8. MarioMan181
    OP

    Newcomer MarioMan181 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    United States
    Oh yeah, I have another question. Does backuping your wii affect cios installer or gamecube backups or anything relating to installed software on wii. Please respond.
     
  9. George Dawes

    Member George Dawes Wanker

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    688
    Location:
    your wife's corpus uteri
    Country:
    Trinidad and Tobago
    No. The backup will make a 100% identical copy of your wii, and store it on the SD card. If you ever get a fault it will restore your wii IDENTICALLY to how it was when the backup was made.
     
  10. ocdetective

    Member ocdetective GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    601
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Think of it as akin to doing a system restore point on Windows - it doesn't actually change anything - merely stores ALL info for that precise point in time.
     
  11. chinmi

    Newcomer chinmi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Indonesia
    can i ask a question, since this is a bootmii question thread, i don't want to create a new topic since the "general topic is the same"...

    if we use bootmii, do the sd card has to be plugged in all the time ? can the wii run without the sd card that contain the data that created by the bootmii instalation ?

    thanks in advance
     
  12. George Dawes

    Member George Dawes Wanker

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    688
    Location:
    your wife's corpus uteri
    Country:
    Trinidad and Tobago
    Nop, if the SD card isn't in then your wii will start as normal.

    With the SD card in you can edit the config file to specify how you want it to start (PAL, PAL60, NTSC, straight to sysmenu/hbc/bootmii etc).
     
  13. chinmi

    Newcomer chinmi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Indonesia
    thank u [​IMG]

    i will try installing bootmii ASAP in my wii ([​IMG])
     

Share This Page