Hacking Booting into Luma without SD card

KoalaBoy

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2017
Messages
125
Trophies
0
Age
24
Location
Brasília
XP
206
Country
Brazil
So, I just managed to break my last SD card. I do have legit DS games, so it wouldn't be redundant to be able to boot without a SD card... Even disabling Luma altogether would be an option, since I can install it again later (I still have the R4 I used to hack the console). Is there any way I can do this through GM9?
 

KleinesSinchen

GBAtemp's Backup Reminder + Fearless Testing Sina
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 28, 2018
Messages
3,313
Trophies
2
XP
10,198
Country
Germany
So, I just managed to break my last SD card. I do have legit DS games, so it wouldn't be redundant to be able to boot without a SD card... Even disabling Luma altogether would be an option, since I can install it again later (I still have the R4 I used to hack the console). Is there any way I can do this through GM9?
Simply copy boot.firm to CTRNAND – then the 3DS will boot without SD.
https://3ds.hacks.guide/finalizing-setup#section-vi---ctrnand-luma3ds

If no boot.firm is found, B9S will simply refuse to boot the 3DS (blue light on → fading off → nothing).
  • In case you already have done this: You can use the 3DS normally.
  • If you never copied the file to CTRNAND: Borrow an SD, put boot.firm and the GodMode files on it and run the script.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Lacius

PityOnU

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2012
Messages
1,172
Trophies
1
XP
1,574
Country
United States
The scripts that come with GM9 should support this. I'm pretty sure if you go under the listing like "Phialect's Guide" or something like that, you should be able to find a dedicated script for installing Luma to CTRNAND. Citation needed as this is straight from memory and I can check it in person right now.

Incidentally, you can also do the same with GM9 itself.
 

KoalaBoy

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2017
Messages
125
Trophies
0
Age
24
Location
Brasília
XP
206
Country
Brazil
Simply copy boot.firm to CTRNAND – then the 3DS will boot without SD.
https://3ds.hacks.guide/finalizing-setup#section-vi---ctrnand-luma3ds

If no boot.firm is found, B9S will simply refuse to boot the 3DS (blue light on → fading off → nothing).
  • In case you already have done this: You can use the 3DS normally.
  • If you never copied the file to CTRNAND: Borrow an SD, put boot.firm and the GodMode files on it and run the script.

I've heard about that technique before, but you see, before posting this I checked CTRNAND through GM9 and there is a boot.firm there. Am I missing something here? Should that file be there even though I didn't put it there?

The scripts that come with GM9 should support this. I'm pretty sure if you go under the listing like "Phialect's Guide" or something like that, you should be able to find a dedicated script for installing Luma to CTRNAND. Citation needed as this is straight from memory and I can check it in person right now.

Incidentally, you can also do the same with GM9 itself.

GM9's scripts are located on the SD card.

EDIT: also, forgot to mention, I can access GM9 without a SD card. That won't be a problem.
 
Last edited by KoalaBoy,

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
34,935
Trophies
3
XP
24,292
Country
United States
one of the scripts from the guide will copy and paste the boot.firm you have on the sd card. it's probably the easiest way. the luma updater only copies the boot.firm, but godmode will also carry over your boot screen and plugins.
 

lone_wolf323

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 27, 2011
Messages
5,087
Trophies
2
XP
4,195
Country
Canada
I've heard about that technique before, but you see, before posting this I checked CTRNAND through GM9 and there is a boot.firm there. Am I missing something here? Should that file be there even though I didn't put it there?



GM9's scripts are located on the SD card.

EDIT: also, forgot to mention, I can access GM9 without a SD card. That won't be a problem.
That file is something you put there using the gm9 scripts. leave it there. it allows fir the console to boot if ever the sd card craps out for any reason.
 

PityOnU

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2012
Messages
1,172
Trophies
1
XP
1,574
Country
United States
GM9's scripts are located on the SD card.

EDIT: also, forgot to mention, I can access GM9 without a SD card. That won't be a problem.

It occurs to me that what you are actually asking in this thread is "Is there a way to get files onto my 3DS (using only GM9) without using an SD card?"

The answer is no.

If you are able to get into GM9 by using a button combo at startup, without an SD card, I believe you already have a semi-functional Luma installed in CTRNAND. I do not believe that B9S supports this by itself. If you are just booting into GM9 without holding any button combo, that means the boot.firm on your CTRNAND is actually GM9. The boot process will fall back to CTRNAND when no SD card is detected. You probably used to have Luma on your SD card and GM9 on your CTRNAND as emergency backup.

And yes, GM9's scripts can be moved to the CTRNAND as well. You can find out how by reading his Wiki.
 
Last edited by PityOnU,

KoalaBoy

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2017
Messages
125
Trophies
0
Age
24
Location
Brasília
XP
206
Country
Brazil
It occurs to me that what you are actually asking in this thread is "Is there a way to get files onto my 3DS (using only GM9) without using an SD card?"

The answer is no.

If you are able to get into GM9 by using a button combo at startup, without an SD card, I believe you already have a semi-functional Luma installed in CTRNAND. I do not believe that B9S supports this by itself. If you are just booting into GM9 without holding any button combo, that means the boot.firm on your CTRNAND is actually GM9. The boot process will fall back to CTRNAND when no SD card is detected. You probably used to have Luma on your SD card and GM9 on your CTRNAND as emergency backup.

