Bootmii as boot2 doesn't load

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by JimmyBobAlex, Feb 22, 2011.

Feb 22, 2011
  1. JimmyBobAlex
    OP

    Member JimmyBobAlex GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    United States
    I've been out of the scene for quite awhile. Sorry for my noobish-ness, I did browse the forum but I didn't find an answer. I'm trying to sort out a console for a friend. He had a softmodded 3.2U for the longest time and had Bootmii installed as boot2. I remember doing it for him as I still have the nand backup. He recently updated to 4.3U off the Kirby's Yarn disc on accident. So I was just going to reload the nand backup through Bootmii since I don't have any of the games to exploit 4.3U. The problem is Bootmii won't load before the system menu and I can't figure out why. I tried messing with the .ini to no avail. I then formatted the sd card and copied the bootmii folder from my 3.2U Wii's SD card, which loads Bootmii just fine before startup, and still nothing. Just goes to the system menu regardless.


    Did 4.3U or some previous version have an update in it to block Bootmii as boot2 somehow?
     
  2. psnider85

    Newcomer psnider85 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    Australia
    Upgrading to 4.3U updates the boot2 to boot2v4, so it removed bootmii. Your only choice is to exploit using a savegame.
     
  3. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,912
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, since your friend's Wii went from 3.2 to 4.3, bootmii was written over. It can be reinstalled easily with the latest hackmii installer.
     
  4. JimmyBobAlex
    OP

    Member JimmyBobAlex GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    United States
    FUUUUUUUU, I thought so. Thanks for humoring me with that info, I do appreciate it. So basically my only options are Smash Stack, Indiana Pwns, Yu-Gi-OH 5D's Wheelie Breakers, LEGO Batman, and LEGO Star Wars? I was hoping there was an exploit that didn't require a game. Ah well I guess I'll have to go rent one of those.
     
  5. Yuan

    Member Yuan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,271
    Country:
    Brazil
    If his wii have at least a forwarder channel installed it is possible to mod it without a game.
     
  6. JimmyBobAlex
    OP

    Member JimmyBobAlex GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    United States
    Nope it's all gone, I guess games are the only choice. Well I appreciate the info, thanks a lot guys. [​IMG]
     
  7. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,125
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    You're not the first one to have to do that. But it always makes me wonder...why do you have to go out and rent a game? He is the one that broke it, so it's his job to at least help out with whatever you may need for the softmod.
    Seriously...the only thing you're teaching him right now is that he can be totally dependent on you for whatever he wants/needs for his wii.
     
  8. JimmyBobAlex
    OP

    Member JimmyBobAlex GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    United States
    Well I'll probably just have him rent/acquire the actual game, I didn't really specify that I guess. He's not very technologically inclined, so he is dependant on me. I'm ok with that, he's disabled and I try to help out whenever I can. I told him not to update EVER, but he thought that just meant not doing an online update. He didn't know there were updates on discs eventhough I could've sworn I mentioned that before. Ah well, it is what it is now.
     
  9. Viga Skywalker

    Newcomer Viga Skywalker Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    United States
    How??
     
  10. psnider85

    Newcomer psnider85 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    Australia
    A forwarder channel points to a HBC app, so if you have say the snes9x channel forwarder, you can load the bootmii elf file by renaming it to boot.elf and placing it in the snes9x folder, making sure you remove the boot.dol file, then loading the channel and presto.
     
  11. Hells Guardian

    Member Hells Guardian GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,113
    Country:
    United States
    Hey JimmyBobAlex I highly advise installing a patch to your friends system menu to prevent the updates from discs. There are a few easy to use and reliable tools to do this out there for most system menu versions
     
  12. Crimsonclaw111

    Member Crimsonclaw111 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    Definitely install priiloader and enable block online/disc updates. Then you won't have this problem again.
     
  13. Hells Guardian

    Member Hells Guardian GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,113
    Country:
    United States
    I personally recomend against preloader..... I find it to cause more problems than a simple system menu patch. Frankly it's never been a very safe piece of software. I've seen my share of bricks resulting from someone trying a release of priiloader. Preloader never cause a brick for me but I'm just lucky me thinks.

    Use something like start patch. Of course make sure if it's possible to have bootmii boot2 installed. If you can't either option poses risk of brick (priiloader more so it seems.)
     
  14. JimmyBobAlex
    OP

    Member JimmyBobAlex GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    United States
    Blocking disc updates, hmm that's a good idea as it will be less headaches for me down the road. Thanks again for the suggestions guys, you've reminded me why I liked coming here over the years. [​IMG] Although mostly I just lurked. [​IMG]
     
  15. Brentallini

    Newcomer Brentallini Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Is Preloader / Priiloader really THAT much of a risk or just a personal preference from experience? I have been using both on several Wii systems for awhile now to block updates and have yet to experience any major issues.
     

Share This Page