And yes, GM9's scripts can be moved to the CTRNAND as well. You can find out how by reading his Wiki.

GM9 will open only if I press Start. So the boot.firm can't be GM9, right? If I don't press anything at startup, nothing happens.

Regarding my question, booting via CTRNAND isn't really the objetive per se, what I really want to do is be able to boot by whatever means possible (included getting rid of Luma, if possible), since I do have legit DS games, and if I remember correctly those are stored on the internal memory, rather than on the SD card

EDIT: The console used to boot if no SD card was present. It would only give the "failed to apply 1 FIRM patch(es)" if there was a SD card present, but the files needed to boot weren't present. I'm not really sure why that changed...
 
Last edited by KoalaBoy,

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
34,935
Trophies
3
XP
24,292
Country
United States
well, you said that gm9 would only work if you held the start button, which is normal if using luma. you can avoid that by renaming the file and placing it on the root.
 

KoalaBoy

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2017
Messages
125
Trophies
0
Age
24
Location
Brasília
XP
206
Country
Brazil
well, you said that gm9 would only work if you held the start button, which is normal if using luma. you can avoid that by renaming the file and placing it on the root.
I'm not really sure you understand my problem... There is no SD card, and the problem isn't about GM9
 

PityOnU

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2012
Messages
1,172
Trophies
1
XP
1,574
Country
United States
GM9 will open only if I press Start. So the boot.firm can't be GM9, right? If I don't press anything at startup, nothing happens.

Regarding my question, booting via CTRNAND isn't really the objetive per se, what I really want to do is be able to boot by whatever means possible (included getting rid of Luma, if possible), since I do have legit DS games, and if I remember correctly those are stored on the internal memory, rather than on the SD card

EDIT: The console used to boot if no SD card was present. It would only give the "failed to apply 1 FIRM patch(es)" if there was a SD card present, but the files needed to boot weren't present. I'm not really sure why that changed...

Your post doesn't make it clear that you want to boot and don't have access to any SD card. That's why so many people are making fairly useless (to you) suggestions.

Given everything you've said, there is probably something wrong with your 3DS beyond the Luma install. You can try removing the Luma configuration file as that may have somehow got corrupted. Beyond that, you would need to flash the stock bootloader back to firm0 or firm1 (not sure which one), as B9S absolutely requires a .firm payload to boot.
 
  • Like
Reactions: KoalaBoy

KoalaBoy

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2017
Messages
125
Trophies
0
Age
24
Location
Brasília
XP
206
Country
Brazil
Your post doesn't make it clear that you want to boot and don't have access to any SD card. That's why so many people are making fairly useless (to you) suggestions.

Given everything you've said, there is probably something wrong with your 3DS beyond the Luma install. You can try removing the Luma configuration file as that may have somehow got corrupted. Beyond that, you would need to flash the stock bootloader back to firm0 or firm1 (not sure which one), as B9S absolutely requires a .firm payload to boot.

I did say I broke my last SD card, so it would make sense that I don't have access to a SD card. Although I do apologize if my question was unclear in any form or way.

Anyways, I've kinda figured it out. The boot.firm located on CTRNAND is indeed a Luma file, but it probably is an older version, thus it don't work. I've managed to boot without the damn file by mounting CTRNAND\title\00040138\00000002\content\00000064.app, and booting the file inside the exefs folder (which boots into the regular home menu). I will copy boot.firm (Luma) to CTRNAND once I'm able to access a PC and download the file (I've actually found an old 2GB SD card :grog:). Thanks for all the help guys! Again, I do apologize if my question wasn't clear enough)

(note that the directory for the .app file differs between old and new 3ds versions. You can find a complete tutorial on how to do the whole thing here:https://3ds.hacks.guide/uninstall-cfw.html (Section I))
 
Last edited by KoalaBoy,

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Shape @ Shape:
    b-b-b-BLAST PROCESSING
    +1
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    gee, it sure is BORING around here...
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Especially now
  • ZhiShuiTingLan @ ZhiShuiTingLan:
    How to upgrade fast
  • ZhiShuiTingLan @ ZhiShuiTingLan:
    I can't understand English at all, I can only rely on translation
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    Upgrading quickly can depend on what you're trying to upgrade. Can you provide more information about what you're looking to upgrade, and what you're hoping to achieve by upgrading quickly?
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    It's a good idea to wait it out and let things happen naturally tinkering with update files can cause worse than good
    +1
  • BlazeMasterBM @ BlazeMasterBM:
    i farted
  • x65943 @ x65943:
    Stop eating so much garlics
  • Shape @ Shape:
    Did someone say upgrading? Are we trying to upgrade the system or the toaster?
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    My toaster is IP68 so I work on it in my bathtub
    +1
  • Shape @ Shape:
    What kind of thermal paste are you using for on bathtub's vCPU hypervisor
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Corsair
    +1
  • Shape @ Shape:
    That's a good, real thermal paste. I bet it's given you great results.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I'm a huge fanboy and brand loyal so we can argue about the kind you use
  • Shape @ Shape:
    Jif. I get horrible results, I'm going through probably 12 jars of it a week and at least 8 PCs.
  • Shape @ Shape:
    It's no argument.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Try jelly it makes it moist
    +1
  • Shape @ Shape:
    Why is corsair the best paste tho fr?
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Because some random guy on the internet said it was
    +1
    K3N1 @ K3N1: Because some random guy on the internet said it was +1